We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable but a small glitch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Fenix to your Saves list
Gran Melia Fenix
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Reliable but a small glitch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It is pricey but you get the service. Having said that, there was some poor service in the bar. Couldnt get a drink. I know they were busy but i was just ignored for about 40 minutes.
There is some construction going on so the restaurant is accomodated in the bar. This is temporary.
The rooms are lovely. Bathrooms small but they have everything.
If it go to madrid, this is the place i stay.
I love the fenix

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and efforts in sharing such a nice review regarding your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you had a wonderful time at Gran Meliá Fénix. On the other hand, we would like to deeply apologize for the unusual situation happened in our Dry Bar because we always work to achieve the best service to every guest.

Looking forward to welcome you back again and keep surprising you in order to make your stay an extraordinary experience, I remain at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    283
    82
    16
    8
See reviews for
178
504
55
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We loved this hotel and everything was laid on for us. Lovely plush towels and nice toiletries were good. The rooms were quite small by Australian/American standards but the beds were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your great experience at Gran Meliá Fénix through Tripadvisor!

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked overall the hotel and the amenities provided within the room.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future in order to make your stay a gorgeous experience.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a very well located property for either a business or personal trip. The rooms are very nice, quiet and very good lighting. The staff is very helpful, all request were accomplished. Great breakfast buffet and a nice sitting area for a coffee, drink and a tapa. Close to excellent shops and area tourist spots.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and efforts in sharing your experience at Gran Meliá Fénix through Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you have spent an amazing time between us and you could enjoy every service we have such the breakfast buffet or our Dry Bar, the perfect place to relax and have a drink.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me next time you decide to come back to Madrid, we will be delighted to welcome you again and keep surprising you!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

been there btw 23 to 26Jul, 14. Very good hotel, old but clean, location is perfect and the staff absolutely correctly and friendly. the room is old, some connectors doesn't work, wi fi ok, room serve very good. Breakfast ok but cost 30 euros ( you can find a right breakfast across the the street by 5 euros). the location is the main point, close to everything and in the heart of luxury shopping areas of Serrano and others. I do recommend. the bathroom is very tied.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We really appreciate you have spent a bit of your time on writing your experience. We are really glad to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and our services. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the unusual situation happened with the connectors and the inconvenience it may cause you. The entire staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix works to provide unforgettable experiences to our guests, therefore we will be very glad to host you in a near future.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a wonderful visit in Madrid and especially enjoyed our hotel, the Gran Melia Fenix. It is a lovely hotel with a gorgeous bar and restaurant. Our room was a standard room with a "garden" view. I would recommend that you upgrade to a superior room since we actually only had a view of the top of the skylight in the restaurant. Nightly turn-down service was appreciated and we had beautiful amenities in the room. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the concierge gave us excellent tips on exploring the city. We bought the Madrid Card and highly recommend that if you plan to visit all the art museums in the city. No lines and a great deal! The hotel is also close to luxury shops and cool tapas restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your time in sharing your experience at Gran Meliá Fénix through Tripadvisor Community. I am sure your opinion will help other travelers in their trips to Madrid as well as help us to know how your stay was.

We are very happy to know that you spent a wonderful time in the Hotel and you enjoyed all our services and location, nearby all the boutiques and restaurants. We very much appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and concierge, they do their best in taking care of our guests and shows them the best of Madrid!

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, I remind at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A quick 3 day trip to Madrid and a booking on the Red Level !!! It's worth the extra money...trust me.

Good location for the main sites, Prado, Park etc etc.

The Red Level Club was the highlight of the hotel. Good breakfast selection and the most important thing is Moet Champagne available nearly all day !!!!!!!! Breakfast lunch and dinner !!!!

The room itself was very clean, excellent decor. It's a European size Bathroom so please watch your expectations....it still an excellent value overall

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful opinion through Tripadvisor!!

It is fantastic to know that your stay with us was completely unique and memorable, and we helped to turn your short trip to Madrid into a very especial moment.

We are happy to know that our Exclusive Red Level overreached your expectations and you felt very satisfied with this service. As you said it is an experience to being in our Red Level!

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,
Have a nice summer!

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed early July 2014 for 2 nights. had booked a whirlpool room on the red level and noted that it was our anniversary. when we arrived they had upgraded us to a penthouse suite, which was very nice of them. the room was beautiful and very comfortable. Red level was a big plus and I would definitely recommend. I have to especially commend the personal concierge Beatriz. she was very helpful and friendly.

All in all, a great property from top to bottom. will stay again when I visit madrid in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review about us!!

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing us for such an special occasion like your wedding anniversary. We are delighted to know that you have spent an incredible stay at Gran Meliá Fénix, and you loved our Penthouse Suite, which helped to turn your stay into a more memorable one.

We appreciate the kind words you used to describe Our Red Level Service, and we are glad to know that this exclusive Service met your expectation. Be assured we will share your comments with Beatriz, she will be very happy and motivated to keep achieving the total satisfaction of our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madrid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#11 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#20 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Fenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.