We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Location but nowt else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HRC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added HRC Hotel to your Saves list
HRC Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Angel, 18, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Handy Location but nowt else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Opposite Cathedral in South part of Madrid so away from main tourist sites.
This hotel has a modern outside and underground car parking but at 12 euros per space was expensive. The rooms are dated 1970's chintz with full drop roller shutters to keep out the sun but even the secondary fit glazing didn't cut out the noise of the bar below, the street prostitutes shouting to each other followed by the early morning cleaners arguing at the top of their voices as they waited for the bus.
The airconditioning didn't work which made being battened down in the room even worse.
The breakfast was non existent in the cafe affair attached to the hotel.
All in all basic, turn up, don't sleep, don't eat then leave.
HRC stands for Hotel Reyes Catolicas (Catholic King Hotel) there are several in Spain but I don't know how they compare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Gerente at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest, first of all apologize for the problems you had. I take this opportunity to respond your comment because there are things that I not totally agree.
First off the hotel is located in the center of Madrid just 1 km from the Puerta del sol and as you know is the km 0 and center of this city.
Rooms have been refurbished and redecorated for only 1 year and a half, I feel that they were not to his liking but I assure you they are not 1970.
In this neighborhood there are no prostitutes, is a safe neighborhood and no problems. It is true that there is a pub and sometimes when young people go home or go to the pub can give some voice but isn't normal and are things of the age.
finally say that I also feel that our cafeteria is not to your liking but all our customers are satisfied and that's a good sign that things are done well.
In short, I feel that your stay was not pleasant and I hope we get another chance in the future to show that here we do things right and sometimes our mistakes but we usually try to make our guests feel at home and stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    125
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
55
137
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 22/ 08/2012 for 4 night. So what I am going to say here is a real updated one.

The hotel located in a nice quiet area although it is not very far from the main arractions. The bathroom is big and clean, plenty of hot water whenever you want to take shower. It says free WI-FI everywhere in the hotel but since our room is in the corner at first first, hence the singal in the room was very weak. I need to go to the corridor or the lobby to get internet connection. But it didn't bother me at all as you don't sit in your room to explore the internet all day long while you are on holiday.

Only 5-10 minutes walk to Royal Palace, My partner and I walked to Gran Via (the heart of city center)almost everyday. If you wanted to go to Plaza de Toros (Bullring arena) take the red metro from Opera to Ventos(its the easiest way you don't need to change). You will see the Plaza when you come out from the metro.

We bought 10 trips mentro tickets at airport for Euro 18 for two. Actually we didn't finish it because we walked to everywhere.

There is a club on the groudfloor. I was worried the noise when I read some reviews here. To be honest I didn't hear anything but my partner told me he couldn't sleep well only for one night because of the noise. But overall he is happy for his stay too.

We would recommend this hotel for everyone because it is in good location, nice friendly staff, free WI-FI., big bathroom, etc etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest.

First of all thank you for your comments, it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your stay in Madrid.

We try always to do our best. It was an honour for our staff to help you with the credit card issues you could have in Spain.

We hope you enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel. La Latina is the best place of Madrid to appreciate the quality of the tapas that are served in this city.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you will return to visit us in another time, meanwhile we are working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon once again at HRC hotel in Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is located not far from the center - just few minutes from Royal palace and Calle Mayor. We had nice cathedral view from our 3rd floor.
Bathroom is clean, room is not very big, but cosy. We had heard some noise from other rooms but it hadn't disturbed us.
Wi-Fi is free and mini-bar is also free (while booking via hotel website)
The price was reasonable, so we were satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We choose this hotel because of the location and we were quite pleased with it - walking distance to museums and very close to the Calle de la Cava Baja and good tapas - but the decor in the rooms were strangely quirky and it was quite loud The cafeteria on the first floor is not too bad though and the people who run it are very kind. Secure parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

HRC Hotel was a good value for a short stay in Madrid. The hotel staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, and it was a short walk to the Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, and the charming, tapas-bar-filled streets of the La Latina neighborhood. We heard weekend partyers' late-night singing a few times, but nothing too disruptive. For those with a car: there was parking available (for 20 Euro/day), but the garage entrance ramp and the parking space itself were so tiny we couldn't use it and ended up having to pay 28 Euro/day for the public garage a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I selected this hotel to be within walking distance of the palace and it was. Not only was it close but it was a straight route - 20 min. It was also within walking distance of the city centre - Puerta del Sol. The hotel so well situated was obviously not new, but was nicely renovated recently. The embroidered towels were as nice as what you would find in a five star hotel. The room was tiny - but recently refurbished. The place was very secure. You need to ring the door bell to enter, even during the day. They tried to sell me a continental breakfast for 12 euros. Obviously a tourist trap. I did have my breaksfast in the hotel "cafeteria" - which I would translate more to snack bar. A coffee and a ham and cheese croissant costed 5 euros "a la carte". I would recommend the place for its location - the staff was friendly - spoke good english - and it was extremely clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I just booked through Booking.com. I selected this hotel because trip advisor said it has free parking. I noticed on my receipt that the hotel charges E 20 per day for parking. Booking.com would not let me cancel the reservation even though i omnly made it 2 minutes before i called.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear RobfromVA,

Firstly I would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We have now finally been able to correct the information on our Tripadvisor entry.

In addition I hope that you have received the cancellation confirmation from Booking.com for which we waived the cancellation fee as soon as we were informed of your situation.

I hope that wherever you stay in Madrid you enjoy your stay in our lovely city.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HRC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HRC Hotel

Address: C/ Angel, 18, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#115 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HRC Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This good-value hotel is in Madrid’s La Latina neighbourhood, famous for its tapas bars, cinemas and museums. The HRC Hotel offers free Wi-Fi in all areas. The hotel is in the historic centre of Madrid. The Almudena Cathedral, the Plaza Mayor and the Puerta del Sol are all a short walk away. The El Rastro Market area is also nearby, and Atocha Station is a 5-minute Metro journey away. All rooms have a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Fifth-floor rooms have a terrace with views of the San Francisco El Grande Basilica, with the largest dome in Madrid. The bar-cafeteria at HRC Hotel serves breakfast and a variety of snacks. The surrounding La Latina district has a range of cafes, restaurants and traditional tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HRC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reyes Catolicos Hotel
Hotel Reyes Catolicos
Reyes Catolicos Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HRC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.