We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star prices, four star service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Madrid to your Saves list
InterContinental Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Five star prices, four star service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

On the plus side, this is a lovely grand old hotel. Yes, it could use a little updating (older carpet, etc), but the location was great for easy access to bus/train in Madrid. Staff was very courteous.

My only issue is that the hotel and its amenities are priced for a five-star experience (20 euros for a glass of beer and wine/22 euros each for breakfast, etc.). While I understand that this typically happens in a five-star hotel, our experience didn't always match up with the five stars.

As an example, when we were guided to our room, there were a stack of dishes left by housekeeping from the previous guest that remained at our front door through the entire next day. The atrium area that our room faced was a great means to channel noise - and the management seemed unwilling to do anything about the loud talking that continued throughout the night, or even the banging of silverware (staff, perhaps?) during the day when we were resting (jet lag). Simple things, but they add up. I certainly wouldn't think twice about them elsewhere if we weren't paying these rates. .

I might consider staying here again, but I don't think it's too much to ask that five star prices produce a five star experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Latte4me,

Thank you for your review.

I’m happy to hear you liked our hote, facilities and location. However, I am certainly disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced in your corridor. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, as I suspect you saw through out the rest of the property. Your experience falls way below our standards.

Please reach out to me personally at manrique.rodriguez@ihg.com with your check in
date and confirmation number. With this information I can investigate what fell through in
the cleaning process and ensure it won’t happen again.

Also, before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!

Thankn you very much,

Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    266
    96
    23
    16
See reviews for
110
322
62
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in a suite at the 6 floor. The room was large very we'll furnished with a nice view. The bed was extremely comfortable.. I slept like a baby. The bathroom is large but old, not at the level or to 4 star hotel. However the internet connection work perfectly and the room with a double door is perfectly quiet. I could access the club lounge,the food is good and It is cosy. We can take your breakfast in a nice and quite area and the staff pampers you. The gym is well equipped but small, we need to go early in the morning. What I found fabulous is the staff.. When I left the hotel I forgot some luggages, they organize everything to deliver directly at home !

Room Tip: Ask for the room executive it is fat comfortablt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, General Manager at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Balto,

We are very happy to know you have had a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on trip advisor.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel you can find in all the area . The concierge is amazing and the best concierge I ever seen as I travel alote .the reception is very helpful and professional. From all the hotel I stay in for sure intercontinental Madrid is my favorite .

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, General Manager at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Loai A,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our Concierge and Reception Staff.

We wil be happy to share your comment with them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for three nights at this hotel. All the staff were excellent! They upgraded me to a club room. It was nice and spacious. The only thing was that the shower leaked every time I had a shower. Apart from that everything was great. The room service was great as was the bar downstairs. Will definitely stay here for my future trips to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Luvatl,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment shared on trip advisor.

I am sorry for the problem you experienced with your shower.

Thank you for your nice words regarding our Staff and services.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,


Manrique Rodriguez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a night on business. Good location. Decent service, albeit a bit impersonal Classic, early 20th century style - but needs to be refurbished as getting a bit tired to be honest (like many hotels in Spain due to the recession).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Skippy-rates,

Thank you very much for your comment shared on trip advisors.

Your opinion is vey important for us and will be taken into consideration. We would to share with you that we now updating our lobby and our gym has been completely refurbished some weeks ago.

Kind regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel in september, the hotel is very well located, just walking distance from Gregorio Marañon Metro Station, just one metro stop from the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium and very nice around.
Breakfast is very good and there are very good restaurants close by. Room was big enough, we got one with a huge balcony. Very clean and comfortable beds and pillows. We will stay here again when we visit Madrid again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Maria H,

We would like to thank you for sharing this experience on trip advisor.

We are very happy to know we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Have a great day,

Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here our last night in Madrid to make sure we were rested for the long trip home. The bed was very comfortable, and you get to pick your pillows. The bathtub was very relaxing. There was a little snack to greet us in the room. 20 euros for internet wasn't worth it for one night to me. My father in law recommended this hotel to us. The style fits him. We very much enjoyed watching the soccer match in the bar area and interesting tapas that come with the drinks. I would recommend this hotel for business, or if your main attraction is going to the stadium. You may get to see the visiting team as I did.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Phrogtours,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on trip advisor.

Santiago Bernabeu is only 15 minutes walking from our hotel, also you have really near Museo Sorolla, or Serrano Street if you like go shopping.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Madrid
#16 Business Hotel in Madrid
#20 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#22 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century palace was the inspiration for this emblematic hotel in Madrid, situated on one of the city's most famed thoroughfares. Culinary delights include El Jardin with an exquisite menu overseen by renowned head chef José Luque. Bar 49 serves fine local wines and the city’s signature tapas. Ideally located in the cultural and business district, the hotel is minutes from the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, Real Madrid Museum and elegant Serrano shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.