We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de las Acacias 40, 28005 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #179 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“City break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We took a 2 night break in Madrid using hotel points. The safe did not work in the room but the guy on the desk went out of his way to help us out and had it working the next day. Meanwhile he let my wife use a hotel safe deposit box, no charge. I wish I had gotten his name so I could write him a personal review to the hotel manager, he deserves it and more. He is a credit to Holiday Inn. The hotel was clean and though we did not use the restaurant for dinner, the breakfast was very nice. We used local bars and places to eat which are all in easy reach and with good food at good prices. The place right across thr road on the corner was a favourite, we went there twice.

Room Tip: We found the a/c did not appear to work but what I discovered was the thermostat was in reverse. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    137
    58
    13
    6
See reviews for
53
106
22
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Location and the courteous staff are the only reason I gave it two stars. This thing is ugly and terribly dated. It needs a complete update, as it isn't even close to what we expect for an urban Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel would be an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest
We thank you for taking the time to share your expressions about the Holiday Inn Madrid Piramides. We are very sorry to learn that you think we have deteriorated. Your comments are very helpful and will be shared with our Management Team for awareness. We are happy to read that you liked the convenient location of our hotel and provided you with attentive service.
We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Madrid Piramides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed several times over past year in this hotel, friendly reception, good breakfast. Easy access to parking of hotel. Located near Latin quarter Madrid where you find many great restaurants. Metro next door.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located adjacent to a metro stop. Nice rooms and small elevators but at least there were three. Good breakfast. This hotel is in a quieter rio area of Madrid. Explore both the old and modern bridges and new gardens just down the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

It sits right by a metro entrance covered in graffiti (what isn't in Madrid?) and is 20 mins (uphill) from the Prado. It was not a tourist area and it is situated in a neighborhood that felt comfortable yet urban. We were pleasantly surprised with its location...by fluke we chose well. If you want to stay in a spot that doesn't reek of touristy stuff...this is your hotel.

It is dated yet charming in a typical European hotel way...definitely did not feel like a Holiday Inn. We were upgraded both nights (at beginning and end of vacation) and found the staff to be wonderfully helpful. The only true negative was the horrible wifi (which seems petty, however, as an IHG member I got a survey on the hotel and was specifically asked about the wifi...so don't feel bad for mentioning here)...really bad wifi....when far from home, the Internet is a primary way of staying connected with friends and family.

The parking garage was convenient and oddly empty. FYI don't trust your rental car's GPS to get you from airport to hotel...get a map, study it, use two smartphones...and don't arrive the day of the Madrid Rock n Roll Marathon...which goes right by hotel...yeah it was an experience.

Room Tip: if you are upgraded to an executive suite in the 100s...you will be oddly surprised to find large em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were told that we'd had a 'platinum upgrade' but were unable to determine what this had given us - the room was exactly the same as the other doubles. Great location for transport links with both a Metro and Renfe train station outside the front door. The city centre is a 20 minute walk from the hotel. The decor was a little old, the bathrooms in particualr could do with an upgrade. If travelling from the Airport I suggest getting the train from terminal 4 rather than the Metro from Terminal 2. The train is direct and takes 35mins whilst the Metro takes 3 different changes and takes over an hour.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Ant_Jack,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. I am sorry that you found our decor a little old and the room accommodations did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This Holiday Inn is not right in the centre of Madrid, but has excellent transport links to both the city and the airport as there is a suburban train and metro station right outside. The journey from Terminal 4 at the airport direct to Piramides Station on the Renfe train takes 35 mins door to door and costs about 3 euros. The hotel itself is of the standard you would expect from Holiday Inn, the room was clean & tidy and the breakfast was plentiful with both hot (sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs) and cold (cereals, cold meats, pastries) dishes. Two minor drawbacks, the main restaurant was not open during my stay-you could only eat in the bar area and the bar service was at times slow.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides

Address: Paseo de las Acacias 40, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides Hotel Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Piramides Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Piramides Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.