We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for your buck, and a great location to boot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Sil & Serranos

Hostal Sil & Serranos
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Sil & Serranos to your Saves list
Hostal Sil & Serranos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fuencarral 95, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Malasana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good bang for your buck, and a great location to boot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great price for comfortable, quiet, SPACIOUS rooms. This 2 star hotel is more akin to a 3 star hotel. Comfortble beds, AC, hot showers, nice staff. Location is fantastic, 10 minute walk to Puerto del Sol, 15-20 minutes to Plaza Mayor. The metro stop, Tribunal, is about 2 minutes from the front door, so you can get ANYWHERE quickly.

This place was nice enough that I booked a second time when I returned to Madrid before my flight home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iano di Pistoia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed in this hostal for 5 nights with two friends and we all thought it was a very good place to stay in: our triple room was big and very clean, so was the bathroom. From the Hostal we could easily walk to the main tourist attractions and the calle Fuencarral is full of every kind of shop you might need.
There is a supermarket right in front of the Hotel, Le Pain Quotidien and a Churreria right at the ground floor and a Starbucks a few meters away (for great breakfasts).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times. Actually this hotel or hostel is a two hotels with one reception area, called "Sil y Serranos". On the second floor they have their regular rooms which I wouldn't recommend, but for just a few euros more, you can get a "superior" room on the all-new third floor. The rooms are not spacious, but they are clean and comfortable. You won't find a better deal for the price, and the bohemian Fuencarral street area is full of restaurants and shops, so finding a place to eat is easy.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a "superior" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Hostales Sil is for those who want pleasant surroundings and a bit of class without paying for high hotel prices. It's located in an upscale but young-partying area as well as more established local neighborhood places as wel. Close to great nightlife and yet you can turn the corner and find a neat park. The place has internet pc as well. The night guy was very, very pleasant and always answered questions regarding the neighborhood. It has an elevator so you don't have to lug the suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. It's located between Tribunal and Bilbao metro stops and you can easily walk into some neat areas all around.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

This should have been a review of the Hostal Macarena in Madrid, unfortunately when we arrived they denied having received my fax with the CC details, and the hostal was full. However the very nice owner had room in the Hostal Sil, also owned by him, and drove us there personally. The price was the same but it was about a fifteen minute walk from the Plaza Mayor. We decided to stay there for all three nights, the rooms were clean, a proper double bed, excellent ensuite facilities, and very quiet. It is near two subway stations as well so handy to get to from the airport.

  • Liked — Quiet but reasonably well located
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

We stayed for a second year at this hotel and found the experiencewas as good as ever. The location is great in a very trendy area and close to all the sites. I am happy to report that we did not see many tourists in this area. At night it can be noisy. People love to party so you may need ear plugs. We found the area very safe and the best way to get there is spending 1euro from the aiport on the Metro and then one block further. At the Metro you can get different tourist day passes very resonable for local touring and trips to the train stations. Ricardo usually runs the desk and is very pleasant to deal with. Make sure he tells you about the greatest seafood resturant at low budget prices. Its a couple of blocks from the hotel. If you want to be next to the Plaza Mayor, try the Hostal La Macarena. (Jose at the desk) We liked the Sil better because of the location. We had room 203 and free internet.

  • Liked — Hotel
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — Do your homework
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

The good: Very nice rooms, recently renovated, clean, and friendly staff.

The bad: Because it is located in Madrid's centre the noise at night is unbearable.

Overall it is a good hostal at a reasonable price, but you’d better take earplugs and lots of patience in your luggage.

  • Disliked — Amazingly noisy at night
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your earplugs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Sil & Serranos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sil & Serranos

Address: Fuencarral 95, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sil & Serranos 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Sil & Serranos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sil Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Sil & Serranos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.