We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel at good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HRC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added HRC Hotel to your Saves list
HRC Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Angel, 18, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent hotel at good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in a room with terrace. The view from balcony of the top floor was amazing. Small but very functional room. clean and big bathroom.
Location of the hotel is very convenient. We could walk everywhere. You also have bus stops and metro close to the hotel.
Lobby is nothing to write about but rooms were definitely better. For around 80-90€ it was a good deal.
The breakfast was sufficient to get you started. few freah breads, great coffee and a juice. the guy in the restaurant was very nice. one day we were in hurry to catch train to toledo and he packed everything for us 'to go'. including bottles of juices, some fruits etc.
we had a very relaxed stay so i would definitely recommend this as a mid class hotel to stay in madrid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    125
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
55
137
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located just around the corner from the gorgeous Basilica San Francisco El Grande and one of the bus-stops of the hop-on-hop-off tour buses as well. It's also walkable distance (15 mins or so) to the central area of Puerto Del Sol. So I'd give pretty good marks for the location. The triple room we had was fine, not too small and the bathroom was quite pretty. The housekeepers were friendly and always greeted us along the hallway. The staff at the reception area weren't all that friendly though; the check-in was basic and obligatory and I had to ask the guy to orientate me with what's in and around the hotel. The hotel I was in at Barcelona - Acta Ink 606 - had wonderful staff who automatically orientated me upon check-in. WIFI was free with a stable connection.

Room Tip: There is a pub downstairs. We stayed for 3 nights and there was a crowd and loud noise coming from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest.

First of all thank you for your comments, it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your stay in Madrid.

We try always to do our best. It was an honour for our staff to help you with the credit card issues you could have in Spain.

We hope you enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel. La Latina is the best place of Madrid to appreciate the quality of the tapas that are served in this city.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you will return to visit us in another time, meanwhile we are working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon once again at HRC hotel in Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights from 17Oct to 20Oct. The location of the hotel is off the central but its near to the Royal Palace. The neighbourhood is quiet. There is a stop for the city bus tour nearby. The staff in the hotel are friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 3 bedded room, it is big and roomy. Condition of the room and bathroom is good just that the bed is abit too soft and bouncy. Free WIFI is available but the wifi isnt very stable.
Overall we had a great stay there

Room Tip: Ask for higher level if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Opposite Cathedral in South part of Madrid so away from main tourist sites.
This hotel has a modern outside and underground car parking but at 12 euros per space was expensive. The rooms are dated 1970's chintz with full drop roller shutters to keep out the sun but even the secondary fit glazing didn't cut out the noise of the bar below, the street prostitutes shouting to each other followed by the early morning cleaners arguing at the top of their voices as they waited for the bus.
The airconditioning didn't work which made being battened down in the room even worse.
The breakfast was non existent in the cafe affair attached to the hotel.
All in all basic, turn up, don't sleep, don't eat then leave.
HRC stands for Hotel Reyes Catolicas (Catholic King Hotel) there are several in Spain but I don't know how they compare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Gerente at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest, first of all apologize for the problems you had. I take this opportunity to respond your comment because there are things that I not totally agree.
First off the hotel is located in the center of Madrid just 1 km from the Puerta del sol and as you know is the km 0 and center of this city.
Rooms have been refurbished and redecorated for only 1 year and a half, I feel that they were not to his liking but I assure you they are not 1970.
In this neighborhood there are no prostitutes, is a safe neighborhood and no problems. It is true that there is a pub and sometimes when young people go home or go to the pub can give some voice but isn't normal and are things of the age.
finally say that I also feel that our cafeteria is not to your liking but all our customers are satisfied and that's a good sign that things are done well.
In short, I feel that your stay was not pleasant and I hope we get another chance in the future to show that here we do things right and sometimes our mistakes but we usually try to make our guests feel at home and stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 22/ 08/2012 for 4 night. So what I am going to say here is a real updated one.

The hotel located in a nice quiet area although it is not very far from the main arractions. The bathroom is big and clean, plenty of hot water whenever you want to take shower. It says free WI-FI everywhere in the hotel but since our room is in the corner at first first, hence the singal in the room was very weak. I need to go to the corridor or the lobby to get internet connection. But it didn't bother me at all as you don't sit in your room to explore the internet all day long while you are on holiday.

Only 5-10 minutes walk to Royal Palace, My partner and I walked to Gran Via (the heart of city center)almost everyday. If you wanted to go to Plaza de Toros (Bullring arena) take the red metro from Opera to Ventos(its the easiest way you don't need to change). You will see the Plaza when you come out from the metro.

We bought 10 trips mentro tickets at airport for Euro 18 for two. Actually we didn't finish it because we walked to everywhere.

There is a club on the groudfloor. I was worried the noise when I read some reviews here. To be honest I didn't hear anything but my partner told me he couldn't sleep well only for one night because of the noise. But overall he is happy for his stay too.

We would recommend this hotel for everyone because it is in good location, nice friendly staff, free WI-FI., big bathroom, etc etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest.

First of all thank you for your comments, it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your stay in Madrid.

We try always to do our best. It was an honour for our staff to help you with the credit card issues you could have in Spain.

We hope you enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel. La Latina is the best place of Madrid to appreciate the quality of the tapas that are served in this city.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you will return to visit us in another time, meanwhile we are working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon once again at HRC hotel in Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is located not far from the center - just few minutes from Royal palace and Calle Mayor. We had nice cathedral view from our 3rd floor.
Bathroom is clean, room is not very big, but cosy. We had heard some noise from other rooms but it hadn't disturbed us.
Wi-Fi is free and mini-bar is also free (while booking via hotel website)
The price was reasonable, so we were satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We choose this hotel because of the location and we were quite pleased with it - walking distance to museums and very close to the Calle de la Cava Baja and good tapas - but the decor in the rooms were strangely quirky and it was quite loud The cafeteria on the first floor is not too bad though and the people who run it are very kind. Secure parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HRC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HRC Hotel

Address: C/ Angel, 18, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#115 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HRC Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This good-value hotel is in Madrid’s La Latina neighbourhood, famous for its tapas bars, cinemas and museums. The HRC Hotel offers free Wi-Fi in all areas. The hotel is in the historic centre of Madrid. The Almudena Cathedral, the Plaza Mayor and the Puerta del Sol are all a short walk away. The El Rastro Market area is also nearby, and Atocha Station is a 5-minute Metro journey away. All rooms have a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Fifth-floor rooms have a terrace with views of the San Francisco El Grande Basilica, with the largest dome in Madrid. The bar-cafeteria at HRC Hotel serves breakfast and a variety of snacks. The surrounding La Latina district has a range of cafes, restaurants and traditional tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HRC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reyes Catolicos Hotel
Hotel Reyes Catolicos
Reyes Catolicos Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HRC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.