We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location och cleanliness (pro's)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regente Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Regente Hotel to your Saves list
Regente Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mesonero Romanos 9, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Nacka, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location och cleanliness (pro's)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pro's - location, familyroom renovated and spotless clean, + friendly maids, beds are hard but two out of four loved them.

Con´s - expensive wi-fi, sound from corridor, not so much response from reception- or breakfast staff.

I know it is free wi-fi if you book the room via the hotel website, but the hotel came with our football tickets (prebooked) so we could not choose. 10 E per day or 2 E for some minutes is a bit expensive. I am sure the hotel could be rated 4 stars in the future with slighter better breakfast selection and a little more attention from the reception, plus free wi-fi. The building, location, rooms and cleaning are so good.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    338
    226
    83
    32
See reviews for
175
292
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here over the Easter break, the room was small but nice hotel with friendly staff both at the reception and housekeepers with an excellent free Wi-Fi connection. . Hotel Regente is a good place for travelers looking to explore the city It is located just within 3 mins walk to the Gran Via Metro, All museums are also close but one may prefer to take subway (4 stops), It takes less than 5 min to get to Sol and about 10 min to Plaza Mayor. It is also at a good spot for shopping you have Zara, Mango, H&M, Pull & Bear, Oshyo etc. right at your door step. For the location I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Regent Hotel has a good location, very central and near the subway. The breakfast is good, but the attendance was rude... The team in the morning was not kind, although the team in the night was ok. The room is fine, clean but the window doesn't have a good light block.... The bathroom is clean with a good shower.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Hotel Regente over the Easter break with my partner and son. It's only about 15 mins by taxi from the airport and the hotel is in a great location near to shops, resturants and bars. So that's the good bits!! The hotels appearance is very nice externally. Once you enter you are met by the receptionists who obviously don't know how to crack a smile or to welcome you!! The rooms are VERY basic and pokey, the 3 of us were crammed in and it was very stuffy so hate to think what it is like in the summer. Unfortunately it's extremely noisey, doors banging from adjoining rooms from 7am but worst of all you can hear mainly everything from the bathrooms of the rooms next to you!!! Say no more!!!! The beds were so uncomfortable too. For wifi it's €10 euro per day.Breakfast was ok, nothing more and nothing less than ok! There is a little cafeteria with a lovely lady serving in there, nothing is too much trouble and maybe the other staff could learn from her. I personally wouldn't stay here again and don't think its suited for families, simply for the noise factor. the rooms have no tea / coffee facilities, iron, mini bar etc . There are lots of nice places around the hotel to visit but do your research prior as there is no information in the hotel such as flyers showing points of interest. We didn't attempt the metro but there are plenty of taxis around if needed. To round up Madrid is a lovely city, Regente in my opinion is a 2 star and the only positive is its location.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wouldn't recommend. Poor wall proof. The service is the worst, bad attitude. Very close to the centre. But if I got another chance. I rather book another hotel. wont come back next time. Ruined my day

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I have been staying at the Regente for about a decade now and it has become one of my favorites in Madrid. It is located half a block from the Gran Via (Madrid's 5th Ave) and very near Puerta del Sol. A Corte Ingles (Spain's Macy's) is just around the corner and there are eateries galore all around. The Callao Metro is about a block away. The rooms are very clean, average size and functional but not luxurious, with private bathrooms, TV and all the usual amenities. Prices are good and you can get a bargain if you shop for it. The staff is professional and it is pleasant to see the same faces year after year. My wife and I visit Madrid at least once a year and have never had but good reasons to return to the Regente. Don't forget, though, this is Spain and Spanish is the official language so don't expect people to cater to you in any other language. I have found that your attitude will be the determining factor in getting the best possible service at hotels and restaurants. Ugly Americans just like ugly Germans, French or Russians should probably do everybody a favor by staying at home. Hotel Regente is an excellent value for the money and I would not hesitate in recommending it.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The writer seems to think that hotel policies (internet charge, no washcloths, putting room key in slot to turn on electricity, etc.) were aimed at her because she is black. How ridiculous! It's not fair to smear this nice hotel because of mistakenly perceived notions of racism.
I have stayed at this hotel twice and in two weeks will be going back for a third time. The Regente is clean, affordable, and in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regente Hotel

Address: Calle Mesonero Romanos 9, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Regente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regente Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regente Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.