We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Preciados

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Preciados to your Saves list
Hotel Preciados
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Preciados 37, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #8 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent 4 nights with several other workers of my company in a business trip. The hotel is located just in the centre of Madrid, near all the main locations (Puerta del Sol, Gran Via, calle Preciados, Palacio Real). This makes it perfect for tourism or business. The new refurbished rooms are more typical of a 5 star hotel than of a 4 star one, with "rain showers" or changing-color lighting included. The restaurant serves excellent traditional spanish cuisine, great "croquetas de boletus", something worth trying. In the mornings, breakfast is served there, with an excellent choice of fruits, as well as many other types of food, and fresh made orange juice. In short, an excellent hotel worth staying in when you plan to travel to Madrid!

Room Tip: Ask for the new refurbished rooms, they are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment,We do appreciate all the great comments about our location and room . Thank you also for your mention about the the rain showers with the changing-color. Finally I appreciate your remarks about the restaurant and breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to another chance to host you.

Best regards

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    606
    95
    12
    9
See reviews for
321
968
121
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in December. The hotel staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Free minibar a plus. Great location. Clean and comfortable room. Nice buffet breakfast. Water (shower) pressure in the bathroom was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your opinion and we appreciate knowing that you have enjoyed in Madrid and our Hotel.

Every day the Hotel Staff tried to improve to keep customers satisfied and we get to come again.

Thank you very much. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Spent 5 nights here while visiting family and the Christmas Market. Arriving late, tired and with very little Spanish, it was very welcoming to be expected by reception and addressed by name. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay. The location was excellent, very close to the Metro Calle Callao and the Grand Via, so it was easy to get about. The room was very comfortable, an excellent range of toiletries was provided and the free safe, mini bar and wifi were much appreciated, as was the jacuzzi fitted in the bath. The food was fine, and if I had to criticise anything it would be the cost of breakfast (15 euros): hot and cold buffet was available and extremely nice, but the cost did seem to me to be somewhat high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you in the name of all the Hotel Preciados Team for your feedback.

Thanks for your positive comments about Staff, location, minibar and wifi free, and food. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a nice stay in our Hotel and we hope to see you back soon in Madrid.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've stayed with my boyfriend for 4nights. The hotel staff was very helpful. Breakfast was amazing. The room was on the second floor, and although there is a lot of activity on the street that we were facing, we couldn't hear a sound at nigh. The hotel was close to everything, metro (Sol is at walking distance) is close. The shopping area is very near. The hotel is near Sol, Gran via, with a lot of restaurants and things to do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comments about the Staff, central location and our special buffet breakfast. We are working to improve our facilities for our Guest.

Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Madrid.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights here while on business in Madrid ... great location right in the heart of Madrid at a reasonable price. Location is close to Gran Via, Puerto del Sol, Plaza Mayor, theaters, restaurants,and lots of side streets filled with shops. The best part about the location is that it's not on a busy street with traffic and crowd noise, but it's still in the middle of all the action.
The hotel itself was clean and well cared for. I would give it a 5 for my stay there except for some minor things. My room was on the 5th floor which may have contributed to air in the water lines. Not a big deal, but the sudden burst of spray a few times was a surprise. Additinoally I found a small piece of glass on the floor the second day ... not sure how it got there, but glad it wasn't in my foot.
The positive features were the free wifi and minibar ... also breakfast was good and the buffet on the corner across the street made for a convenient late dinner.
Overall it was a good experience and I hope to return with my wife one day to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We welcome your comments to the Hotel Preciados, the location, minibar and wifi free and our comfortable rooms.

Sorry, the inconvenience with piece of glass that you founded, these things never happen.

Certainly we are located in the heart of Madrid, surrounded by good Restaurants, the Museums of the city, as Prado and the most emblematic monuments such as the Royal Palace, Almudena Cathedral and Plaza Mayor. Our Staff will always help you to find what you need.

We hope to see you as soon as possible in Hotel Preciados.

Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent six days at the Preciados. The staff was tremendous and I really appreciated their help. The room was kind of small but the bed was large and comfortable. The hotel was a bit old fashioned, but it was quite cozy. I would highly recommend staying there and I felt is was good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time to devote some words to our Hotel as this is a gift to us.

Thanks for your comments about our Hotel, value for money, comfortable rooms, excellent food and our Team, but the big win is that you want to come back to us whenever you are in Madrid.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon at Hotel Preciados.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We are New Yorkers so the subway system is second nature to us (and for the record it is amzing in Madrid and Barcelona), and Preciados is located steps from the Callao stop. I have to been to Madrid dozens of times and stayed in a wide array of different hotels, but nothing quite like the Preciados.

I am not sure what all rooms are like, but we had the 6th floor, in an amazing ammenity filled room, with a 250 sq ft private patio offering amazing views of all of Gran Via and Calle Preciados. It was truly a remarkable experience at a great modern boutique hotel.

The Good:
1) Room - Entire floor, huge with lots room to spread, almost like an apartment, massive private deck over looking Madrid, and all the ammenites one would expect.
2) The Location - Perfect, easy to find, every great store and eating establishment steps away.
3) Free mini bar - Not the greatest, not enough beer or water, but free and that is pretty cool.
4) Bathroom - Fantastic....but you need to love modern
5) Bed - amazing
6) Bellhop - super nice and eager to help

The Bad:
1) The Front desk - we got there later in the evening, plus it is Europe. I have traveled all to every major City in Eastern and Western Europe and stayed at hundreds of Hotels 1 star to 5L stars. Europe in general has curt and condescending desk staff, this place was no exception. It lost 3/4ths of a circle for this.
2) The Buffet - we both agreed we would have been better off heading to a local restaurant. It was much more limited than I was lead to believe from reviews, and not worth the extra cost. Although, it is convenient. Lost h1/4th of a circle for this.

One final point if you are accustomed to high end fixtures, white glove valet, grand stair cases and antique furniture…don’t stay here. It is not for you. Those that get it, get it and love it.

Room Tip: Get the sixth floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your time to dedicate a review.

As you say you highlight our excellent location in central Madrid, just a few minutes from the Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, La Latina area and Opera, with an area of restaurants and tapas bars.

Our staff strives every day to get your satisfaction supported by adequate facilities for their needs and sorry what happened at check in and we give you so sorry for it.

Thank you very much again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciados

Address: C/ Preciados 37, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madrid
#6 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#6 Business Hotel in Madrid
#7 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Preciados 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Boutique 4**** Hotel, located in the main shopping street in Madrid: Calle Preciados. From its unbeatable location, between PLAZA ESPAÑA – GRAN VÍA – PASEO DEL PRADO – PUERTA DEL SOL and PLAZA MAYOR, our guests will be able to enjoy the most attractive cultural and shopping delights in Madrid. FREE MINIBAR and WIFI in all rooms.Tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are just some of the charms and qualities that characterize the Hotel Preciados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Preciados Hotel Madrid
Preciados Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Preciados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;