We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place and Wonderful People” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast
Plaza de Las Cortes, 4, 7 dcha., 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 240 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place and Wonderful People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My first time in Madrid visiting the family and it is the best place to be if you are on a budget and want to get the best deal for your buck. The staff is amazing, helpful and sometimes funny ( I.e. Susana ).

Washrooms are bit tiny; however, you won't spend that much of time in them anyway (space is a luxury in Europe). Other than that the location is great next to many museums and local shops and market as well as the main plaza.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    87
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
117
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I just stayed at Lapepa for two days on a business trip to Madrid. It is a great bed and breakfast to stay in Madrid, centric to everything, accross the street from the Palace Hotel and the
Ritz, next to the Thyssen-Bornemisza museum and the Prado.

Rooms are well maintained and clean. The owners and staff create a family atmosphere that feels great and for a great price. I will make it my place to stay in Madrid from now on all my business trips.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma V, Gerente at Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Jordi,

Thank you for your charming words. It was great to have you with us, and we all hope that your business in Madrid go ahead and you can visit us frequently.

You know this is your home.

Best regards from Lapepa team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Lapepa chic, mainly due to the convenient location and the friendly staff. It was easy to get anywhere we wanted, including to and from the airport. There are also two casual places to eat just next to the hotel which is useful if you have been sightseeing all day. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and were happy to help.

Some of the rooms can be a bit small so if you are traveling with a lot of luggage you might want to ask to stay in a larger room. The shower is also a little cramped and the bathroom door is flimsy so you can hear everything happening inside, but I really liked the common area where there is always water and tea and coffee and you can sit and hang out.

I would definitely stay here again, just don't bring too much stuff!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might want a room in the back that is farther from the reception/bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma V, Propietario at Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Sally,

Many thanks for your kind review.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope see you soon ... maybe in Estambul :-)

Warm regards from Lapepa Chic b&b Team

Paula, Susana, Carlos and Irma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVG
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

the bed and breakfast is wonderful located, you can easily reach all the museums and the most interesting spots. From the airport you can catch the express bus (5€) , get off at plaza de cibeles and in five minutes walk you are at the b&b
People super nice and welcoming. the room is squeezed and the inside bathroom privacy is a mere glass door, not so much for one' space
Breakfast is basic but nice and you can help yourself in the afternoon for a tea..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We spent two weeks visiting Northern Spain and at the end our visit we stayed two nights at Lapepa in Madrid.
The great thing about this B & B is the location. Unfortunately, it stops here.
Our trip and hotels were well researched and our party of four were in no way expecting grand accommodations at this price. The rooms are clean and indeed very, very small. There is, (and by no means the hotel's fault), an odor due to the drainage/sewage system. Madrid is after all an old city. However, due to the size of the room and the proximity to the toilet, it is very noticeable.

The service during the weekend was poor. The young lady who was at the desk seemed as though she wanted to be elsewhere. There is a family style table set up where in the morning coffee and toast are offered. There were other guests there and the one pot of coffee that the young lady put out went quite fast. She made no effort of making a new pot or to be of service whatsoever. Her poor attitude really dulled the atmosphere!
When we were leaving on Monday morning, there was another young lady at the desk. Her greeting was very friendly and although it was very early, there was coffee made which she offered along with toast, ham and cheese. This was the kind of friendly attitude we had experienced for two weeks and only saw it at this B & B for a very short period that morning.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Maine
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our group of 4 stayed 2 nights at Lapepa Chic, after 2 weeks of traveling in Spain. The location is fantastic, right in the center of things. And we found it easy to park our rental car not far away. Another plus is the decor: Bright and modern, with new furnishings. But the bedrooms are tiny. It's much like being stuck in a small, interior cabin on a big cruise ship. The two rooms we were given barely had enough space in which to unpack our bags and then turn around. The one where my husband and I stayed only had a window that looked into an air shaft, so was claustrophobic. Plus the air conditioning didn't work for our stay, despite repeated attempts to get it fixed. So our room was musty and warm. The front desk is staffed only some of the time. As a result, it is hard to resolve issues that come up . And the folks we dealt with gave the impression of not really caring or even wanting to talk, even though 3 of the 4 in our group are native Spanish speakers. Frankly, I am surprised at the rave reviews given by most others on TripAdvisor. Maybe for single travelers, or for folks with few bags, this is a totally different experience. But I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's a very chic place indeed. close to everything and right in the center of all the actions, only have hoped I stayed longer. I was able to book a room for myself with my own washroom, even though there were no big closet for clothing, which is no problem for me since I travel really light. but it might be of an issue if you don't travel with just a carry-on. Love the service there, people are friendly, but not trying to be your best friend. The only thing is that there is no early breakfast services like in the transitional B&B. This is really more of a hotel-like B&B.

Room Tip: the only rooms have a view of the Plaza Hotel are 2 double and one quadruple occupancy; I think room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast

Address: Plaza de Las Cortes, 4, 7 dcha., 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened last september 2011, lapepa chic b&b in Madrid is one of the best affordableaccommodations in Madrid. We are located in the centre of Madrid and we have paid close attention to each and every detail to create a comfortable atmosphere for our guests at interesting rates.Both rooms and common areas of our Madrid Bed & Breakfast have been designed bearing in mind not only their external aspect but also functionality. All of our Madrid holiday accommodations provide a quality resting space, and therefore offer a powerful shower, excellent bedding and 100% cotton bed linen (bed sheets and towels). Lighting and air conditioning/heating, which are managed independently from each room, complete the comfort atmosphere offered by Lapepa chic b&b ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapepa Chic Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.