We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Accommodation in Hot Location: Great Stay in Madrid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Dragon (Madrid)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Posada del Dragon (Madrid) to your Saves list
Posada del Dragon (Madrid)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
baja california
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cool Accommodation in Hot Location: Great Stay in Madrid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was over 100 degrees in Madrid that day, and we were tired from our travels. The boutique Posada del Dragon hotel in the fun Latina barrio was just the place to chill for awhile before setting out to tour the town. (Seriously, although the room had a lovely little balcony, the air-conditioning was both welcoming and unusually quiet!) Madrid is undoubtedly one of the hottest, hippest cities in the world; why stay at a 'big box' hotel when there a cool places like Posada del Dragon that features theme-type rooms, and even has it own outstanding restaurant and tapas bar on the main floor? The staff was really helpful (especially in trying to help me track down my lost camera) and the bartender whips up a world-class GinTonic, to boot. The hotel's location can't be beat for easy walking access to the Plaza Mayor, shops and tons of other tapas bars and eateries, and there is a real sense of ease and gentility about Posada del Dragon that is soothing to the wearied traveler's soul. We would definitely return to Posada del Dragon because it is more than just an accommodation--it is an experience and makes the whole journey much more fun!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at Posada del Dragon (Madrid), responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon.I was very happy to hear that you liked the city our location and you enjoyed your stay.

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sent us an email and we will handle your reservation

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    98
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
166
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Posada del Dragon was a perfect hotel for my visit with my boyfriend - we're in our mid-20s so the location was definitely a-buzz, while not too loud when we wanted to head to bed. The staff was beyond helpful, the tapas in the restaurant downstairs was great and the beds were super comfortable. Only odd thing was the toilet, which didn't have a true doorknob - so if you're uncomfortable using the restroom in front of your room guest, you're out of luck! However, this did not deter our stay at all. About a 20 min walk from any main site in Madrid! :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at Posada del Dragon (Madrid), responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Allieclaireb
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon.I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and you enjoyed your stay. We really apreciatte all your comments because all of them help us to improve.

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sent us an email and we will handle your reservation

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We came in quite late but the place was still hopping as it was a Friday night. We found out it was like this each night as this hotel is in the tapas district of Madrid and the hotel has a restaurant in the ground floor. The room was very eclectic but with all the amenities and good strong wifi. Also very clean and comfortable bed and pillows. The staff were very pleasant. The location is walking distance to the center of town, we walked to the Prado, cathedral, Palacio Real, Plaza Mayor, Parque del Retiro, everywhere, although there is a metro nearby, you don't need it.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room at the 2nd or upper levels to minimize the noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at Posada del Dragon (Madrid), responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the location, comfortable room, helpful Staff and

Thanks again. Hope to see you soon here in La Posada del Dragón .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

You might think you are going into a bar when you arrive to check in but this is a well-run and welcoming small hotel. The staff are very helpful and upbeat which makes for a pleasant welcome. We arrived early and they not only looked after our bags until we came back later to check in but they also put them in our room for us. The hotel is on three floors and the rooms are entered from a gallery that looks down on the restaurant. The rooms are basic but very comfortable. There is a rail for hanging clothes, a mini bar, safe, small desk and bedside tables. Nice lamps too. The only problem is the bathroom facilities. These are not for those obsessed with privacy. The shower cubicle enters directly into the room as does the toilet cubicle...both are frosted glass and, if you're with someone who you're not totally comfortable with (but why would you be?) you might find this a little intimidating. A dividing door screen between the bedroom area and the small hallway where the toilet and shower are might reduce any "concerns". The other small problem I had was that the sink didn't have a shelf to put things on. There is space and even a small glass shelf would look ok and be a big help. The view from our 3rd floor room was lovely. At night the rooms, even at the front, are quiet. The AC is very effective and the wifi worked perfectly. A very nice find in a great part of town.

Room Tip: Top floor, at the front, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at Posada del Dragon (Madrid), responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Marthy53
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon.I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and you enjoyed your stay. We really apreciatte all your comments because all of them help us to improve.

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sent us an email and we will handle your reservation

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I LOVED this hotel! My room was small but very comfortable and clean, and nicely decorated. The service was just impeccable. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating and made me feel welcome, despite the fact that I spoke little-to-no Spanish.

Yes there is noise that can make it hard to sleep - it did affect me the first night when I went to bed at 8 pm, exhausted from travelling. But if you are going to bed at a normal time then it would not be a problem. They do their best to minimise noise by closing doors to the main restaurant to muffle the music, and then the restaurant closes at around midnight, which is very reasonable in a city like Madrid where people are often out until the early morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at Posada del Dragon (Madrid), responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon.I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and you enjoyed your stay.

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sent us an email and we will handle your reservation

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A very interesting and original project. Ancient and modern. From remains of Arab ruins to Internet connections and many TV and radio channels of many countries and languages. Some food is really good: "jamón de bellota", sausage "iberico", "cheese marinated in oil".......Centrally located next to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Royal Palace.....Highly recommended. ​​

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room in floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at Posada del Dragon (Madrid), responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at La Posada del Dragon
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay . As I always do I have passed on your lovely words to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.
We look forward to seeing you again when you do return to Madrid

Best Regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room clean, very comfortable bed, and nicely decorated. We arrived before 9 am, extremely tired after doing the camino for 2 weeks, and we were given the room before the regular check-in time. The location is close to Plaza Mayor and Plaza Sol, there is lots to see around the area, shops, cafés, the cathedral, all within walking distance. The food in the restaurant is very good. Try the 5 tomatoes salad, delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 003 which is on main floor by the restaurant tables. It can be noisy but not after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at Posada del Dragon (Madrid), responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at LA posada del dragon
I was very happy to hear that you found our king executive suite spacious, very clean and comfortable during your stay.

I am especially pleased that you found the location great, the restaurant great and the staff helpful
When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid we hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please contact us directly so we may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada del Dragon (Madrid)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Dragon (Madrid)

Address: Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#26 Business Hotel in Madrid
#28 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#134 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Dragon (Madrid) 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada del Dragon (Madrid) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Dragon (Madrid), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.