We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close but no cigar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Turisticos Las Letras

Save Saved
You added Apartamentos Turisticos Las Letras to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Turisticos Las Letras
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Plaza de Matute 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 341 Specialty lodging in Madrid
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Close but no cigar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great location close to metros and walking distance from Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen galleries, Plaza Santa Ana and Sol. Friendly, helpful staff. On 2nd floor of apartment building, "design" feel to the interior however we found accommodation for 2 quite cramped. Not really an "apartment" as everything is in one room (bathroom enclosed with glass bricks). Kitchen has very litttle for cooking, luckily we were out all the time, but no kettle or espresso pot which we had in other apartments in Spain.

Room Tip: Rather book a room for 4 persons if you are two persons and you don't want to be cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a well-organised place to stay, once you have checked-in it is pretty much left to you. No room cleaning, fresh towels etc are left near the front door, take out your own garbage etc. The rooms are well appointed re kitchen and other facilities and it makes a mid to long-term stay in the city very convenient. The location is very close to underground train station (Anton Martin), local supermarkets as well as some funky little bars and restaurants.

Finding the place can be a challenge, though I suspect this is intentional. There is absolutely no signage on the street, you have to find it using the street number and then guess when you buzz the intercom.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

You cannot fault the location, close to Anton Martin metro station and within easy walking distance of many interesting places including El Rastro (the sunday flea market), El Prado, Plaza del Sol, Plaza Major etc. However, this is not a traditional hotel. It is situated on the first floor of a mixed development. There is a small reception desk in the main hallway which itself is poorly lit, but the decor is reasonable and quite humorous. We travelled as a party of 5, 3 adults and 2 children and had two appartements. Some of the rooms are a little light but storage is good and the kitchen facilities, whilst basic, are certainly acceptable for how most tourists will use the space. The owners have furnished the rooms wtih Ikea based products and on the whole they have done a good job. Each of our appartments included a good shower, a small kitchenette with fridge and cooker and an eating space. There was also a sofa in each room and in the larger rooms this converts into a sofa bed. The beds were comfortable, but I had to sleep on a sofa bed which was not so comfortable. The owners provide basic linen but interestingly they did not provide a quilt cover so I had to make do with just sheets and a bare quilt.

However, there are some problems which any visitor should be aware of before they travel. Firstly, the rooms are noisy. On a saturday night when people are returning at all hours, it is impossible to get any sleep as the noise from the lift shafts and the corridors is very intrusive. Room 8 is adjacent to the lift and should be avoided at all costs unless you are a heavy sleeper and unphased by stomping feet, people talking or the noise from the lift machinery. The owners are aware of the problem and have painted a sign by the front door asking guests to be quiet, but this was ineffective based on my experience. Secondly, the toilets in both our rooms (8 and 14) were described as chemical toilets. They have mascerators fitted but you are asked not to place toilet paper and sanitary towels into the bowl, and instead you have to fill a bin placed adjacent to the lavatory. At first pass this is not so bad but at the end of the first day, it was full and when I asked them to empty the bin, I was told I would have to do it myself. The bin did not have a plastic liner. Reception gave me a plastic bag into which I had to emply the contents. It gets worse. I then had to dispose of this waste into the bins in the street. GROSS! The hotel does not provide cleaning material so if you want to wipe down the kitchen sink, or wash the dishes, you need to provide your own materials. Moreover, these are not serviced appartments as I would understand them. We stayed for 2 nights and our rooms were never cleaned in this time.

To summarise, if you are not concerned by noise and happy to clean your own room and emply your own soiled toilet paper in the street, then this is a great place to stay. Otherwise, exercise some caution.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8 - this is next to the lift and everyone walks past it. Room 14 is a bit quieter. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hi there! We've been in these apartments in March 2012. Travelled as a family, 2 adults, 1 teenager. We booked a room for 4 persons, just to have more space. That was a right choice, since rooms there are a little bit on a small side - like everywhere in the center of Madrid.
Location is superb! An old district, authentic sights, in Las Letras writers and artists live since 16 century. Lots of bars & restorants around. Major places of tourist interest are nearby, as well as Atocha railway station (1 km), subway station (50 m), supermarket (the next door).
Rooms are clean, last updated in 2010, didn't have a chance to run down yet. Rooms are equipped with all necessary things. Kitchen is OK, better than I have at home. ;) Flat TV, air conditioner. We had windows looking to a pleasant patio (even with parrots!). And 2 lavatories for a room! Staff is welcoming. Really nice for appartments!

Room Tip: To get to the airport, take "cercanias" from Atocha. Just a little bit (~1 e) more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartamentos Turisticos Las Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Turisticos Las Letras

Address: Plaza de Matute 11, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 341 Specialty lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Turisticos Las Letras 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, fully-equipped apartments with free Wi-Fi. Located in Madrid’s Barrio de Las Letras neighbourhood, only minutes away from Puerta del Sol and Prado Museum.Apartamentos Las Letras is housed in an historic 1930s building. The apartments feature modern décor including black-and-white drawings inspired by Spanish art and literature.All apartments include a flat-screen TV, ironing facilities and a fully equipped kitchenette. The bathroom has a shower and includes toiletries and a hairdryer.There are several bars and restaurants on Santa Ana Square, literally 2 minutes away. There are also shops close-by.Las Letras apartments is just 120 metres from Anton Martín Metro Station while Atocha Railway Station is less than 10 minutes away.Barajas International Airport is about 20 minutes by car and about 45 minutes by metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Apartamentos Turisticos Las Letras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Turisticos Las Letras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.