We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO air con. Rooms sweltering” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Madrid Atocha

Save Saved
You added Tryp Madrid Atocha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Atocha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atocha 83, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 457 hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NO air con. Rooms sweltering”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here 4 nights as had tickets to see a football game at Real madrid stadium.. wish we were only there one night. First of all the family room is placed at the back of the hotel no natural light in room.. NO air conditioning the room was sweltering we were all SO hot after the first night we decided we had no choice but to sleep with window wide open. Which in a city hotel was not ideal safety wise but literally had no choice as seriously the heat in the room was so so hot yet the weather in Madrid at the time was freezing on par with London so didn't make sense really!
Bunk beds were def not up to UK standard I refused to let my children (9 and 7) sleep in them so they slept with us in the twin beds pushed together. The beds were so cheap and nasty as you sat on them and leaned against the head board they would start rolling along the floor we had to put a suit case at the end of each bed at night to stop this happening.
No tea or coffee facilities
No iron or ironing board
Put a do not disturb door sign up one day as we didn't want the cleaner entering but they ignored and cleaned anyway I wasn't happy.
How This hotel got 4 star I have no idea??? A 3 star at best maybe!
Staff on reception at check in were very good no complaint there
Staff on check out fine again but no one asked how our stay was??!!
Breakfast Buffett was fine nothing spectacular but did the job

As most English will agree we don't really like to complain so we said nothing while staying there just tried to stay out all day as long as we could so we didn't have to swelter in the room.
The room we stayed in was family room 102 so be warned if you get this its awful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mrscooketoyou

Thank you very much for your comments. We will have a look in the air conditioning in order to find out either was a mistake or a missfunction. Regarding the bunk beds, they follow totally the safety and security normative and the weight they can admit is till 110 kilos. The services you mentioned, iron and board are included in our premium rooms and in the other upon request. The beds were changed las year

We will revise as well the protocol to enter into a room following your words. Normally the standard of procedure is not to do it is the sign is hanging.

Thank you very much and best regards


Antonio Arnedo
Manager
Tryp Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    197
    90
    33
    22
See reviews for
69
147
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We took the Airport Express to Atocha Station (5 euros pp ) then taxi to hotel as we had luggage (6 euros). Late morning arrival, reception staff very friendly and helpful with front facing standard room as requested available on second floor. Room was well appointed very clean with spacious bathroom and efficient shower. Booked room only and found several cafe/bars in the immediate vicinity for breakfast (coffee, croissants, fresh orange juice 6.5 euros for 2 people); would recommend "Sofia" directly oposite. The location is in a working area, very safe and in easy walking distance of all attractions. Most evenings we ate in or around Plaza Santa Ana, a 5 minute stroll away, popular with locals and far less expesive than Plaza Mayor. The hotel has a Porter/doorman/security man permanently on duty and felt safe and secure. Only minus was the non availability of the room safe but was offered and used the hotel safe.Free wi-fi in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear travellerSouthampton

Thank you very much for your words. You are right, the besto option to get from the airport is taking the Airport express till Atocha Station. Regarding you opinion about the hotel, we appreciate them, in my opinion we are a good value for money in the city center of Madrid. The location is perfect, 10 minutes walking from everything you may want to visit (downtown Puerta del Sol 8 minutes, Plaza mayor 6 minutes, Museums 5-10 minutes all of them). Our breakfast is as well following tryp standards and very good value for money. I am sorry about the safe but happy that we gave you a solution for your needs.

Thank you and we wait for you in your next visit to Madrid.

Antonio Arnedo
Manager
TRYP ATOCHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel after seeing on priceline that it is a 4 star hotel. Apparently this hotel has nothing 4 stars. It is a complete garbage hotel. There no amenities. Its like a rat maze to get to your room. We were give a one bedroom. However there were tow beds on wheels conjoined. In the middle of the night I almost fell in the middle since they were rolling around. So stupid. Had to complain to the front desk to give us a normal ONE bed. Location is good. You can take a 2 min walk to the train and there are places to eat. But I am sure there are better hotels to stay at in madrid. I would totally avoid this place.

Room Tip: FInd a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Rooms were nice be aware Air con does not work during winter months no one told us we sweltered thinking the air con was on and it was blowing out hot air all night. Our rooms was entered into while at breakfast and all our cash stolen - did not notice till at the airport on the way home. Notified hotel they did not even have the decency to respond. It says it is 4 star I would put it at a reasonable 3 star the hot breakfast was cold and oily but the pastries were fresh. The shower was affected by other users too so went hot and cold. We would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Check in was quick and friendly. We were given a map and suggestions on dining. Also having just arrived from Fallas in Valencia with little sleep, we were accommodated with a quiet interior room.
The room was comfortable and very clean. I have never seen hardwood floors in a hotel....what a difference in the feeling of cleanliness over the usually questionable carpets. The bathroom was very big and supplied with some toiletries.
Our room was a premium room and did NOT have a coffee maker as another guest was told by the hotel. Room service is not available until 11am so we had to go down to the breakfast area get the coffee and bring it up to the room.
La Latina, Palacio Real, Prado, Plaza Mayor all in walking distance. Nice hotel nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a coffee maker if it is important to you, but I am not sure they have them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for a night in this mid-budget hotel and found it ticked all our boxes considering the reasonable price. Reception staff were very helpful, the location was excellent ( within walking distance of all the main sights), parking was available opposite the hotel ( public car park), t he room was nicely decorated and the breakfast was ok. Our room (209) was internally facing and hot ( given air conditioning had not yet been turned on) and it is a pity that hotels like this do not provide tea and coffee making facilities. However these are minor gripes. A good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

great location close to station where the Airport bis drops you and major attractions. and staff were really helpful with what to see. excellent breakfast and well appointed room. Good local restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tryp Madrid Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Atocha

Address: Atocha 83, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Madrid
#102 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Atocha 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Melia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tryp Madrid Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Atocha Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Atocha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Madrid Atocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.