We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, best value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Regina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, best value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is in the center of Madrid. Walking distance to all attractions. They have excellent service. They also had the best price out of all the hotel I visited in Europe by far. The hotel gave us a free upgrade to the premium room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you for your feedback. Your opinion is very important for the hotel.
Thanks also for the photos you attach to your observations.
We sre glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to see you at soon again when you return to Madrid.
Kind regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,037
    870
    186
    54
    29
See reviews for
320
966
146
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It takes approximately 20 mins to get to Hotel Regina from the renfe train station using the metro. There are two Metro stations you can get off at but if you have lots of luggage its best to get off at the Sol Metro stop (4 stops from renfe) as this station has a lift. Alternatively change lines at Sol Metro and get off at the Sevilla metro stop. Sevilla metro is literally at the front door step of Regina Hotel however it does not have a lift which means you have to carry your luggage up a load of steps.
Our room was very clean and had adequate space for our luggage. Our room was located on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel. In the lane way outside our room there are big rubbish bins and we were woken up at approx 2am every morning by the garbage truck emptying the bins.
Can’t beat the location as it’s only a short stroll from Puerta Del Sol. As previously mentioned the metro is at the front door step so easy to get about on the metro.
There are two restaurants in the hotel where you can have breakfast. One is a buffet and the other you order off a menu. We ate at the restaurant where we ordered off the menu and it was quite good. Would definitely stay here again but would request a room higher or on another side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a higher room to avoid outside/alley way noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear client.
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important for us.
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the cleanliness and location
of our hotel.
We regret the inconvenience caused by noise.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you again for your time, warm regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Madrid, I would stay here again. Very good location, very Nice and helpful staff. Personal assistant gave us excellent service. Breakfast buffet had high quality. Nice reception area. We also loved the salads in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location,
breakfast, restaurant and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope to see you at soon when you return to Madrid.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is more upscale than usual for us, but they often give patrons a late check out until 6pm. for just 30 euros. We had a midnight flight and they let us stay until 8pm, which was really helpful. We mentioned it in our request for reservations and again on checking in. n The staff was always helpful and our room was a very nice size, especially for Europe. It overlooked the main street, but had sound proof windows. The location was great and we were able to walk everywhere. Really enjoyed Plaza del Sol for street entertainers in the early evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you for your comments. It,s very important for us to know the
opinion of our clients, mainly when the experience has been so positive,
enabling us to improve our operation.
We hope to see you again when you return to Madrid.
Thank you again for choosing Regina Hotel.
Kind regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I still can't believe how lucky we were to stay at Regina hotel for our few days trip to Madrid!
Twin room that we booked was very clean, the view on Alcala - inspiring, and wi-fi is always a great bonus :)

The hotel's location is extremely convenient, and the price - well, we couldn't be more happy about the value.

Will definitely stay there if (when!) i come to Madrid again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear client.
We are glad to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the room and location of the hotel.
We thank you very much for choosing Regina Hotel when you return to Madrid.
Cordialy yours.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The place was very located on top of the Seville metro station and short walk from the Gran Via. The Atocha train station is not very far away and the Metro stop makes it easy to get there. Cabs are also always available just outside the hotel, so getting around was never a problem.
The room was clean and the bathroom was quite spacious as well. The in-room safe, unlike a lot of hotels, was actually quite large and could easily accomodate a small hand bag.
Our airline lost our luggage and so when we landed up at the hotel, we had nothing on us. The staff was prompt with the toiletries and sent our luggage over to us when the airline dropped it off the following day.

One thing to remember: We took the Airport Bus to the Puerta del Sol bus stop. While it really is walking distance to the hotel from here, we realized that on the first day of the trip, it would make sense to take a short cab ride from the bus stop to the hotel, especially after a long flight!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location and cleanliness and service is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
We hope welcome you again in your nect visit to Madrid.
Thank you again for choosing Regina Hotel.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is in perfect location - in the very center of the city next to metro station and in walking distance to the main attractions. Our room appeared small, yet sufficient and with modern bathroom. The hotel was clean and staff was helpful. Good choice for a few days stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location, cleanliness and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
We hope to see you again when you return to Madrid.
Thank you again for your time.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#28 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#72 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.