We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tiered and in need of an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miguel Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Miguel Angel Hotel to your Saves list
Miguel Angel Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Miguel Angel 31, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A bit tiered and in need of an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Well located for Government ministries, IE university/ business school and the Bernabéu and about a 30 mins walk to the old/ historic area of Madrid. It’s located next to an underground station which takes you straight to the airport or a taxi is less than Euro 30. The rooms are comfortable enough but a bit tiered and in need of some updating. Breakfast is a reasonable selection of pastries, fruit, meat and cheeses and was included in the room price as too was internet access.

Would I stay here again? I don’t think so – it was well located for my needs but it needs to up its game and improve the bedrooms. I also didn’t like the fact that access to the swimming pool was charged at an extra Euro 20 – not that I had time to use it but it’s the first hotel I’ve come across where access to the in-house swimming pool is charged as an extra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Miguel Angel Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for comment about Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel.
Regarding your complain, the pool is a part of hydrotherapy service, like the sauna or thermal service. Our fitness center is complementary service for guests of the Hotel; but Spa Caroly Health Club is an additional service, like the restaurant M-29.
We offer an special rate for our guest: 20€ per person for the hydrotherapy circuit.
Thank you one more time, and we hope that you consider our Hotel for a future stay you can enjoy one of the renewed room.
Your faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    116
    98
    46
    21
See reviews for
32
111
24
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This 5 stars hotel is nicely located near the Castellana street in Madrid. Honestly, it is in need of renovation. Rooms are average in size and comfort, and definitelly a bit wear off. Sleep quality though is good enough. Breakfast is also good. I didn't use the restaurants. What I like the most of this hotel is its health club (Caroli), with a nice gym and spa. It is one of most affordable 5 stars hotels in Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Miguel Angel Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest

We want to thank you for your review about the Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the Hotel, specially Spa Caroly Health Club.
Thank you one more time and we will be pleased to welcome again in the Hotel.
Your faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Unfortunately, another brief stay, arriving late afternoon and departing early next day. But first impressions were very good. Very palatial style hotel with wonderful outdoor area and pool. rooms were smallish but functional. Good wifi connection. Very quite surroundings due to sunday afternoon and we had to walk some distance before we found a cafe open. Staff were helpful, but the breakfast pack requested by our tour director because of early departure did not eventuate so cannot comment on any food experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Miguel Angel Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks you for your positive comment posted in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important for us.
We glad to know that our facilities and service are good what you expected.
We hope that you considerer our Hotel in your future stay in Madrid.
Your faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt pleasant
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good value club area is wonderful, rooms dated and need a deep clean but will do. Breakfast is very good ad staff is welcoming. The door man will be helpful if you tip him. Bar is good and average priced. Laundry for an average person will cost over 100.00 USD.

Room Tip: Good place a bit dated however better and less expensive than the intercontinental
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Miguel Angel Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor about Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel.
We glad to know that our facilities and service is a good as what you expected.Your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
Thanks you one more time and will be pleased to welcome again in the Hotel.
Your faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Unfortunately, the Miguel Angel is not suited for the business traveler. Location is ok with a metro stop at the corner.

What is unacceptable is the very spotty, slow, and undependable internet. Some rooms get ok reception. Many do not. Even when connected, the connection is very slow.

Rooms are not bad, although the carpeting in the hotel is getting long in the tooth. Showers must have restrictors that greatly reduce the volume. There are no ironing boards or irons in the room except for an old stand-up pants presser. Doesn't do much good for your shirts however. I think the senior management needs to spend a few days living in their own hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Miguel Angel Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your comment in Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry about your complain with the internet connection. We have not information about any incident with our Wi-Fi, but we will find out with Technical Service if something was wrong during your stay.
As you said, we offer in all the rooms pant pressed ironing, furthermore we have Laundry Service with an aditional cost for all our customer, you could have called them in order to clean and iron your shirts.
We want to apologize in case any of these circumstances caused any inconveniences to you and we would like to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Your faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel s very old and in need of a make over! Air conditioner not cooling, & no coffee pot in your room. The hair dryer in the bathroom is the kind you used in the70's to sit under with curlers, the kind with a hose. The good thing it is close to the bus stop, only $1.50 to ride to plaza de sol & playa del mayor.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Miguel Angel Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for posting your comment about Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel in Tripadvisor.
As you can read in others review, the Hotel is in process of gradual renovation.
We will be pleased to accommodate you in an updated room next time you visit us
Your faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is an old hotel and I think you need to consider the cleanness of the rooms as the carpet are very old and warned out specially in the executive club.

The food quality is good but not excellent and the prices are convenient. the availability of restaurants are limited and security requires consideration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Miguel Angel Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest
First at all thank you for posting your comment in Tripadvisor.
The hotel is in the process of gradual renovation. Our room are being changed with wooden floor, painted and new forniture. We expect to have most of them updated in a few months.
Regarding your complain about availability of our restaurants, we always recommend to make a reservation before, specially for dinners.
Thanks again for your opinion, and we hope that you considerer our hotel for a future stay.
Your faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Miguel Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miguel Angel Hotel

Address: Miguel Angel 31, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#157 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Miguel Angel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIMPLY: EXCELLENT SERVICE Experience the true elegance of a grand 5-star city hotel in the very core of Spain’s capital city. Located on Paseo de la Castellana, right in the centre of the financial and commercial district of Madrid, its privileged situation provides easy and convenient access to Madrid-Barajas International Airport, International Fair Park IFEMA and all the major city attractions. The combination of versatile meeting & banqueting facilities, with the stylish SPA, top class dining and our trademark impeccable service, provide the best guarantee for a perfect stay. The Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel is the perfect accommodation choice for both business and leisure travellers. Staying in one of the 177 Standard Guestrooms of the Occidental Miguel Angel Hotel is equal to comfort and coziness. They are all fully furbished and equipped, offering guests a wide array of 5* services. Clients may also choose to stay in these other guestrooms types: Royal Executive, Royal Premier, Royal Junior Suite y Royal Senior Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Miguel Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miguel Angel
Miguel Angel Madrid
Occidental Miguel Angel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miguel Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.