We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely quiet and romantic hotel in madrid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orfila

Save Saved
You added Hotel Orfila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely quiet and romantic hotel in madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Agree with previous reviews, great front desk. room was lovely too, we had a junior suite. nice and quiet, which is apparently not so easy in Madrid. Handy for hop on/hop off bus tour leaving from Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.

We look forward to see you again!.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    48
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
135
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Based on trip advisor reviews, and a good internet book ahead rate, I recently spent 3 days at the Hotel Orfila. The hotel is located on a difficult to find but quiet street about a 15 minute walk to the beginning of the downtown area bounded by the Prado museum. It is very near the excellent shopping area Salamonca.
Check in was easy and perfectly handled by Emilio running the front desk. Due to hurricane sandy, the hotel was kind enough to move our non refundable reservation back a few days when the NYC airports shut down. As a member of the Relais and Chateaux 5C club, I was offered an upgrade from their standard room to a junior suite. We looked at both and while the standard room was very bright and pretty we went for the Junior suite due to the extra size - Room 52, the garret suite. While the room was on the dark side due to only one small window, that didn't bother us much as we planned to be out and about during the day. One of the nice aspects of being on a small street is that the room was very quiet, a complaint often raised on Madrid hotels.
The problem with the hotel was the room. It was extremely tired and worn. It was evident that maintenance was clearly overlooked. From little things like pictures that wouldn't hang straight, ( I tried to fix) to door frames that were in need of repair, to curtain hooks falling out of the wall, this room needed help. The bed and sheets were excellent but that was all I can say about was excellent about the room. The tub/shower best exemplifies the problem. There was no separate shower, no problem, but when I stepped into the tub to shower, the no slip strips had been worn down to nothing and away I went, crashing into the wall. Simple thing, easy to fix.
In fairness to the hotel, I did not make my concerns known, I didn't want to move and I just let this all go. But I find this hotel difficult to be rated as the best in Madrid. A nice place that needs work now if it intends to stay at the top. Madrid is full of hotels, you could probably do better. If it wasn't for the great front desk of Emilio and Jose, who couldn't have been nicer, I would drop this hotel way down. Note: there is no fitness center, but they have a relationship with some nearby gyms at 5 euro per day. I did not use them. If not for the rate I received, this hotel was really not much to write home about.

Room Tip: rooms to the interior courtyard are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we´d like to thank you for having chosen our hotel. We feel terribly sorry to learn that we fell short to meet your expectations.

Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Madrid. We are currently undertaking a remodeling of the rooms and unfortunately that one was not rehabilitated yet.
In two months all the works in the hotel will be finish, so we would like to invite you to one of the remodeled rooms, please let us know when you are planning your next visit to Madrid.

We would love to see you again next time you are in town. Hopefully you´ll give us a chance to show you our improvements!

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Orfila on our last night in Madrid (Oct 30, 2012). This is a lovely quiet hotel a block north of Calle de Genova in between the Colon and Alonso Martinez Metro stops. The lobby is intimate and elegant. The staff is excellent with a very friendly and accommodating attitude. Our room was available when we arrived at 10:30am so it was nice to be able to settle in right away. Our room was larger than any standard European hotel room we've stayed in with a real king bed, sitting area and large bathroom. There was plenty of storage space. We did not eat at the hotel but heard the restaurant is very good. The breakfast area was charming, but we had to leave too early for the airport and did not have the opportunity to try it. Because it was my birthday, the hotel brought us a lovely bottle of sherry in the early evening. And for our last dinner in Madrid we asked for an authentic Spanish restaurant with no tourists that was within walking distance of the hotel. We were directed to a wonderful restaurant where we enjoyed the best meal we had during our stay (La Parra). Thank you to the staff of Hotel Orfila for making our last night in Madrid so special!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.

We look forward to see you again!.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is lovely. Has a real historical & genuine luxurious look & feel. Is v quiet. You are made v welcome and nothing is too much trouble.

It is a 20 min walk at least from Sol. But 2 stops on the subway. Immediate area is v quiet so you need to go towards the centre for all the bars and sites.

Only thing is that breakfast is not included and is expensive at Eur 30 a head!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Orfila Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers with this post.

Beyond doubt, the location of our hotel is just perfect for leisure travellers who wish to acquaint themselves with the city's must-see attractions.

We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We look forward to see you again!.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent 4 days in September here and loved the ambiance of the hotel plus the quiet street was a wonderful location. Easy walking distance to public transportation and quick cab ride to the city center. Food is sublime. The best part was the staff who were helpful and knowledgeable. We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid.

For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel. Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Orfila if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is beautiful secluded in a quiet street away from tourist spots but enough transportation near by and close to major attractions. We were welcomed with bublies and fresh juice for the kids. The palacio is charming and the rooms are very nice. Reception desk was helpful and polite. Room service was really good. Being a Relais Chateau property makes the difference when it comes to details and ambience. Breakfast could be cheaper though, 30Euros per person was a bit much, but lovely presented in the breakfast room.
All in all it was great for us and I would recommend this hotel when visiting Madri with elegance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers with such a detailed comment.

Before your next visit to Madrid we invite you to make your reservation through our website. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Orfila.

We look forward to accommodating you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matera, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Orfila for 3 nights in May 2012 and enjoyed both the location and the unusually helpful staff. You are certainly aware you are staying in a Relais & Châteaux for an unusually accessible price. We did not have dinner or breakfast prefering a light breakfast - much, much cheaper and healthier - and enjoyed the extensive array of restaurant offerings in Madrid rather than having dinner "at the hotel".
We did feel that the Orfilia is surviving on a past reputation with furnishings and generally a decor that is a bit passé and in need of renovation. The facilities, for this kind of hotel, are limited and I think another visit to Madrid would be to a more modern, boutique establishment. That said, it IS a Relais & Châteaux and for some this is in itself an important feature.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms overlooking the rotunda. While we were at the hotel there were two family gather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, once more.

We look forward to see you again!.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#74 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orfila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.