We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the Americas (Museo de America)

Museum of the Americas (Museo de America)
Avenida de los Reyes Catolicos, 6, Madrid, Spain
91-549-2641
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$59*
and up
Ranked #86 of 457 Attractions in Madrid
Type: History Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
183 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

what a beautiful mueum highlighting spains very important discovery and influence of the americas with many artefacts and pieces from before european discovery. the greenery surroubdibg this museum is stunning.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Museo de America is not part of the major museum scene along the Paseo del Prado, and its attendance suffers for that. It is also not very accessible to non-Spanish speakers, a fault that I hope the museum will correct. When I visited the entry fee had been waived, and still the museum was almost empty. It offers several floors of really interesting artefacts, from craft work to stunning gold and silver materials, collected from Spanish conquests and colonies throughout the Americas. Non-Spanish speakers can at least get the basic information from the exhibit labels and enjoy these objects for themselves; it is certainly worth the time for the short walk from the Moncloa transit station to visit the museum

Halloween has become a major event in Madrid, and it was interesting to see that the Mexican community in Madrid had created a substantial altar for the Day of the Dead, Día de los Muertos - I imagine that this too will take hold in Spain, adding some more "Americana" to the collections!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful stage, poorly organized”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

No audio guides, no explanations in English, no guards speaking English ( that I found ) , neither a clear concept nor a rational order of the exhibits. It can be interesting for visitors with very little knowledge. Intellectually demanding people who come here to learn about America might be disappointed. Conclusion : I think that America deserves a better treatment from ‘Madre Patria’ . In short : Big frustration.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem As Long As...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

You really need to know Spanish to get the most out of this museum. I have been to Madrid on many occasions, but it was thanks to a guidebook that I found this museum, one of my favorites. It was empty the day I went, a shame because if you have any interest in the Conquest, this museum cannot be missed. It really brought a human side to the arrival in the New World. I found the paintings illustrating and describing the fruits and vegetables fascinating. It made me think for a minute..there were no cameras, instagrams, etc. and paintings were the only form of communicating their finds. As described by other posters, it is oddly arranged, but once I figured it out, it made total sense.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

They do have some impressive artifacts from the indigenous civilizations of the Americas. They have quite a few Mayan and Incan pieces. It was not at all busy when we went (Tuesday). My biggest complaint was just that all signs and descriptions were in Spanish. I feel like I missed out on a lot by not being able to read and better understand what I was looking at. I believe it is closed on Mondays. It's also very easy to get to by subway.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Americas (Museo de America) also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museum of the Americas (Museo de America)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the Americas (Museo de America), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.