We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Basics are missing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Cuzco by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Cuzco by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Cuzco by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo De La Castellana 133, 28046 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #167 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Basics are missing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The minimal you would expect from a Marriot hotel is free Internet connectivity in the room and a coffee/tea maker ! I guess these are luxuries in majority of the hotels in Spain , yet being the brand Marriot (and as a silver member) this was expected.Else a comfortable business hotel, well connected , the metro and bus station at a stone's throw . Good eating places nearby . Might stay again if on a business trip only .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    193
    66
    19
    5
See reviews for
29
83
32
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel. in view of the economic climate in Spain I had hoped that the service
Standards would have improved to at least resemble the odd smile or maybe even recognition of the fact that money was exchanging hands for more than a bedroom key. Alas, it was not to be! The lady at reception did not smile once when checking me in (it was depressing - a bit like waiting in a queue at the post office) she really gave me the impression that she did not want to be there (and she wasn't in spirit). I called room service for some ice and was told that it would cost €2.50 delivery charge however managed to establish that if a came to the soul-less restaurant on the first floor (huge cavernous restaurant with two expectant diners in total without much joy in their faces) I would not have to pay the delivery charge. Funny that, if I don't get delivery it is free!. Without going on too much, I decided to brave breakfast the next morning. The receptionist at the restaurant (middle aged woman with"blondish hair") had obviously attended the same school of charm as the receptionist from the previous day ; no smile, no good morning (she was present but not really there). The breakfast was a "buffet" and it was a "bunfight" sloppy scrambled eggs, poorly cooked ham, watered down juice - excellent choice if you are of a mind to loose some weight - the offering is a shambles. If the management of this establishment really cared about giving service (not even great service) to its guests it would not take much. Make your staff happy to be there, have the occasional look around what I'd happening in the public areas, it is not difficult to identify that that is missing. It is a sad place with unhappy staff!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Norte de Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I usually like to stay in hotels that offer a good cost-benefit ratio. Hotels which are not near the main attractions are usually less crowded and the rates are lower than average, and many of them are modern and comfortable. This is the case of the AC Hotel Cuzco. Although it is not near the main attractions in Madrid, it is easy to mover around by metro or bus (keep in mind that Madrid is not a big city compared to the American standards, so everything is in a short distance). It is also in a short distance from the airport (relatively) by taxi or metro (I would recommend the latter). The rooms are nice and modern. It meets the standards of the Marriot chain. I would recommend this hotel for couple and families mainly. Facilities are in good condition and the bed was comfortable. Staff could be a little bit more friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I actually liked this hotel more than most of the reviewers I guess.

- Lobby looks like it was rescued from from a bad 60s design by a remodel- you can see there was only so much they could do, but it is perfectly functional and efficient.
- I thought my room actually felt very boutique-ey in a good way- modern without being cold or sterile.
- Yes, the internet was 12 Euro/day which is pretty ridic, and if you add that to the nightly rate where internet might be free elsewhere makes the price not as low as planned.
- While I ended up not needing to use the Metro, the Cuzco stop is right there. And there's a cab stand right in front of the hotel if you need one.
- On a Thursday morning at 9:30, it took 15 minutes to get to the airport by taxi.
- The included breakfast (at least at my rate type) was excellent and definitely had something for everyone. The pastries were actually good, and the hams selection was befitting of Spain.
- I ended up at two great bars (with good food) within a short walk- La Cantina de la Máquina and The Monk's. The first is more of a classic tapas bar/restaurant, and the second is more a pleasing pub in an incredible former church space.
- Also down the street is the Tetuan market, which I didn't have a chance to go to (I was there for work, after all), but if that's your thing, it's probably worth checking out (opens at 9 I hear).
- Finally, on the morning I checked out, there seemed to be some sort of hot girl convention in the lobby, which made me more sad to leave :).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

stayed here for a couple of days on a business trip, overall is a great hotel with interesting pros, but still with a few cons, if you stay at Marriotts often, AC hotels are no different and offers the best of the brand.

It is super close to the Santiago Bernabeu stadium (Real Madrid) a MUST while in Madrid

Pros.
- Locations, steps away from Cuzco Metro station, if you are like me and like to mingle with locals to experience the culture, this is a huge pro
- Price, for the location and accommodations, price is great
- Service, as usual Marriott stands out on service and this is no different
- Breakfast buffet (it is good)

Cons
- Lack of restaurant and bar (it has a restaurant and a bar but does not meet the expectations)
- Free internet, for a business-focus hotel, this needs to be FREE, charging 12 Euros per day for Internet is a deal breaker in my book.
- No shuttle services for airport nor downtown

Room Tip: Stay at top floors the view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are only looking to spend the night in a hotel in Madrid that is clean and well located, this is the place to be.

Do not expect any free amenities because there are none. The internet connection is free at the hotel lobby, but if you want to connect from your room, you will have to pay 12 EUR/day. The mini bar is not for free either.

The room is clean and meets the AC standards. The TV channels are quite limited to local preferences.

Otherwise, the front staff is very fast and friendly. The Lobby is spacious and nice. And the location is quite good.

For the price/value offered, I would come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Only stayed one night before our trip back to the US. We came in around 10 am and were able to get a room immediately; the check-in was efficient and fast. The front desk clerk upgraded us to a larger room even though the charge for the small extra bed was not waived. The room was a bit larger by European standards but actually smaller than an average American hotel room. Both the bathroom and the closet were large, even by American standards. Everything was impeccable with the exception of the laminate floor which was bubbling up in some areas. The walls were so thin that I could hear everything that happened in the adjacent room and in the hall area. Even though I had requested extra towels, there were only two bath towels. They provided a third one a while after checking in. The room did not have an iron and ironing board, it does not appear to be standard in this brand. I was looking forward to the free contents of the mini-bar and was disappointed to see a sign with the costs of the items inside. Per the front desk employee: 1) yes, they no longer had a free mini bar policy and b) no, no exceptions for gold elite members. I am not sure if the no-free mini-bar policy is the hotel's or the AC brand since both the AC Hotel Sants in Barcelona and the AC Hotel Carlton in Madrid had given us the free mini-bar within the last two weeks. The view of the hotel was to a courtyard, it was grim. I will probably never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Cuzco by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Cuzco by Marriott

Address: Paseo De La Castellana 133, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Madrid
#99 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#118 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Cuzco by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern High-rise Hotel located 500 meters from Congress Hall, about 1/2 hour from city center & 15 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Cuzco by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Cuzco Madrid
Ac Cuzco Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Cuzco by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.