We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Antonita

La Antonita
Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
34 91 119 14 24
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Antonita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 6,849 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“would recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went for dinner one night and lunch few days later. Reasonably priced and great food. Menu of the day was great and only around 11 euros!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    58
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely but a touch pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A lovely modern place with friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. The food was fantastic but a touch on the expensive side. We (people) ordered 4 tapas and a bottle of wine plus a dessert and it came to over 60 euros. Worth it though for a special treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We turned up without a reservation based on TA reviews. The restaurant is quite small so even off season a reservation is prudent.

However, we were not impressed by the ambience or the food. I had cod which was cooked in batter but the batter was stodgy and not so crisp and I felt that the chef could learn from Harry Ramsden's. My wife's prawns were good.

The desert menu is limited and perhaps we should have tried the soap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Really great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was described in a TA review as very modern, but I would describe it as an updated version of Spanish traditional food and atmosphere that still remains true to its roots. You'll find the typical croquettes, cod and charcuterie here, but those dishes are given a more interesting twist while also being paired with dishes that have more contemporary culinary influences (superb salmon tartar, for example). They have an excellent selection of wines and
desserts. I didn't find the 'foam' dessert to be as amazing as other reviews suggested, but it was interesting and still worth trying. The floor of part of the restaurant is made of glass so you can see the archeological excavations below--which adds just another layer of interest to this excellent restaurant. Located in the trendy Cava Baja for those in need of Pre or post-dinner bar hopping. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You have to try the soap dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful time in this restaurant due to the friendly staff! I had the 2 tapas, 1 main and 1 dessert and everything was splendid! There's quite a bit of waiting to do but it was fine since everything was only cooked upon ordering. Price was reasonable for the items we had and ambience was fantastic! Didn't have to make reservations since I was early for dinner (spanish have their dinner late). Partner of the restaurant showed us to part of his hotel and showed us to this really pretty see-through basement he had in the restaurant. I think it used to be a soap factory or something in the past if I did not recall wrongly.

Awesome crew at work and thank you for the great time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Antonita also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Antonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Antonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.