We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HRC Hotel

Save Saved
You added HRC Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HRC Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Angel, 18, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small rooms but good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is located not far from the center - just few minutes from Royal palace and Calle Mayor. We had nice cathedral view from our 3rd floor.
Bathroom is clean, room is not very big, but cosy. We had heard some noise from other rooms but it hadn't disturbed us.
Wi-Fi is free and mini-bar is also free (while booking via hotel website)
The price was reasonable, so we were satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    111
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
113
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We choose this hotel because of the location and we were quite pleased with it - walking distance to museums and very close to the Calle de la Cava Baja and good tapas - but the decor in the rooms were strangely quirky and it was quite loud The cafeteria on the first floor is not too bad though and the people who run it are very kind. Secure parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

HRC Hotel was a good value for a short stay in Madrid. The hotel staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, and it was a short walk to the Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, and the charming, tapas-bar-filled streets of the La Latina neighborhood. We heard weekend partyers' late-night singing a few times, but nothing too disruptive. For those with a car: there was parking available (for 20 Euro/day), but the garage entrance ramp and the parking space itself were so tiny we couldn't use it and ended up having to pay 28 Euro/day for the public garage a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I selected this hotel to be within walking distance of the palace and it was. Not only was it close but it was a straight route - 20 min. It was also within walking distance of the city centre - Puerta del Sol. The hotel so well situated was obviously not new, but was nicely renovated recently. The embroidered towels were as nice as what you would find in a five star hotel. The room was tiny - but recently refurbished. The place was very secure. You need to ring the door bell to enter, even during the day. They tried to sell me a continental breakfast for 12 euros. Obviously a tourist trap. I did have my breaksfast in the hotel "cafeteria" - which I would translate more to snack bar. A coffee and a ham and cheese croissant costed 5 euros "a la carte". I would recommend the place for its location - the staff was friendly - spoke good english - and it was extremely clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I just booked through Booking.com. I selected this hotel because trip advisor said it has free parking. I noticed on my receipt that the hotel charges E 20 per day for parking. Booking.com would not let me cancel the reservation even though i omnly made it 2 minutes before i called.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear RobfromVA,

Firstly I would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We have now finally been able to correct the information on our Tripadvisor entry.

In addition I hope that you have received the cancellation confirmation from Booking.com for which we waived the cancellation fee as soon as we were informed of your situation.

I hope that wherever you stay in Madrid you enjoy your stay in our lovely city.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a simple hotel well located near the tourist atractions in Madrid. The rooms are small but confortable.
You have metro station near the hotel and you can reach the plaza mayor in a 10 minute walking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I booked a room from Holiday Inn – Molins Barcelona, after the worst experience we decided to change our reservations in Madrid. We look for another hotel instead of staying at Holiday Inn – Madrid.

Luckily we found HRC and they have only 2 rooms left. We booked the room for 4 nights stay and WOW I am very delighted.

The rooms are quite small but very clean and well maintained. We have balcony and with a nice view. The hotel itself is small but the service, standards of the rooms, cleanliness, and service can rate into 4-5 Star.

Good location, great value for money (we have free Wi-Fi and free drinks in the mini bar –), unfortunately we never tried the breakfast.

I feel sorry for those people who had bad experience with this hotel. But actually it wasn’t the fault of the hotel it was just the culture in Madrid and people are really loud. But I advise for those light sleepers to make a request or comments when you book the room because I am pretty sure that HRC will do their best to accommodate the guest request. I haven’t book room with balcony but I did request to have a quiet room with nice view. And I’ve got the best room.

Over all it is wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All rooms on 5th have balcony. For light sleepers ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_HRC, Director General at HRC Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest.

First of all thank you for your comments, it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your stay in Madrid.

We hope you enjoyed the surroundings of the hotel. La Latina is the best place of Madrid to appreciate the quality of the tapas that are served in this city.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you will return to visit us in another time, meanwhile we are working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon once again at HRC hotel in Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HRC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HRC Hotel

Address: C/ Angel, 18, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#108 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HRC Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This good-value hotel is in Madrid’s La Latina neighbourhood, famous for its tapas bars, cinemas and museums. The HRC Hotel offers free Wi-Fi in all areas. The hotel is in the historic centre of Madrid. The Almudena Cathedral, the Plaza Mayor and the Puerta del Sol are all a short walk away. The El Rastro Market area is also nearby, and Atocha Station is a 5-minute Metro journey away. All rooms have a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Fifth-floor rooms have a terrace with views of the San Francisco El Grande Basilica, with the largest dome in Madrid. The bar-cafeteria at HRC Hotel serves breakfast and a variety of snacks. The surrounding La Latina district has a range of cafes, restaurants and traditional tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your HRC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reyes Catolicos Hotel
Hotel Reyes Catolicos
Reyes Catolicos Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HRC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.