We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST LOCATION IN MADRID” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Madrid to your Saves list
InterContinental Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“BEST LOCATION IN MADRID”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Any comments about Intercontinental Hotels are redundant. They belong to the top 5 star hotels around the world. But my stay with my kids in Madrid deserve some special remarks: location, cuisine and concierge - my best personal regards to Mr. Carlos Sanchez, who's made his very best to make our stay unforgettable, and has become a great friend!
Also, Ms. Laura at front desk, a beautiful and attentive lady!
My special thanks to everyone at the restaurant and bar, fantastic cuisine and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Oriovaldo,

We would like to thank you for your visit and for your nice comments about our hotel and people.

Carlos, Laura and all the staff make the difference!

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    299
    102
    27
    16
See reviews for
128
381
65
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location, great service, great accomodation. Exprerienced and professional staff, friendly and helpful, probably one of the best concierge services I've ever seen. Vast and comfortable room, excellent sleep quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mr Vabrant,

Thank you very much for such a nice review!

Your words about our Concierge team make us feel really proud of them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again.

Kind regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

i stayed for two weeks in Intercon Madrid. the hotel is really beautiful from the inside, although entrance to the hotel does not really tell about the beauty inside. My room was facing the busy castellana street but was not bothered at all as the room is really very nicely insulated and sound proof. The lobby is really large and so warm and beautiful, with live soft piano performance during the week. The standards of service are those of Intercon. So no worries of surprises whatsoever. Really helpful staff. But everything, especially luxury, comes at a price of course. Enjoy.

Room Tip: If you like retired rooms, you can ask for a room on the backside of the hotel. they don't come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your helpful comments.

I am very pleased that you were so happy with your stay. I will forward your lovely review to the rest of the team.

Manrique Rodríguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Decent location on the main boulevard. Room was a bit dated but fine. Restaurant and breakfast was very good. Intercontinental has gebarlly good hotels in central locations and this one fit the bill as well.

Room Tip: choose avenue side rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us to improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Kindest regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is good, very close to a metro station. However, the facilities are average. Rooms are spacious and quite but dark. The common rooms - dinning room, bar, etc. - are nice, but the bar prices are outrageous.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

I have shared them with the rest of the team and taken them under consideration.

Once again thank you and hope you will stay with us on your next visit to our city.

Kind regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel conveniently located on the west side of the Castellana (Paseo) is within walking distance from the Bernabeu stadium as a matter of fact Barcelona team ussually stay there when playing Real Madrid Clean rooms great business atmosphere, small but cousy and confortable enough for American Standards. Not close to the historic center or shopping areas of madrid is still a geat place if you have already surf the city and just want to relax, watch a football game and meet for business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and thank you for the nice words. I have shared them with the rest of the team.

Comments like yours encourage us to keep up setting high level of services that our what our guest expect from us.

Again thank you and willing to welcoming you back in a short future.

Kind regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, united Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You can tell the quality of a hotel, not by its number of stars but by their service recovery. We checked in smoothly into our very nice club room and couldn't get the wireless internet to work. We rang an instant hotline for help and the very friendly Fatima guided us through it. A couple of hours later she rang again just to ask whether it was all in working order. That is super service.

The room was splendid and the club lounge very well equipped. Great breakfast with eggs made to order and of the highest standard. The breakfast pastry was remarkably good.

We liked the gym and the fact that check out time was 16h00 certainly helped, because our flight wasn't until the evening.

We shall most certainly be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank for you nice comment about our hotel and service.

Fatima is one of our stars!! She is working with us more than 10 years ago!

We will be very happy to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#16 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#20 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century palace was the inspiration for this emblematic hotel in Madrid, situated on one of the city's most famed thoroughfares. Culinary delights include El Jardin with an exquisite menu overseen by renowned head chef José Luque. Bar 49 serves fine local wines and the city’s signature tapas. Ideally located in the cultural and business district, the hotel is minutes from the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, Real Madrid Museum and elegant Serrano shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.