We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miguel Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Miguel Angel Hotel to your Saves list
Miguel Angel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miguel Angel 31, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very ordinary experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent three days in this hotel in late April 2015 in a standard double room.
Apart from a lovely lounge and outdoor area, we found little to recommend it to other travelers.
Rooms were adequate but things such as worn carpeting ,broken window locks and musty smelling halls were not appreciated.
Reception staff were business like but hardly welcoming and helpful.
Our experiences would preclude us from staying there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    117
    99
    46
    21
See reviews for
32
113
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in a wonderful room that included a jacuzzi and a king size bed - couldn't have been more comfortable. Tube station right outside the door, good breakfast, the only but was the spa - the pool is so much smaller than it looks in the pictures, so it was already fully booked. Finally, we managed to get in but you have to pay (20€/person) even you're staying in the hotel. I also couldn't get the wi-fi to work but I suppose it had to do with my equipment (kindle fire).

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed five nights here for a work visit. The extra 20 Euro for a club floor room was worth it - rooms a bit more spacious and access to snacks and non alcoholic beverages in comfortable lounge is nice for downtime between work/sightseeing and heading out to dinner.
Concensus from others i was with was that the carpet was in desperate need of replacement but i have to say i didn't notice that in my room. Apparently they are renovating from the first floor up.
Lovely outdoor lounge area (seemed to be mostly used by the smokers!)
Bar closed early 11pm every night.
Dinner at the restaurant was VERY nice and the staff very nicely let us in at 10:50 pm and served us very promptly.
I also used the day spa for a facial and this was good!
One of my colleagues was given a room on level 1 - but she asked to be moved higher up as the windows were at the street level and she felt unsafe.
It is a long walk (over 30 mins) to the main tourist sights but if you head to Serrano (street) and walk down it is a very pleasant walk with lovely shops.
I would stay there again! - Very good value for money

Room Tip: Spend a few extra Euro on a Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Hotel Miguel Angel for three nights B&B basis on Thurs 23rd April in a triple room. We asked for a room at rear of hotel to avoid street noise as it is situated on a busy interchange and the room on the sixth floor was quiet. Room was fine for what we needed it for (just to sleep) however a little cramped with lots of furniture. It has been a grand hotel with a fantastic lobby and chandeliered stairwells. But agree with other reviews that it's looking a little tired with threadbare carpet and a lack of power sockets in room. Service and food at breakfast was excellent. Couldn't fault the service of the staff on Reception, Restaurant or Concierge. Friendly and helpful. This is a great hotel as a base for a few days of shopping and sightseeing. Within walking distance of the upmarket Salamanca shopping district. Would give a five star rating if it were just modernised a little in the rooms.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived early from an overnight flight from the U.S. and the hotel provided an early check-in that allowed us to get some well needed rest. For a location that is literally in the center of Madrid, we felt completely relaxed and comfortable. Our room was quiet, well appointed and furnished. There is an outdoor pool with a gorgeous garden and the breakfast each morning had several selections of meats, breads, fruits, and cereal to keep everyone happy. We were also able to walk to restaurants and the subway station. The staff are polite and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well for being first time in Madrid it is a very good hotel with very nice people. Always helpful and polite.

It's literally few steps from the Metro station with a Starbucks across the street but only thing I could not see is a grocery which I am sure must be somewhere but I could not find it.

The hotel has an expansive lobby and even a nice outside garden seating which is very relaxing at the end of a hectic day.

They have free WiFi across the hotel which is good and very welcoming. I even used it extensively to connect via Vpn to my corporate server hence I can vouch for it.

Rooms are comfortable and I must say they have the longest pillows I have ever seen. Their wardrobes are just as if you were in a house!!! Very nice.

I stayed in room 115 and it was comfortable and warm but I am sure they have bigger rooms incase you have kids.

If I ever return to Madrid this will be my choice.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

friendly and multilingual staff, good food and an nespresso machine ready to serve you during the buffet breakfast.

Its a nice central hotel in the middle of madrid.

20 minutes away from the outlet. Its not in the heart of the shopping and may require travelling

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommunityManagerHMA, Social Media Coordinator at Miguel Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Many Thanks for your positive comment in Tripadvisor about Miguel Angel Hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and you recommend us to others travellers.
Thank you one more time for your review and we hope to welcome you next time you visit Madrid.
Your faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Miguel Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miguel Angel Hotel

Address: Miguel Angel 31, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#157 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Miguel Angel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIMPLY: EXCELLENT SERVICE Experience the true elegance of a grand 5-star city hotel in the very core of Spain’s capital city. Located on Paseo de la Castellana, right in the centre of the financial and commercial district of Madrid, its privileged situation provides easy and convenient access to Madrid-Barajas International Airport, International Fair Park IFEMA and all the major city attractions. The combination of versatile meeting & banqueting facilities, with the stylish SPA, top class dining and our trademark impeccable service, provide the best guarantee for a perfect stay. The Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel is the perfect accommodation choice for both business and leisure travellers. Staying in one of the 177 Standard Guestrooms of the Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel is equal to comfort and coziness. They are all fully furbished and equipped, offering guests a wide array of 5* services. Clients may also choose to stay in these other guestrooms types: Royal Executive, Royal Premier, Royal Junior Suite y Royal Senior Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Miguel Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miguel Angel
Miguel Angel Madrid
Occidental Miguel Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miguel Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.