We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place that not even words can describe it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Madrid to your Saves list
InterContinental Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Such a great place that not even words can describe it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Awesome place with great service! I loved the location and room. The rooms were very clean and very well equipped. Also, the consiguer service was great! If you are in Madrid and want a great place to stay in then this is it. I slept like a baby when I was there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    265
    96
    23
    16
See reviews for
109
321
61
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This hotel absolutely delivered on the great reputation the Intercontinental brand holds.

The staff were consistently warm, welcoming & helpful. They had great knowledge & advice in terms of things to see & do, and would kindly follow up in the evening to see if we had enjoyed the day.

Our room was immaculate, spacious & comfortable - what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. Very pretty & elegant decor!

For shoppaholics - definitely a hotel to consider. This hotel is conveniently located about a 5 minute walk to Salamanca, a long street with no shortage of designer labels & up-market Spanish boutiques. You will also find many cafes & restaurants along this strip as well. For those who prefer more accessible fashion, it's a few subway stations away from areas Gran Via & Sol.

The location was great in the way that it allowed us to remove ourselves away from the
hectic tourist crowds, but it was easy enough to travel and be in the centre of the crowd when we felt like it!

If we have to pick a flaw, then it would have to be the cost of WiFi - $25AUD per hour - very expensive considering WiFi is actually widely available across Europe and not a rare service. After having stayed at several other Intercontinental hotels during my long European trip, we have begun to accept that this just the way they price their internet service, no matter what country.

Overall a fantastic stay, and we would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments about our people and services.

We love our clients experience "an intercontinental life" so we are really happy to know you have enjoyed Madrid.

We remain at your disposal and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon.

Yours faithfully,
Anuka Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I stayed in the Intercontinental and have to say the service was absolutely fantastic. Each member of staff I came into contact with could not do enough to make my stay perfect.

The doormen made my trip - they were so genuinely polite and friendly.

Breakfast and evening meal was fantastic. I would recommend staying here if you go to Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel and people.
I will personally pass the information to our doormen team, they will be happy to acknowledge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Yours faithfully,
Anuka Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Do not doubt it if you can afford it.
Top 5 star hotel with a "Movie" Lobby and great staff.

Since the moment you enter by the door, Carlos will greet you and you wil feel you are in a special place.
Staff are great, Bellboys, receptionists, etc... have been working for many years and that is a good signal.
The concierge told me he was there for the last 35 years.
Room is great and breakfast is expensive 35 Euros per person + taxes.
There is a bar beside the hotel"como en tu casa" where you can find bkfst for 2 Euros and you will find also the hotel staff having coffee.

as I said, stay ther if you can afford it

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel.

As you commented, We are very proud of our team, they make possible our guests have a unforgettable stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Yours faithfully,
Anuka Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatzacoalcos, Mexico
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We arrived to the Intrercontinental hotel at Madrid after a very long trip and , we really enjoyed that our reservation and Priority memebership was honored , the hotel its a beautiful mansion right at the Paeo Castellana , but a bit far from the Museums and the Gran via area , but the place its nice and luxurius , the have a really niceejecutive louge and our room was large and well apppointed ,
restaurant its very nice and the food its one excellent , the bar in the evenings was crowded with Madrid and forerigh people.
i will lov to stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for staying at InterContinental Madrid and for your kind comments about our people and service.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,
Anuka Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Good Hotel. Not far from the underground station (Metro). You can easily get here from Airport via train, no need to get a taxi. Also the center of town is just 5-8mins train ride away.

Starbucks Coffee is across the road & open until 10pm. Also has a few restaurants around the Vicinity.

would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback and positive rating. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Madrid in the near future.

With best regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We spent an unplanned night in Madrid travelling back to the UK after flight disruption had left us stranded on the coast. We booked a room to accommodate 2 adults and 1 teenager on-line the day before we arrived in Madrid and were quoted a price for a room for 3 people. On arrival the hotel confirmed that we had a room for 3 people but then insisted that if we wanted the 3rd bed, a camp-bed, to be delivered to the room there would be an additional charge of 55 Euros. There was no mention on the website or on the confirmation that the price quoted (250 Euro plus Tax!) for the 3 person room would increase at check in if we actually wanted the third bed! It was late when we arrived and we were very tired, the room only had 2 single beds in it so we had no option but to pay up. Our journey home took 3 days, involved 3 trains and 24hrs on a ferry, everywhere we went people were extremely helpful and straightforward, except of course at the Intercontinental which left an unpleasant feeling of being ripped off. BEWARE.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Dear guest,

In the first instance, I would like to thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Hotel again during your recent visit to Madrid.

First of all I would like to apologize for the experienced you have suffered during your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences this has caused you.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Hotel on your next trip to Madrid.

Yours Sincerely,
Anuka Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Madrid
#16 Business Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#23 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#28 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century palace was the inspiration for this emblematic hotel in Madrid, situated on one of the city's most famed thoroughfares. Culinary delights include El Jardin with an exquisite menu overseen by renowned head chef José Luque. Bar 49 serves fine local wines and the city’s signature tapas. Ideally located in the cultural and business district, the hotel is minutes from the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, Real Madrid Museum and elegant Serrano shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.