We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice, we will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Orfila to your Saves list
Hotel Orfila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A great choice, we will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

A very nice welcome by the excellent staff, marred slightly by one of our rooms not being ready and taking rather longer than we were told until it was (we had early check in and late check out as part of our package too). Nit picking though as you struggle to find fault here apart from the wifi which was poor on our floor and non existent in the (very nice) restaurant used for breakfast as well. I also couldn't find anyway of regulating the temperature in our rooms, which were rather warm. And that's it. Rooms were immaculate as we're the public areas. You got the feeling the staff really wanted to help. Sometimes I think some of the staff can be a little stuffy at a Relais and Chateaux hotel (at Mas de Torrent in Northern Spain for example) but not here. Our rooms were a good size as were the bathrooms, often not the case in a city hotel. Good bedding. comfortable chairs/sofas. Breakfast was excellent and our meal in the restaurant was very good and the waiter helpful and accommodating. The situation is excellent and quiet but only a short walk to several nice places and not much longer to many more. We look forward to returning, probably in the warmer months so I can complain it was too cold!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Madrid and especially your stay with us at Hotel Orfila. We´d like to thank you for choosing us. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy throughout their time at the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers with such a detailed post. As far as the temperature problem is concerned, we would like to tell you that all rooms have a temperature regulator. We are terribly sorry to hear you had problems with our wifi, we consider this as as temporary problem due to the wifi connection is normally working withour any problem.

We sincerely hope that this unfortunate event doesn't prevent you from getting to visit us in your next trip to Madrid. We look forward to hearing from you soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    48
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
142
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The accommodating staff really worked overtime for us securing dinner reservations, arranging for an overnight trip to Toledo. The hotel is charming and our junior suit was comfortable and quiet. We felt like we had our own apartment in Madrid. We would return!

Room Tip: Room 11 is really great! Street side but quiet nonetheless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed your stay in Madrid.

We would love to see you again next time you are in town, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us as soon as you find yourself planning your next escapade!.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Orfilia is the only Relais and Chateaux in Madrid. The location is nice, in a small street very quite...but the hotel is really tired and it is really under expectations.
The decor is a classic french with fake antiques. It semestre this is princess caroline of monaco regular stay in town but that surprises me a lot.
The rooms are old, with a smell of antique. The forniture a mix of fake and no sense. I had holes in the sheets. The bathroom are not comfortable, Lacking of the amenities you expect.
Breakfast poor. No SPA and the service is really poor

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mr.Rotko,

We are really sorry to learn that your experience with us felt short to meet your expectations. We always work really hard and we are very appreciative of feedback that allows us to become better.

Rooms are currently being renewed, and in a few weeks we will finish it. Our furniture is antique and some furnishing belong to XX century, but all of it are original, not fakes. We would like to know the number of your room in order to check out the problem.

Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Madrid. We can assure you that we are going to look into this incident and making sure we are dealing with a once-time isolated case.

We apologize for the nuisance these events could have caused you, and we sincerely hope we get a second chance to make emends and show you our improvements.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

An oasis of calm in the bustling and vibrant city that is Madrid. Perfectly located: far enough from the madding crowd yet within walking distance of the many and varied attractions this city has to offer. Service was first rate - from the welcome glass of sparkling wine on our arrival to check-out at the end of our week's stay - and our superior room was large and comfortable. An excellent hotel that we hope to revisit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

From all of us here at Hotel Orfila, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Madrid. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Madrid and especially your stay with us.

We would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in town. So please, feel free to contact us anytime. We look forward to your next visit!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Agree with previous reviews, great front desk. room was lovely too, we had a junior suite. nice and quiet, which is apparently not so easy in Madrid. Handy for hop on/hop off bus tour leaving from Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.

We look forward to see you again!.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Based on trip advisor reviews, and a good internet book ahead rate, I recently spent 3 days at the Hotel Orfila. The hotel is located on a difficult to find but quiet street about a 15 minute walk to the beginning of the downtown area bounded by the Prado museum. It is very near the excellent shopping area Salamonca.
Check in was easy and perfectly handled by Emilio running the front desk. Due to hurricane sandy, the hotel was kind enough to move our non refundable reservation back a few days when the NYC airports shut down. As a member of the Relais and Chateaux 5C club, I was offered an upgrade from their standard room to a junior suite. We looked at both and while the standard room was very bright and pretty we went for the Junior suite due to the extra size - Room 52, the garret suite. While the room was on the dark side due to only one small window, that didn't bother us much as we planned to be out and about during the day. One of the nice aspects of being on a small street is that the room was very quiet, a complaint often raised on Madrid hotels.
The problem with the hotel was the room. It was extremely tired and worn. It was evident that maintenance was clearly overlooked. From little things like pictures that wouldn't hang straight, ( I tried to fix) to door frames that were in need of repair, to curtain hooks falling out of the wall, this room needed help. The bed and sheets were excellent but that was all I can say about was excellent about the room. The tub/shower best exemplifies the problem. There was no separate shower, no problem, but when I stepped into the tub to shower, the no slip strips had been worn down to nothing and away I went, crashing into the wall. Simple thing, easy to fix.
In fairness to the hotel, I did not make my concerns known, I didn't want to move and I just let this all go. But I find this hotel difficult to be rated as the best in Madrid. A nice place that needs work now if it intends to stay at the top. Madrid is full of hotels, you could probably do better. If it wasn't for the great front desk of Emilio and Jose, who couldn't have been nicer, I would drop this hotel way down. Note: there is no fitness center, but they have a relationship with some nearby gyms at 5 euro per day. I did not use them. If not for the rate I received, this hotel was really not much to write home about.

Room Tip: rooms to the interior courtyard are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we´d like to thank you for having chosen our hotel. We feel terribly sorry to learn that we fell short to meet your expectations.

Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Madrid. We are currently undertaking a remodeling of the rooms and unfortunately that one was not rehabilitated yet.
In two months all the works in the hotel will be finish, so we would like to invite you to one of the remodeled rooms, please let us know when you are planning your next visit to Madrid.

We would love to see you again next time you are in town. Hopefully you´ll give us a chance to show you our improvements!

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Orfila on our last night in Madrid (Oct 30, 2012). This is a lovely quiet hotel a block north of Calle de Genova in between the Colon and Alonso Martinez Metro stops. The lobby is intimate and elegant. The staff is excellent with a very friendly and accommodating attitude. Our room was available when we arrived at 10:30am so it was nice to be able to settle in right away. Our room was larger than any standard European hotel room we've stayed in with a real king bed, sitting area and large bathroom. There was plenty of storage space. We did not eat at the hotel but heard the restaurant is very good. The breakfast area was charming, but we had to leave too early for the airport and did not have the opportunity to try it. Because it was my birthday, the hotel brought us a lovely bottle of sherry in the early evening. And for our last dinner in Madrid we asked for an authentic Spanish restaurant with no tourists that was within walking distance of the hotel. We were directed to a wonderful restaurant where we enjoyed the best meal we had during our stay (La Parra). Thank you to the staff of Hotel Orfila for making our last night in Madrid so special!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.

We look forward to see you again!.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#8 Family Hotel in Madrid
#78 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orfila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.