We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anaco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Anaco to your Saves list
Hotel Anaco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tres Cruces, 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I have stayed in Hotel Anaco around 4 or 5 times (between May 2011 and June 2012). I used to live in the south of Spain so it was in a great location for meeting family in Madrid or as a stopover when travelling to/from the airport. The hotel is quite basic but I have stayed here both on my own and with my mother, and I've been happy with the room I've been given each time. The rooms are clean and some have balconies, which is nice. The staff are also very friendly and checking in/out was easy. I don't think there is an option to have meals such as breakfast included in your stay, I never chose it myself if there is. However there is a cafe/bar which is part of the hotel just beside reception where you can eat, or alternatively there are plenty of cafes/restaurants minutes away from the hotel. That said, I never had any bother with noise from other guests or from people outside, and I'm a very light sleeper!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    46
    28
    17
    21
See reviews for
38
42
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I am now sure where else people have stayed that are giving this hotel 3-5 stars. It is a one star hotel that is in the center of Madrid. The outside had me super worried when I arrived because it looked liked a building that needs condemned. The inside was clean downstairs, but not fancy by any standards. The staff were very polite and accommodating. I stayed on the second floor. The hallway smells like urine. The room is small, no pictures on the walls, rips in the wall paper, uncomfortable beds, and the 10 inch TV had no remote. The thing I noise on this street at night is crazy!! Bar goers screaming, singing and drinking until 6am every night. We got no sleep. I wish people posting on trip adviser would give ratings based on the actual quality of a hotel and not high ratings for whatever reason. If I could go back and change my reservation I would, even if that meant spending a little more. This hotel is more like a hostel.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent location. Didn't have any problems with staff or cleanliness. Excellent location. Would stay here again. I emailed them before my trip and they confirmed everything I needed to know within minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Despite booking weeks in advance and confirming the booking Hotel Anaco didn’t have enough rooms available when our group arrived on the first night of our 3 night stay. Out of 9 twin rooms booked, 2 rooms weren’t available. This forced 2 people to stay in another hotel (at significant cost) and another 2 (guys) had to share a single bed on the first night.

Apologies from the hotel were half hearted with shrugs of disinterest suggesting that this is a regular occurrence. Despite complaints we weren’t offered any compensation for the inconvenience or our additional costs.

It’s cheap because the service is rubbish… Don’t be fooled by the slick website, good location and pretty pictures. This is one hotel to be avoided

Room Tip: book 25% more rooms than you actually want
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

You cant ask for more based on their price and location!! Every time I go to madrid, I always stay there!! Is the only hotel that I actually divide into two different rooms with my family because of their cheap price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Its a shame to have to write this review since the actual hotel is well placed in madrid, central, reasonably clean and offers value for money.

Unfortunately the manager has clearly decided he can make extra money by overbooking his hotel, claiming that the room you should have is "broken" (see previous review with similar story) when you turn up after your flight then "kindly" telling you he has organised a nearby hotel until your room is fixed. We were sent to hostal valencia for one night. This isnt the end of the story however. we checked the room price at this hostal for a double room 45 euros. We were told not to pay there and to pay back at the hotel anaco at the end of the stay (we spent two further nights at anaco after our room was miraculously fixed!). i was adamant i would ensure i only paid 45 euros for the first night. when it came to paying the bill my card had already been debited with 67.5 euros for the first night - i only found this out when i questioned the fact i was only being charged for 2 nights on my bill. Asked to speak to manager as clearly this is a scam where anaco touts out customers to other local hotels for higher prices but was unable to. shame about this as fairly pleasant hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Location, location, location, which is important on a city tour, and the hotel Anaco is definitely in a fantastic location. Right in the centre, but the side street location means you avoid city night noise. We were lucky and got one of the renovated rooms on the top floor, with new beds, clean bathroom and nice small balcony. The staff was also very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Anaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anaco

Address: Tres Cruces, 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#128 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anaco 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Anaco is situated in the heart center of Madrid, next to the famous Gran Via, and offers the services and tendry characteristic of a Hotel Boutique, totally urban, where rest and relaxation are warranted through millions of details. Hotel Anaco is located in one of the best leisure areas in Madrid, surrounded by major theaters, cinemas, restaurants,music halls. And along with monuments of great value to tourism as the Royal Palace, Almudena Cathedral, the Temple of Debod, Retiro Park and most traditional Madrid. Also located 2 minutes from the Preciados street, famous for its variety of shopping opportunities, 2 minutos from the Puerta del Sol, which is located Comunidad de Madrid Goverment, nearly Madrid municipal Govermant, and the main Public Administration buildings. Hotel Anaco was founded by the laureaus arquitecht Mariano Rodríguez Sanz, in the 60s, and co-designed by Luis Feduchi, as an authentic icon of the Madrid racionalism. Hotel Anaco keeps the style and urban ellegance, adapted to the new trends in every moment. Several artists and professionals have been clients of Hotel Anaco.The Anaco In initiative, offers a different experience for the client. The Hotel Anaco staff will inform you about the most attractive events in Madrid, with several privileges, as tickets for concerts, bullfighting, important discounts in Theathers, collaboration in the Real Madrid activities or Wi-fi free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Anaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaco Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.