We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find in the heart of Madrid.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin de Recoletos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jardin de Recoletos to your Saves list
Jardin de Recoletos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Barrio de Salamanca)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely find in the heart of Madrid.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Set in the quiet side street of the Salamanca district and close to the Prado, Retiro Park, restaurants, bars and an easy stroll to Madrid's many sights this hotel is a gem of a find. Recently refurbished with large rooms, garden restaurant and gin bar it's a terrific place to spend a few days in this lovely city. All the rooms are double glazed so any noise from events in the hotels bar/restaurant are kept at bay. Staff are friendly and helpful, room rates are fine for the standard of accommodation, linens, bathroom amenities etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your excellent opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. It is a great honor for us to read that you liked the great situation of our establishment in the heart of Madrid, very close to the main tourist attractions of the city and the big variety of restaurants and shops in the Salamanca neighborhood. We are delighted that you have mentioned our recently refurbished and soundproofed rooms, as well as our beautiful garden where you can have a lovely dinner or coffee in a green and quiet surrounding.
Looking already forward to welcome you back again at VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    109
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
85
145
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Mw wife and I stayed at the Jardin de Recoletos at the end of long trip to celebrate a big anniversary. The staff was always courteous and helpful, and the room was lovely, spacious and with a large outdoor terrace. It's the terrace that prompts me to write, since it was a pleasure to sit there (it had a sofa, two comfortable chairs, a table) in the cool of the evening. The room also came with a small kitchen discreetly hidden behind glossy white cabinet doors: sink, small stove, microwave, fridge, cutlery and crockery, It wasn't inexpensive but all in all was worth the price.

Room Tip: Well, it wouldn't hurt to give the desk clerk a gratuity before the room has been assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the excellent opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that our staff was nice and welcoming to you and that you had a wonderful time in the terrace of your room. We are also glad to read that you enjoyed the small kitchen we have in all our rooms.
We hope to welcome you again very soon at our VP Jardin de Recoletos.
Many thanks again for your opinion,
Sandra Serrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our 5 day stay and this hotel ticked all the boxes for us. Well appointed room and bathroom with useful kitchen area, free wifi, friendly, helpful staff and excellent location in a quiet area within minutes of shops, restaurants, Metro and the Prado. In addition the nearby Retiro Gardens provide an oasis of green for walking. We would stay here again on future visits. AnnC

Room Tip: We preferred a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious rooms with its kitchen and free wifi for all our guests. Moreover we are delighted that you mention our excellent location in the quiet Salamanca neighborhood with a big variety of restaurants and shops and very close to the famous Retiro Park or Prado Museum.
We are looking forward to see you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
230 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Really fabulous hotel - The rooms are new and well appointed and very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is unbeatable - we walked everywhere around Centro. And just to the north is a lovely and likely area to dine at night. Great choices from very casual to more fancy. We were very impressed! We opted for the breakfast, which was a good choice since it was certainly a lot of food - nicely prepared and very fresh - and reasonable particularly if you book at check in. I would definitely recommend as a option for staying in Madrid either on business or for pleasure.

Room Tip: You might want an interior facing room - but the street side (where we were) was not so noisy - beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos. We are delighted to read that you had a fabulous stay in our spacious and recently refurbished rooms and that you tried our delicious breakfast buffet with a great selection of fresh products. Thanks for pointing out our unbeatable locations, close to the main tourist attractions and in the heart of Salamanca neighborhood where you can find a lot of label shops and restaurants. We are looking forward to welcome you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Could not be happier that we picked this hotel for our week in Madrid. Large, very attractive room with kitchenette, love seat, sleek bathroom. 3 minute walk to Madrid's excellent subway. Located within easy reach of top sites. We walked to most of the museums. Gorgeous, tree-lined streets. The breakfast buffet was top notch with friendly servers if you need anything at all. Outdoor restaurant area looked beautiful, but weather was unseasonably cool while we were there in early May. Staff was delightful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful week in our recently renovated rooms with its comfortable sitting and kitchen area. Moreover it is a great pleasure for us to read that you have highlighted our great location in the heart of Salamanca Neighborhood and our restaurant with its outside terrace where you can enjoy delicious meals in a green surrounding.
We are looking forward to see you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a wonderful hotel. Centrally located on a quiet side street, near Retiro Park and a short 15 minute walk from the Prado, you can't beat this hotel for price, service and location. The hotel has an attractive outdoor garden restaurant in the rear which is a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of the street cafes at the Puerta de Alcala which is just a few blocks away.

The front desk staff speak excellent English and they are especially accommodating. A terrific value for the money. No pomp and circumstance. Just a good place to spend the night. I've never stayed at a hotel with a better shower. The shower alone is worth booking this hotel!

Room Tip: Book a high floor rooml facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for your outstanding opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you appreciated the excellent situation of our hotel, very close to the main tourist attractions and Serrano Street, the Golden Mile of Madrid. Moreover we want to thank you for your detailed review on our hotel like the attractive terrace in our garden or our new and modern walk-in showers. On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our staff, their great attitude and full commitment to ensure that all guests are fully enjoying their stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Jardin des Recoletos. Tomas and Luis at reception were very, very friendly and helpful with recommendations, dinner reservations and directions. They made us feel very welcome.

The recently refurbished room (212) was clean and nicely decorated. There was a nice sitting area with sofa and the kitchen area was perfect for a cup of tea after a day of sightseeing. Beds were very comfortable. Nice walk in shower with plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was served in the airy dinning room – cereal, fruit, ham, cheese, bread, pastry and omelets cooked to order when requested. A very nice way to start the day.

The wi-fi was good.

The hotel exceeded our expectations. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Standard room was a nice size for two. We were facing the courtyard but heard no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for taking your time in writing an opinion about our VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and that we could exceed your expectations. It is a pleasure to read that you liked our spacious rooms including its sitting and kitchen area, very useful for longer stays and to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Thanks for highlighting our professional staff at reception because this shows us the effort me make day by day to offer a better service to our guests. We are happy that you tried our delicious breakfast buffet and that you have mentioned our free wi-fi service in all the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only You Hotel & Lounge
Only You Hotel & Lounge
#2 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#6 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 2,420 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#5 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#27 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Address: C/ Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin de Recoletos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.