We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orfila

Save Saved
You added Hotel Orfila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location - a downhill walk to the center of the city (maybe 20min). The neighborhood around and just south (towards the city center) is really great - lots of shopping, restaurants, cool buildings. The hotel is near a metro which makes exploring the city easy. It's a short walk to the Prado and the Parque del Retiro. The hotel was clean and the room a very nice size with a sitting area and large bathroom. The lobby is gorgeous and wonderful decorated. The beds were a bit more comfortable than the average European firm/solid mattress. The staff were helpful. The hotel could use an upgrade in decor of its rooms, room access (time to move away from clunky keys), and high prices for breakfast (25 Euros per person for very little).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
From the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your stay with us this year and for your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.
Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Madrid. And reviews like yours let us now we are on the right track.
Please let us know when you are planning your next visit!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    45
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
125
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great neighborhood in Madrid. Room was spaces and clean with a large bathroom. The lobby is beautifully decorated with a large vase of fresh flowers. The staff is very accommodating and made several suggestions for places to visit and restaurants in the area. Definitely would stay at this hotel again. Within walking distance of the Prado.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, and please receive our sink for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.
It pleases us to know that I remain taken pleasure with the location and the service that offers the whole equipment of the hotel.
We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Madrid in the near future. Please don´t hesitate to contact us to arrange any especial request.
Kim Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We loved staying at the hotel. The staff especially all the concierges were so helpful and friendly.
The only complaint we had was that there were 2 weddings on the weekend we were there and the parties outside of our windows continued in to the early morning. We were on the third floor but still heard everything. We were happy for the couple but next time I would ask for a quieter room. We had dinner in the restaurant at the hotel and it was delicious as were the tapas they served. All in all a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers.
We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our installations as much as our kind and attentive service. Our goal is to help create an exciting and unforgettable experience to each one of our guests, making them feel comfortable and happy while with us.
It will be of our great pleasure to welcome you back next time you are in town, so please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance.
We'll be looking forward to see you again at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Orfila was the perfect base for a stay in Madrid. The accommodations are spacious and comfortable, with well-appointed marble baths. The buffet breakfast in the beautiful small dining room was generous, but didn't vary at all, so it became a little boring after several days. The service, however, made everything easy and contributed significantly to a successful visit. The friendly and knowledgeable staff made every effort to accommodate all requests. Their recommendations were excellent and their directions were unfailingly simple and accurate. The hotel delivers exceptional value at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your time with us!. An especial thanks to you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor.
We work hard to deliver the best possible service to each one of guests and we are always appreciative of their suggestions, since we strongly believe in continuous self-improvement.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Orfila for three days, and we loved every minute of it. It is a beautiful updated property located close to two Metro stops but still within walking distance of many of Madrid's attractions. The manager and her staff were the best, always helpful, cordial and welcoming. If we go back to Madrid, we will definitely stay at the Orfila again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your recent stay at Hotel Orfila. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our kind staff.
We would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip to our city, so please do not hesitate in contacting us.

We look forward to hearing from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

For the final part of our holiday in Spain, we wanted a small, boutique hotel and choose the Orfila based on positive reviews on tripadvisor. The reviews are certainly glowing and upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff. The decor is 'olde worlde' and this theme continues in the clean and comfortable rooms. Our room was spacious, well laid out and with a high ceiling. Unfortunately the next morning we were woken up at 8am by the next door construction. The hotel handled it well and moved us immediately to a quiet room. When I mentioned that the layout did not suit us they moved us again to a suitable room, all with an apology letter and bottle of cava, from the Manager. The staff really make this place. They are professional and genuinely caring. We never felt rushed along by the front desk. We loved the location, walking distance to a host of options but in peaceful neighborhood.

So that's all the positives. Now the reality is, it's an old building. So things like the AC making noise and the water temperature in the shower hard to control were an issue. We pumped the fan up on the AC which made it quiet and we got the hang of the shower. If I had known these issues at the beginning (reviews give me high expectations, perhaps?) I may have shopped around a bit more, considering the room rate. We were here for 4 nights and in the end, we were won over by the service.

So if you value personal service, security and location, the Orfila provides a haven in bustling Madrid, just bear in mind the 'quirks' of an old building.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Trip Advisor with such kind and detailed comment. We are sure those insiders´ tips will be of great help to fellow travelers!
Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.

We look forward to see you again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a great hotel that is located in a well-located quiet street. The room was spacious and very clean. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Pricing for the room was very reasonable. I would highly recommend this for a stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Orfila if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#67 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orfila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.