We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Preciados

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Preciados to your Saves list
Hotel Preciados
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Preciados 37, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #12 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel. We traveled all over Spain and this was my favorite hotel. The location was just perfect. You could walk to almost everything. Metro was only a few steps away. It is also so quite for a great nights sleep. The room was perfect. The staff was very nice. Always greet you with a big smile. I will always stay here when I return to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    716
    106
    17
    9
See reviews for
373
1,127
134
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Though not as excellent as one would have imagined, judging by the very high ranking in TripAdvisor, we are very happy with your choice of the Preciados Hotel. We stayed five nights in Room 312. I'll state what disappointed us first: The ventilation in the bathroom was not satisfactory, taking way too long for the air to clear up (we had to open the balcony doors for this). The wall-mounted swivel mirror in the bathroom was so rickety I had to tighten the screws in all joints to be able to use it. The one available seat, an armchair, was past its prime (the seat would sink really deep when one sat on it and you could feel the wood frame press against the back of your legs -- not comfortable). A change of fabric was also in order. The fabric-lined inside of the "sous-main" was stained from a sort of liquid. The sheets were changed only on the fifth night, after I placed them on the floor (perhaps they were due to be changed anyway? We'll never know) The good points: Though with minimal space on each side of the twin beds, Rm 312 was roomy enough in all other areas. Overlooking the pedestrian and not noisy Preciados street, it also had double glazing -- so it was very quiet. Spacious double wardrobe, good mattresses (on the hard side, which I prefer), choice of pillows and a focusing personal reading light, aside from the standard sconce near the headboard. Black-out double curtains. A long, deep shelf-desk that gave us ample room to place our travel papers, guides, buys, personal stuff. Breakfast was fantastic: aside from the usual corn and bran flakes, breads, croissants, butter, cheese, marmalade selections, we had wonderful freshly baked cakes including the almond Torta de Santiago and baked cheesecake, creme caramellee, panacotta, rice pudding, creme anglaise... Plus jamon, little tuna sanwiches, egg tostadas, a variety of fruit pieces and more. Cannot praise it enough.The staff was friendly and spoke passable English, computers with internet connection were available for free and we were not charged for the minibar. The location is excellent, right in the center of the city, minutes away from metro and bus stations, the lively Gran Via and Arenal streets, as well as the historic central plazas and neighbourhoods. It is also surrounded by eateries of all kinds. Because of its very high ranking by other travellers, the minuses I described in the beginning were unexpected and a letdown. However we would return to the Preciados because its advantages outweigh the weak points.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Location is excellent - lots of shops and restaurants and the attractions, etc, within easy walking distance. Reception friendly and helpful, room modern and extremely chic - we had a double balcony which was brilliant for looking out over the rooftops. Excellent breakfast (too much to choose from!!). Highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I would definitely stay here again!
The location is great. It's in Calle Preciados, a pedestrian street, near Sol and Gran Via. Madrid is a very walkable city, but if you need to use public transport there are 2 metrostations near the hotel: Callao and Santa Domingo. But Gran Via, Sol and Opèra are closeby as well.

The room is comfortable, clean and quite spacious for Madrid. Our room even had a small balcony. The bed is wonderful. The bathroom is clean and has all you need.

Breakfast is amazing. You can start with freshly squeezed orange juice, we did anyway. It's delicious. Breakfast has all the things you need, to get you through a day of sightseeing or shopping. There's scrambled eggs, fried eggs on toast, bacon, all kinds of bread and cakes, cheeses, ham, turkey, salmon, tomatoes, fresh fruit, cerials. And ofcourse coffee, milk, green tea, other teas, water, freshly sqeeezed orange juice, yoghurt and if you want cappuccino, the guy behind the counter will get you one.

The staff at reception is very helpfull. They have a free map of the city for you, get you a cab if you want one and can give you advise on where to shop or to eat.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed here in October. The hotel is well located-between 2 Metro stops, although I only took the Metro once because Madrid is a very walkable city. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and had the usual amenities. Hotel staff was helpful with directions and the breakfasts were excellent. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Elegant hotel and very clean. Not too far from tourism attractions. A bit far from restaurants if you want to walk. The rooms are very clean (I took a single room). There is everything you need in the rooms and the facilities are modern. My room had a balcony with nice chairs to enjoy the sun. Excellent place to stay for visiting Madrid. Close to metro stations. There is also a restaurant at the hotel. The breakfast is ok but dinner might be improved. They seem to do good drinks (excellent Irish Coffee). Free Internet. People speaks English but they prefer speaking Spanish. People at the reception are not always happy to provide directions for tourisms and they are not always very good. I almost missed the visit of the Madrid Park and this is one of the best attraction of Madrid. But overall, this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We arrived before our scheduled check-in time and the reception staff still managed to accomodate us (considering we had just flown 20hours, that was really appreciated!!!) The location of the hotel was fantastic as it is walking distance to most attractions and also the metro station is about 2mins walk from the hotel!! ( Callao station) There are places to eat and the centre of the city (puerta del sol) is about 10mins stroll from the hotel..

The rooms are clean and secure and the staff are friendly, informative and very helpful!!From busboys, porters and the reception staff, all of them went out of their way to provide valuable advice and service throughout our stay ( day and night)... we even got champagne and chocolates sent up to our rooms when we arrived!
The only negative would be the only morning that we had breakfast at the hotel restaurant as the service there was less than friendly...we would suggest eating at one of the many cafes and restaurants surrounding the hotel for breakfast at half the price.We would definitely recommend this hotel for anybody travelling to madrid

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciados

Address: C/ Preciados 37, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#9 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#18 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Preciados 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Boutique 4**** Hotel, located in the main shopping street in Madrid: Calle Preciados. From its unbeatable location, between PLAZA ESPAÑA – GRAN VÍA – PASEO DEL PRADO – PUERTA DEL SOL and PLAZA MAYOR, our guests will be able to enjoy the most attractive cultural and shopping delights in Madrid. FREE MINIBAR and WIFI in all rooms.Tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are just some of the charms and qualities that characterize the Hotel Preciados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Preciados Hotel Madrid
Preciados Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Preciados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.