We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Regina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found the Regina as a recommendation from a friend who lives in Madrid. And it is superb! Money for value the Regina is hard to beat. The location is excellent. Out of the Sevilla metro station, you can walk four steps (no more!) on the same side of the sidewalk to the hotel's door. Half a block from Sol and a few minutes of interesting streets to Plaza Mayor and to all the little old plazas and streets where you can eat whatever you want at the price you choose.
The rooms are remodeled and modern, kept exquisitely clean. The hotel is well staffed, so it offers you good servcie in every question or need. It offers a great breakfast and if you're not hungry a particular day or don't need one, you can go next door to Flablorite and have a simpler breakfast downed with great coffee. I recommend this hotel to anyone, young, senior or bewteen. You are half a black from the thick of the action, but you don't have to go out the door pushing your way through. It functions like a solid, traditional grand hotel at an unbeatable price.
stella

Room Tip: to make sure, ask for a quiet room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much for recommending us.
We hope welcome you again in your nect visit to Madrid.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,029
    859
    184
    53
    29
See reviews for
314
956
145
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've spent a weekend in Madrid and stayed for 3 nights at the Regina hotel.
The location is great (only minutes away from Plaza del Sol, 10 minutes from the Prado, Plaza Mayor and other attractions), and the metro station is right outside. The hotel seems newly renovated.
The room is not big but looks great with a wooden floor and a high-tech touch (flat screen TV, internet-based radio and Wi-Fi). The bathroom is awesome with pebbles in the shower's floor.
Breakfast was great and quiet.
All in all: great hotel, best location at a very reasonable rate. This is a sure pick. You won't regret this for one moment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for your feedback and of course
we hope welcome you again when you return to Madrid.
Thank you again for your time and kind regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The good:
Very central location, near Sol, Gran Via and Plaza Santa Ana. The Metro station (Sevilla) is literally right outside the hotel.
The room was very quiet and rather large for a European city-hotel. The beds were new and comfortable and new bathroom, great Grohe shower, everything spotless. Super friendly staff.

The hotel restaurant offers a € 18 breakfast buffet, but there's an inexpensive alternative; Cafe Amayra, the cafe inside the hotel Grab a cafe con leche and a sandwich mixto (toasted ham & cheese) or a croissant in the cafe. They have different breakfast deals, very friendly staff and a great atmosphere. We loved the little cafe.

The bad:
The window in our room was facing the wall on the building opposite, which meant no daylight in the room. It was ok, the real problem was that every time, we opened the window, the room was filled with cooking odors. It seemed that there was some kind of exhaust from a restaurant ventilation system right outside our window. Not ideal if you want fresh air in the room! We did have air conditioning in the room and it worked well, so we kept the windows closed for our stay., so not a big problem... just a litte but that means I can't give the hotel five points.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Less than three minute stroll to puerto del sol and under ten to plaza Mayor....ten mins to The Prado museum. Free Internet in room and lobby. Upon checkout the agent noticed our room was bit smaller than we paid and apologetically refunded 20% off bill immediately...it was bit small but it is Europe - modern studio really - not much privacy but ok for folks in relationships that know each other well! Upgraded room was 25% larger or so....would definately stay here again in Madrid. Tripadvisor as usual nailed it again - bueno!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for your feedback and of course if you wish
to visit us again we´ll be delighted to welcome you.
Thank you and kind regards,.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We picked this hotel based solely on tripadvisor's ratings and were so pleased with our stay. The metro station was right outside of the entrance and such a short walk to Puerta del Sol and to many of the area's attractions. All staff were so helpful and nice and the room was clean and modern. We will definitely be returning here on our next trip to Madrid!!

No podemos esperar hasta que regresamos :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Tara.
First, thank you for contacting us for
to include your comments in the Tripadvisor website.
Your opinion is very important to the hotel. Glad to hear you had a
pleasant stay with us.
We hope welcome you again the next time I visit Madrid.
Thanks again for your time.
Regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel Regina is a real gem, the room is bright, modern, and very clean. The bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheet, and the bathroom was sparkling clean. The location is right bang in the centre of Puerta del Sol, walking distance to many major attractions and museums. I will definitely stay here again when I have the chance to come back to Madrid. Oh did I mention value for money too?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer.
We greatly appreciate the description of your experience at Hotel
Regina. Your comments about our location, cleanliness,
quality and price are the best reward and incentive to continue
making our guests stay an experience unforgettable.
We hope welcome you again at Regina Hotel.
Thank you again for your time.
Kind regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent three nights in Regina, pleasant room, new style glass walled open bathroom, great for a solo traveller. Reception staff pleasant, as were all staff I encountered during my stay. Walking distance to all the places I was interested to visit, Metro right outside the hotel, and a short walk to Puerta del Sol.
On any future visit to Madrid, I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear client.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location, room and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
Thank you again for choosing Regina Hotel.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#26 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#71 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.