We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paris

Save Saved
You added Hotel Paris to your Saves list
Hotel Paris
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Paris
Calle De Alcala 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #371 of 457 hotels in Madrid
houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

This is the third time we have booked our reservation at this great location hotel! We love the accomodations. The staff is friendly and best of all they do remember frequent visitors. The breakfast is adequate but if you are nice to them they do go out of their way to make a great meal for you, they really will!
We have recommended this hotel to all of our friends that have made their way to Madrid and they have loved the accomodations. Great location, the rooms are clean, sure the streets are a little noisy, ask for an inside room.
This is a terrific establishment. We highly recommend this Hotel, and we will make reservations here again.

  • Liked — friendly staff, close to eveything, able to walk
  • Disliked — smaller rooms, but not too bad
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2005

I live in Europe and a friend informed me she would be in Madrid about a week, so I looked for a hotel that would accomodate our budgets. I found the Hotel Paris by the Internet, and got what I believed to be a good deal.

The pluses: very central location: in the heart of the city, and within 2 or 4 kilometers of countless atractions.

The minuses: The staff is impolite and at times disrecpetful, the room was old, the bed was smelly and the mattress was the worst I have ever seen (and I have stayed, for instance, in small hostals in South America), and since we had the "discount" weekly rate, the room was not cleaned the entire time we were there. I would have appreciated it if at least it had been clean when we arrived. It was not. We did get one clean (I hope) small and old towel each, and these towels no longer could even absorb water so we requested extra ones.

The included breakfast consisted of 1 type of bread, 2 types of rolls, tea, coffee, and the most acidic orange juice (I still wince when I remember it). My companion requested a single slice of cheese each day to go with the bread, and the waiter did bring this wihtout a fuss. The sound insulation between rooms is nonexistent, to the extent that you can hear not just your neighbors, but also several rooms in each direction. Anytime you were in the room, for instance, for sleep, you could hear the full assortment of sounds a big citiy has to offer: honking, screeching, crashing, shouting, bottles breaking, screaming, etc etc, even it you had the window shut.

Upon checking out, we had an extra 63 Euro (plus tax) included with the bill. I asked what was being paid for, and was informed that the "extra towel" fee was 5 Euro per day (we had not been informed of that before), and that we had spent 4 Euro each breakfast beyond what was included. When I tried to politely explain that a) we were led to believe that the single (and rather thin) slice of cheese was understood to be free, and b) that even if we did have to pay, that 4 Euro for 5 grams of cheese came out to 800 Euro per kilo, the man at the desk called over the staff and had them surround us to try to intimidate us. I did the math, and offered to split the difference just to get out of that dump. The man accepted and even had the gall to say that as I could see, customer service was the number one priority this hotel and that he expected me to recommend it to all my friends.

In all, we had one noisy week with horrendous service, a depressing room, and awful breakfast (complete with the most expensive cheese in Madrid or anywhere), and....oh please, just stay somewhere else!

Subsequently, I have been able to find other hotels in Madrid for the same cost or less, so if you are reading this I urge you to keep looking. This hotel is not the one for you!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

The location of this hotel is amazing -- literally just a few steps from the very heart of Madrid (the Puerta del Sol). Many of Madrid's main streets flow right into this plaza, and the Hotel Paris is on one of them just a few yards from the plaza itself. Easy accessibility to sites, shops, the metro, internet cafes, and restaurants. The last time I was in Madrid, I stayed in another location which is probably only about a 15 minute walk from Sol, but honestly staying in such a great, central location this time made a huge difference in my experience, because you rarely have to deal with figuring out public transportation and fiddle with maps a lot less too.

The inside of the hotel is fine as well. Lots of golds and reds and dusty pinks, kind of reminds me of an "aged luxury" look -- like out of an old movie or something (granted, less posh than Hollywood, but you get the idea of the decor.) Bathroom and shower clean and working fine, TV in the room receiving channels in multiple languages (including CNN), phone, plenty of chairs and table space too. Some of the shelves and drawers didn't look very well cleaned, as they were really dusty when I tried to put things in them, but overall the room looked aged but well taken care of. The front desk also speaks English, which is a big plus.

I am a backpacker in college right now, so the only downside to the hotel is that it was far more expensive than the other places I have been staying. However, I didn't feel like it was a waste of money at all (paid 83 euros/night for a two-person room) given the amenities we received -- and we got a fantastic view from the balcony of the Puerta del Sol.

I would say that if you are not at all concerned about location, definately save your money and stay somewhere else -- but if you like easy accessibility to Madrid, this is a great, relatively cheap place to stay. I wouldn't have paid 83 euros for this room if it was 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2005

I stayed at Hotel Paris when I was part of and Elderhostel tour package (I'm 51). I'm going back to Madrid this June and am in the process of making reservations via fax. It's nothing fancy or modern, but it's clean, safe, and right on Madrid's central Plaza del Sol. I'm giving it an above average rating because, for the price (90 euros for 2 twin beds), it was a great find. I found the people at the front desk to be friendly, capable and willing. Taxis and busses are right outside the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2005

I stumbled on this hotel one late night by accident when I had to make a quick, unplanned trip to Madrid and had no hotel reservations. It was quite a pleasant surprise. The location is, of course, fantastic right off the Gran Via and Plaza del Sol. Considering the low price, I was surprised how spacious my room was as well as how clean and modern the bathroom was. The breakfast was your typical European hotel fare and the lobby is a bit too dark for my taste, but overall this hotel is a charming place for those on a budget. One note: This hotel, like many Madrid hotels, has no parking facilities. However, there are several public carparks within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2004

Hotel Paris is a great place to stay. It is in the central square of Madrid and within easy walking distance to many of the tourist places you'd want to go. Our room was a decent size with a private bath. It was very clean and comfortable. We had a fantastic view of the square from our window. For comfort, convenience and price, I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2003

I have stayed in this hotle on more than one occasion. The biggest plus to this hotel is of course ,location,location,location. All things considered this a great value hotel, it is not the Ritz but the rooms and the linen are clean the showers are hot and I found the staff helpful.

You can explore the centre of the most beautiful capital city in the world and it begins outside your front door. Plenty to do , see , eat and drink and you dont need to hire a taxi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paris

Address: Calle De Alcala 2, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Hotel Madrid
Hotel Paris Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.