We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Orfila to your Saves list
Hotel Orfila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Pottsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I just spent five days at Hotel Orfila and had a great stay. The hotel is beautiful and the room was spacious and very comfortable. The location was fantastic. I walked to all the sites I wanted to see. The neighbourhood was quiet and upscale. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They made me feel very welcomed and well cared for. I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are most grateful for having chosen our hotel for your last stay in Madrid. We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Trip Advisor with such kind words. Madrid is definitely a city full on charm just waiting to be re-discovered every time you stop by.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city we´ll love to welcome you back and have you as our guest once again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    57
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
178
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable for work and play.
Away from the crowds yet within easy access of all the Madrileno action.
Staff are friendly and professional.
Drinks at the bar are expensive so best to drink out or in with duty free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest:

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us. And now we are the ones thanking you for choosing us and for taking a minute of your time to write a kind review and share it with your fellow travelers.
It would be wonderful to welcome you back next time you are visiting our city, so please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed April 12 - 16 2013 and found the hotel to be a version of heaven. It is an oasis of peace and calm in a very busy city. We slept with the window open and the loudest sound was the fountain in the lovely terraced garden. Breakfast was excellent and included tortilla, smoked salmon and sparkling wine.. Staff were friendly and attentive so we were more than happy with all aspects of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for haven chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Madrid. We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your time with us.

We work hard to deliver the best possible experience to each one of our guests, we are happy to know you have enjoyed our friendly and efficient service.
Next time you find yourself planning a trip to Madrid, please let us know in advance, we would love to be the ones to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

An elegant superbly professional yet cosy hotel in the heart of Madrid. We spent three nights in Madrid this April with the Orfila as our "home" base. I say home because the staff were so welcoming, the atmosphere serene, the cuisine of the in house restaurant superb and the comfort of the rooms above par. We will definitely stay at the Orfila again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very much pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Madrid. At the Hotel Orfila we work hard to balance luxury with the warm and personalized service, we believe, every single guest of ours deserves.

In addition we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We´ll make sure to share your kind words with our staff.

Please know that your home in Madrid will always be ready to welcome you back. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us.

We look forward to have you stay with us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleorton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Classic R&C hotel - full of quaint Louis XV style furniture and polished marble, with lots of charm. Not stuffy but fairly formal service, with very attentive reception. Weather was appalling and we can only imagine it is a beautiful place to spend a few days when the courtyard is open for breakfast, dining or relaxing. Very quiet location but only a 15 minute walk to good dining and nightlife options. Would recommend this beautiful hotel for those that like quaint traditional feeling places.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

We´d like to thank you for your stay at hotel Orfila and for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities.

As you described in your comment we are located near numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs. And for a change of scenery, our easy-to-use public transportation will take you to virtually any other touristic attractions in the city in just minutes.

When you find yourself planning your next visit to Madrid, please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you as our guest once more.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed 3 Nights- great service - great location and very romantic old design. The friendliness and service level is among The highest ever Experienced ón Any 5 Star hotel . The attitude of The Staff is just brillant !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service. At hotel Orfila we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

So thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.

We look forward to see you again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Some of the best food in Madrid and so quiet, elegant and enchanting. Loved it! In a city of bustle and noise, this quiet restaurant overlooking a sweet patio where I imagine in Summer you can eat outdoors, is most relaxing. We have been there three times and on each occasion have felt that it is truly a haven of luxury and culinary delight in the midst of a bustling capital city. The baby suckling pig is perfect and the service without flaw. The lobby pretty, location interesting and attention to detail outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Orfila one more time if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#9 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orfila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.