We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by exterior - this place is a gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added hostal gonzalo to your Saves list
hostal gonzalo
c/ Cervantes 34, 30, madrid Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
US
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by exterior - this place is a gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

A great place to stay. Spotless, with comfortable beds. Old-fashioned cage-type elevator looks scary but works just fine. Unprepossessing from the street - it's one of 3 hostals located in the same building, and the sign is hard to find when you're searching for the building for the first time. Easy access to metro stop Anton Marin, a 5-minute walk to the major museums and Retiro Park, and walking distance from the Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. The area seemed quite safe, and noise didn't reach our room, which looked out on the light well rather than the street.
Highly recommended - would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, and price
  • Disliked — No complaints at all!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    49
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
89
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Hi, just stayed in this hostal for 2 nights before moving on to Barcelona. The place is clean and very good value for its price and location. If you are looking for a nofrill place to stay for a couple of nights and wanted to be away from the crowd, you should consider this place in Madrid. The owner Jaiver was very helpful during our stay as we lost all our luggages in transit and he was very helpful in calling places and advising what to do. It's location is probably the best, located on a quiet street and a mere 5 mins walk to the world class museum Prado. We would definitely stay there if we were to visit Madrid again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

This is a very nice, clean, family-owned hostal right in the center of the old city. Our windows were facing the courtyard, so it was very quiet. The street itself doesn't have late night bars so I would think even if the windows are facing the street, it would still be quiet. Host Javier speaks English well and was very helpful in making recommendations. His brother made a call for us to reserve us places at a flamenco show, which was very good.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

We found Hostal Gonzalo through our guide book which praised the quality and price, and it wasn't wrong. A very clean place, and amazingly quiet given how close it is to a great district for nightlife. We had a courtyard room and never heard the revelers we left behind on the streets. I am very sensitive to noise and I slept through the night barely hearing the other people in the courtyard rooms. Given what I had read about the noise levels in Madrid and the problems of noise from other guests in older less expensive hotels, I was blown away by how quiet this place is. It was a few minutes walk to all the major museums, excellent cafes and bars within yards of the front door; and the owner Javier was one of the most helpful hosts we met on our two week trip throughout Spain. He took time with us each day to help us find where we were trying to go to and the best routes and metros to take.

And as an added bonus, this hotel has one of the most wonderful elaborate old elevators I have ever been in. I felt like I was stepping into another world.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

I stayed in a triple room at Hostal Gonzalo with my wife and teenage daughter from April 15 to 20.

Hostal Gonzalo more than met the high expectations I had from reading many positive comments online at Tripadvisor.com and elsewhere on the Internet. It is spotlessly clean and the price is right. Its location in the Huertas district is safe and quiet. There are many restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Retiro Park, all the major museums, the Atocha train station and the Anton Martin Metro station are within 0.5 km. We particularly enjoyed evening strolls to Plaza de Santa Ana and Plaza Mayor (both about 0.8 km away) on Calle de las Huertas, an attractive street full of restaurants and bars that is closed to most vehicular traffic.

My strongest praise goes to Hostal Gonzalo's owners, Javier and family, who went out of their way to help us when they noticed that my daughter wasn’t feeling well: not only were they concerned, they made her a plate of rice to help soothe her stomach. For me, that kind of caring beats five star hotel service any day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

In all fairness to the Hostal Gonzalo, guests sometimes do get mugged on the Madrid metro and as a result they are unable to vacate their room since they need their stolen passports and money if they are to check into a different hostal.
That is the situation we encountered when we arrived after a long transatlantic flight, "confirmed reservation" for two nights' in hand. Our Trip Advisor research had eliminated some thirty other hostels in favor of the highly-acclaimed Hostal Gonzalo. The only negative comment "One confirmed reservation, two hostels", did not carry any weight towards discouraging us. Our mistake. Hopefully, our review will alert readers to the possibility that unforeseen circumstances might ruin their planned stay at Hostal Gonzalo.
Javier, after informing us of the problem, took our luggage and walked us three blocks to a hostal located next to a very active construction site. We decided not to stay there, and searched for a decent hostal nearby which we never discovered.
Bait and switch used to be a fairly common marketing device in the U.S., especially at new car dealerships. I suspect that it is currently being practiced in Madrid from time to time at the Hostal Gonzalo.
You might want to think twice about making a reservation there unless you receive an ironclad reservation and assurance that your stay will be as confirmed. You might even request a double your money back guarantee if something unexpected occurs. (Good luck on this!) If a problem arises, write a stinging complaint in the Spanish Government's on-site "Libro de Reclamaciones" (Complaint Book) and share your experienecs with Trip Advisor readers.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hostal Gonzalo from December 29-January 4. I made my reservations by emailing the hotel directly. Our rate was 50 euro/night for a double with private bath. Considering this rate was over the New Year's holiday, I felt it was excellent.

We arrived at the hotel around 7:30 in the evening by taking the metro from the airport to the Anton Martin stop. It is less than a 10 minute walk from this metro stop to the hotel. The hotel is near the end of Calle de Cervantes so don't feel nervous if you don't see it right away. Also, it helps to look for the yellow sign on the fourth floor of the building's exterior to spot the hotel at night.

As we arrived in the evening, we buzzed reception. A woman speaking only Spanish admitted us and we took a tiny elevator upstairs. Inside, we were greeted by a an elderly husband and wife team who did not speak English (we were able to communicate based upon our limited Spanish).

We were shown to our room and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are clean, large by European standards and the bathroom was recently remodeled. We had hot water in the shower all but one morning.

Housekeeping comes by 10 in the morning if you're a late sleeper. As the hotel is also a family residence, you may not want Room 9. We were in this room and would periodically hear sounds from the family kitchen and dining room. Otherwise, the hotel was quiet.

Hostel Gonzalo is within walking distance (10-15 minutes) of the three main museums in Madrid. The hotel is also a 10-15 minute walk from Casa Patas for a flamenco show.

Be aware that they do not accept credit cards so you will need to withdrawl a sufficient amount of euros to pay in cash when you leave.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to someone seeking a clean, budget hotel in a great location in Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Address: c/ Cervantes 34, 30, madrid Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage hostal gonzalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.