We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sterling to your Saves list
Hotel Sterling
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-31 San Bernardo St, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Alexandra) (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Kakanj, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in February 2013, and I loved it. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Free WiFi is great advantage. The location is also great. It is near the Gran Via street and metro station is very close to the hotel. Staff is friendly and they will helped us with everything we needed. Price is reasonable.
The only bad thing about this hotel is breakfast. They serve meet (pork) and cheese together and if you do not eat pork, you will have only sweets for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    205
    63
    21
    8
See reviews for
99
148
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in December, absolutely loved it.
Great location really close to Noviciado metro stop, really clean well furnished rooms.
Free Wifi which was a great bonus!
Friendly staff, good breakfast, would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

we reserve the hotel by recommendation agency.
I always love spain,
nice people, nice food, nice wine and good weather
hotel have some repair and maintenance and change the name to sterling
but it need more main repair and renew
bad point:
bath need more renew and cleaning
bath tube and... quality is low
quality of towel is not good
some room dont have good air flow and you smell dead air
room was small

good point
good location
good service and hospitality
good bed and room decorate
good price
and most lovely part was a free IPAD with 3G/wifi access in madrid
it help us very very much
I love this offer /promotion

Room Tip: ask the staff for a room with street view and upper access ask a room without stair access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband, myself and Daughter(age 17) stayed at the Hotel Sterling 28th Oct-1st Nov. I was pleased to get a reasonably priced hotel, with a triple room, in a good location. The Hotel is very handy for getting around, the staff are very friendly and the rooms clean. If you want 5 star luxury then of course you are going to have to pay more. I agree with other reviews that the braekfast didn't have much choice, but again for the price it was fine.
Madrid is a great city, we enjoyed it much more than Barcelona, it is safer and much easier to get around.
We used the City Bus tour which was great to get orientated, we used the metro to the Bernabau, that was really easy, and we walked!
We were there for Halloween which was fun, a big effort made by all the businesses.
Would Definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 314, not much out look but nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well situated central madrid hotel. Close to the metro and walkable to most of the sites. Very clean and very quiet at night. Breakfast is ok but it's included in the price. A 24/7 convenience store next door comes in handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very good hotel, clean, modern, you have to choose high floor to be away from noise at night, the advantage point is the location in Gran Via, very close to everything.
employees with no English is a weak point.didnt like breakfast, better yoy choose Bed only base and have your BF outside, cheaper and better.
over all i choose it for my next visit.

Room Tip: high floor, modern room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Although hotel was clean, the staff were unfriendly and uncaring. The crime in Madrid is extremely bad and we were not warned. Although my travelling companion and I are seasoned travellers knowing not to take much out with us and wearing cross body bags the hotel staff did not tell us to be careful when going to local market where my companion had a shopping bag slashed with a knife from behind and her expensive glasses stolen. The Police station was full to capacity with people reporting stolen items. The hotel should have verbally warned us. The hotel lobby area did smell of toilets and no view at all out of our bedroom window except a brick wall and therefore dark all the time. Breakfast was boring and lipstick mark on glass and cups were not particularly clean and a few were chipped. Cutlery was not particularly clean either. Towels were thin and small. No English channels on the TV and the safe was in a place which was difficult to see the number on because of lack of light either natural or by electric light. Would not recommend and would not go back.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Address: 29-31 San Bernardo St, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#122 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sterling 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sterling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.