We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice home in Madrid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Espahotel Gran Via

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Espahotel Gran Via to your Saves list
Espahotel Gran Via
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 65, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, nice home in Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The name of the hotel is now Espahotel Gran Via. The location is excellent. Cleaning services have been excellent. They have washed up all dishes every day and the Internet has worked. We did make our own breakfast daily after the first morning. The restaurant was empty and the breakfast not very delischous. The buffet breakfast costed eight Eur. Also the internet costs eight Eur pro day. There are lots of steps when coming into the hotel, which is not very nice. But the location was so good that you hardly can imagine better. There are many really good restaurants near by, the sight seeing buses drive along Grn Via and to shopping areas only a short walking.

Room Tip: The windows keep well the noise outside even by the street Gran Via. We were in the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritva189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. Everything is OK: cleanliness, bedding, reception, location, price. This hotel is on the main boulevard, close to a lot of sites to visit, 2 minutes from metro station. If we are back to Madrid, we would be staying again at this place.
Some small negatives points: AC is noisy, Wi-Fi is not free (3 Euro an hour!), and there is only one long pillow across the bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL AVIV
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The location is great,could not be more central.The room is big and clean,stuff very helpful(even more then in the other hotels). If you need any help,or just need tickets for flamenco show,you can ask at the reception,and you'll get all you need.
I really loved the place,and I'll be back !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAULATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

If your travelling to Madrid on a budget I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Firstly, its right in the centre of Madrid on the main street, Gran Via, so its within easy walking distance of all the tourist sights, theatres and Plaza's. Its also just a very short walk from Plaza Espana metro station which connects very easily to all the Terminals at the airport. The hotel is very clean and kept to a very high standard. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. I choose B&B and although a wee bit basic with usual continental style ham/cheese slices, they also had hot plates serving bacon/sausage and not so nice scrambled egg. Cereals, yogurt, fruit and breads also part of the buffet. They don't cater for any specialist diets i.e gluten free. The restraunt would be a bit small if everybody descended at once but I never saw that and there was always plenty of room. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with a small kitchen and TV. Very limited English channels There was a keypad safe in the room also. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had two basins and the towels changed daily. I was on the fourth floor and to the back so never heard the constant wail of sirens on Gran Via.
Overall this a excellant choice of hotel at the price. I have stayed in a lot more expensive hotels around the world that don't come close to the value of this one. I dont often write hotel reviews but felt compeled to write about the Gran Via 65 as it ticked all the boxes. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Agree with the other reviews regarding the excellent location, kitchenette, clean room, great size, enough cupboard space, grocery store at the bottom, lots of eating places, starbucks and mcdonalds all around

What could be better:
- My side of the bed was terrible (yes we realised that 1 side was ok and the other not!) had back pain from the hard bed. Ended up sleeping on couch which was better but not great.
- although we were high up on Sat nite we could hear noise from street at night
- no kettle or toaster. had to make toast in a frying pan!
- housekeeping not available in the weekend?!

happy with overall choice :) just speak to them before hand about a better bed

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Too_Much_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seregno, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

centrally located near plaza de espana - a lot of eating choice near the hotel, but you have to select very carefully - staff very helpful, they gave us the room few hours before check-in time without any problem or surcharge - when leaving you can leave luggage without any surcharge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papasote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We had a very nice room at this hotel - tons of space! Staff were helpful. The breakfast had nice selection for a continental breakfast. Good location - close to Plaza de Espana - which we wanted. Restaurants, shops close by. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#115 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#96 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 2,859 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Castellana Norte
#90 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Centro
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
#239 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Espahotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Espahotel Gran Via

Address: Gran Via 65, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Espahotel Gran Via 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to stay in the heart of Madrid, close to all the points of interest in the city and you are looking for space, comfort, independence and all the facilities of an apartment without giving up on hotel services, choose Gran Via Apartments. Space, comfort and well-being for a unique stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Espahotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Gran Via 65 Hotel Madrid
Aparthotel Gran Via 65 Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing