We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Salamanca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin de Recoletos

Save Saved
You added Jardin de Recoletos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jardin de Recoletos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€109 (EUR)
Ranked #23 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Peoria, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Salamanca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Jardin de Recoletos in September and were very pleased. Most European hotel rooms we've stayed in are very small, but ours was huge. We asked for and were fortunate to get a room overlooking the garden courtyard. Flights from the US always come with an early next morning arrival; hotel rooms are never available. This was the case here, but they had it ready an hour later. The breakfast buffet was quite nice although sometimes a bit disorganized. The location was perfect on a quiet side street off Calle Serano. The staff were most professional and very cordial as well. We were within walking distance of the Prado Museum and Retiro Park. Also within walking distance were a number of nice restaurants. While the hotel was quite reasonably priced, it is in an upscale neighborhood. Be aware that local bars and restaurants are on the pricey side (as in $13 US for a cocktail). All in all, we'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Facing the interior courtyard is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy to read you enjoyed our room and that you found it huge. Our standard rooms have an average of 35 squared meters to guarantee 100% space and comfort to our clients although this goal meant less rooms to sell when we built the building. We give priority to the comfort of our guests overall. Many thanks for sharing your recommendations about location, things to do and see that other possible clients from Trip Advisor may find if they finally choose our hotel for their stay in Madrid.
Once again, thank you for the comment and we hope to see you again at VP Hoteles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    71
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
86
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent six night at the Jardin de Recoletos and loved it. Our room wasn't overly fancy, but it was clean and huge by European standards (had a little kitchen area w/ a fridge, stove-top, microwave). Location was great! Right off the main Calle Serano but on a small side street, making it nice and peaceful. Easy to get to via the metro and great access to numerous metro stops and the Parque del Buen Retiro (fantatic place). One block over was a street filled with various restaurants. I'm not a shopper, but Calle Serrano is similar to 5th Ave/Park Ave in NYC. Amazing, high-end shopping. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel offered a wonderful breakfast (much to our surprise). While we loved visiting Mallorca Cafe around the corner, the hotel breakfast had everything you could want for a great price. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor. Loved it b/c we could avoid the elevator and just walk up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest
First of all, many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel. Thanks also for sharing your opinions about our location and the useful facilities you found in our rooms. Our staff works very hard to please you and we really thank you for recognizing our effort. We celebrate that you enjoyed our varied breakfast and that you found it reasonably pricy. We make a very big effort to offer a wide varied homemade buffet breakfast at a good price and we are happy to read that our guests appreciate it. Many thanks.
It will be nice to see you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of October and really chose the hotel based on consistent reviews here. I have no regrets in choice but it would have been useful to know certain things, like there is a kitchen with no kettle, no major drama but a nuisance to boil a pan. Also there is no coffee/tea provided, but soft drinks and water are in the fridge for your first night which is handy. The rooms are pleasant, spotlessly clean and comfortable. For once the sofa bed my son slept on was a proper sprung mattress and was comfortable - my gripe is always paying extra for a 3rd person to be in a room and they may as well sleep on the floor the extra beds are so rubbish, but this is not the case here. The sound proofing is rubbish, our next door neighbours liked to watch tv at a rate off the scale at times but we coped as we were so shattered from being so busy we didn't always notice. Check in/out was straight forward and efficient with no issues. We didn't have breakfast included in our rate and were offered a deal of 9.95 euros per adult/6.95 per child if we took it at check in. We took this for one day and then went elsewhere. Breakfast staff were rude and unhelpful, and the dining room has the atmosphere of a morgue. The coffee and tea are from a machine and are not great at all and the fruit/cold meats etc were dry and unappetising. We ordered omelettes that were over cooked, rubbery and bland. Overall breakfast was worth missing. Just 2 minutes walk to the end of Serrano are cafes that make great breakfast for a fraction of the price and are good and so much better than the hotel. I found most of the staff rather unpleasant apart from the concierge Luis who is a star and so so helpful with all of your stupid questions. I may have sounded negative at times here but we had a very positive stay and the issues we had were not unsurmountable. The hotel is in a super position, within walking distance of lots of sites but also 2 minutes to metro stations and the Madrid city bus tour two routes. It is a safe area with lovely shops, restaurants and bars on your doorstep. I would recommend it for a stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest,
We are grateful for your response towards our Hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor.
We apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered during your visit. We are currently working on upgrading the sound proofing details.
We are sincerely grateful for all your comments regarding our check in/out system. Nevertheless, we still want to apologize for all the bartenders that have made you feel uncomfortable along with the food that was not up to your standards.
Thank you for acknowledging the benefits that come along due to the location of our hotel.
We have sent your comment to Luis, and he is thankful for your response.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in any of our VP Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Jardin de Recoletos is perfectly located, in Salamanca area. Very close to main avenues, and metros. Its position in a one block inner street makes for a peaceful place, half a short block from main street. Rooms are great, have all you may need for short and long stay, kitchen, micro, fridge, all!. Bets very comfortable, Clean and well kept. Lobby areas very good, restaurant, great breakfast. Staff is veeeery helpful. Stay there!

Room Tip: Any room is fine, ask for a big one in upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest.
First of all, many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel. Thanks also for sharing your tips about location and our rooms. Our staff works very hard to please you and we thank you for recognizing their effort. We celebrate that you enjoyed our varied breakfast.
It will be nice to see you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we booked a six-night stay in early April for late October, we had read many good reviews of the Jardin de Recoletos. We arrived late after a long, multi-stage trip from Italy, found a helpful and friendly reception clerk, had a good light supper at the bar, and went to bed in a comfortable, well furnished room. We left for another hotel the next morning.
We are not insomniacs and have no trouble sleeping through train whistles, sirens dogs barking, and late-night joggers at home. So we were asleep when the people in the room above arrived at 1:30 a.m. Suddenly awake, we heard furniture scraping, heavy footsteps, and during the interminable period before they went to bed, speculated that it was an overweight couple, he wearing heavy brogues, she in high-heeled boots.
After our return home and re-reading the 31 reviews posted during the year before we chose the Jardin, I found only two mentions of noise. But a review of posts during the half-year after revealed nine complaints of poor soundproofing and noise. My hypothesis is that a near-sighted Vice President of VP Hoteles had the carpeting removed sometime after early April without anticipating how bare floors would amplify noise. As penance, he should spend a few nights in several of the Jardin's guest rooms. He should encounter the noise problem first hand and may even learn that the bedside lamps are too low for reading.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last September and was really surprised by its location.
The neighbourhood is up-scale, with plenty of boutiques and restaurants.The beautiful park Retiros is a walking distance and it is also very close to Gran Via and tourist atractions such as Museo del Prado. Although the rooms are old fashioned, they are comfortable and klean. They also offer a nice breakfast buffet, but there are several options nearby. I highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest.
First of all, many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel; many thanks for sharing your recommendations about location, things to do and see, proximity to the major city attractions and our complete buffet breakfast.
We hope to see you again in VP hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in Jardin de Recoletos for 5 nights in October 2012 after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor. It's wonderfully located in the upscale Salamanca area, 5 min from a Retiro metro station and 3 min from the Recoletos train station (convenient for taking train to and from airport or to connect to Atocha, one stop away and then to Toledo etc), around the corner from the main shopping area and easy walking distance to both the Prado and the Thyssen Bornemiszra museums. It's also a lovely walk to the important sights such as Plaza Mayor, Real Palace etc from the hotel (between 20-30 min depending on how often you stop) but you could also choose to take the metro. It's also within walking distance to the Retiro park and many wonderful restaurants which are to the east of the park.
The room is large and comfortable with a lounge area and kitchenette on one side. The only complaint I have is that they should have provided a kettle or else you have to use the pot to boil water. We would have gladly washed our own dishes except they was no soap/sponge provided but the housekeeping washed and stored the crockery everyday for us
The concierge staff were all very helpful and professional, making reservations for restaurants for us, recommending day trips out of Madrid and patiently answering any query you may have. The breakfast buffet is amazing value at less than 10 euro if you confirm on checking in. You get a wonderful spread of fruit, juices, cereals, hams, lovely crusty breads, tortilla...much more food than you ever need. You can even order a cooked breakfast of scrambled/fried eggs with ham, bacon and sausages.
Overall we were extremely happy with our stay as it was not only great value but extremely pleasant. It suited us fine as we are not into partying and enjoyed the peaceful and safe location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest
First of all thank you for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that comments that other clients made at Trip advisor have been useful to you. Many thanks for sharing your tips about location, metro, museums and other cities close to Madrid. We are sure this advises will be very useful for other Trip advisor customers as they were to you.
We celebrate that you enjoyed our varied breakfast and that in general you had a positive experience.
Once again thanks for choosing VP hotels and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid
Address: C/ Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#57 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renewed in August 2013, our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel is just a few steps away from the Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library of Madrid. Its 43 spacious rooms, wonderful outdoor garden and excellent location in the center of Madrid, makes this recently renovated hotel in perfect choice of accommodation in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin de Recoletos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.