We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Alcazar Regis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Alcazar Regis to your Saves list
Hostal Alcazar Regis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 61-5, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
CHEMELLIER, FRANCE
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hostal.

The advantages were that it was central and close to a metro station.

The room we had, No 5 was by to the reception area and we could hear the TV in the reception area and the telephone when it rang. There were creaky floorboards. however the room was in good decorative order. The shower looked a bit tired with the grout between the tiles falling out. Never managed to get the TV to work.

As the room overlooked the Grand Via it was very noisy, commencing in the early hours of the morning. This disturbed our sleep. If one wants a quiet and peaceful night, this hotel is not for you.

The staff were helpful and pleasant but English appeared to be a problem.

The price was very good considering it is in Madrid and in a central location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I was passing through Madrid and a friend recommended this hotel for my one night. It is central with easy access to the Metro. My room was smallish but perfectly acceptable
Staff friendly . Security is good as on a higher floor. For the price ideal

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Just stayed at the Alcazar in a single room which was really tiny. Traffic noise and sounds from neighbouring rooms and creaking floorboards made sleep difficult. TV remote did not work, bed lamp did not work, door keys were a big hassle, bathroom shower space required a contortionist to fit in. You can't get into the lift with more than one suitcase. Eerie noise from flush. Room and bed and bathroom very clean but. Owner/manager not scary or rude like some others have commented, but very matter-of-fact. Don't expect a smile.

Great location though. 1 min from Santo Domingo metro, and also a few mins from Plaza Espana, Gran Via and Callao, connecting you to pretty much all subway lines. All threates are close by, hundreds of restaurants on Gran Via and neighbourhood, walking distance from many of the top sights. So if you stay here at this price you know that you have to sacrifice on other things, which is pretty much everything.

But what a grand building. I will add a photo later. Crying shame what they have done to the inside.

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

alcazar regis in madrid is in a prime location on main grand via so expect some traffic noise but it is within walking distance to all sights and also very easy to get to and from the airport using metro but a beautiful building has been spoilt in the refurb the large rooms are divided very poorly into 2 rooms so the nice plasterwook is cut in 1/2 and arch doors are 1/2 your room 1/2 neighbours resulting in every single sound been heard as if there in the same room including conversation and even cans opened but mainly creaking floorboard when next door move about and the toilets are so noisy as they have electric shredders inside so no chance of sleep if they are flushed . the doors open with tiny lock like a wardrobe one and once inside you need a small hand to reach the small bathroom type bolt that is your lock it never felt very secure but we had no problems it is clean but another downfall is the staff speak no english at all and this made paying bill q about keys a very long job. i think there are better places for this price in madrid .
photo of lobby correct you can see doors here but dinning room no longer there and i never saw a bedroom like this photo

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

After leaving it a little late to book accomodation in Madrid in March 2007, I ended up phoning every hostel I could find in my Lonely Planet or online and was told each time "Sorry, we are full those dates!" I couldn't believe it when the woman on the other end of the line at the Hostal Alcazar Regis said that she had a triple room available! She had a very abrupt manner about her and no matter how many times I typed the hostel name into a search engine online, I couldn't find a singel review or photo. Still, it was the only place in our budget that had rooms, so I figured I better book it!
The hostel is located on Gran Via, an enormous street full of pensiones, hotels and hostels. It is a lovely old building and the hostel itself is located up high in the building and has lots of period features in the main entrance hall. Rooms are located off this hall and our room had an ensuite bathroom (very small but very useful!) so I assume other rooms had them too.
The room was small but clean and had enough room for the 3 beds and a desk, the ensuite bathroom and floor space, so it was fine. We also had a large window looking out over Gran Via, which was nice.
The owner can come across as a little scary, but she was incredibly helpful any time we asked for directions or advice about getting around Madrid.
A taxi from the airport was just 22 euros, which was handy as we got in quite late.
Metro stations are located nearby, as are theatres, restaurants and the large 'Plaza de Espana' square.
I would definitely recommend this hostel as I found it convenient, safe and enjoyable.

  • Liked — Great location at a great price
  • Disliked — owner appears a little frightening at first!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2004

My daughter and I stayed in the Alcazar for 3 nights in June. At $46 for a double the Alcazar was a great bargain. The lady in charge was very nice and helpful. The location is very convenient. The rooms are very modest but that was all we needed at the time. Our room had a balcony facing La Gran Via (main street), on the 6th floor but it wasn't noisy, it was pretty clean, and nothing fancy but a good value.
The Hostal Buenos Aires is located one floor below and the double went for $59 but the guy at the front desk was not nice, friends that stayed there complained that the service was not good, so we decided to try the Hostal on the next floor, which happened to be the Alcazar & we're happy we made that choice.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Alcazar Regis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcazar Regis

Address: Gran Via 61-5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Alcazar Regis 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Alcazar Regis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alcazar Regis Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Alcazar Regis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.