We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable bedroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Madrid to your Saves list
InterContinental Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barranquilla, Colombia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“very comfortable bedroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here twice and I have to say that the beds are so comfortable, nice pillows, very clean room and bathroom, definitely one of my favorites hotels and I hope I back someday again. Very good breakfast and food in general super good. Gym was ok, but what I loved more was the bed quality I really had a nice rest on it, it helped me to relax in my business trip there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed in our hotel and have had the opportunity to rest!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on Madrid very soon.

We wish you a MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Kind regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    299
    102
    27
    16
See reviews for
128
383
65
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel has all the attributes of a luxury one. I had the chance to have a spacious room, with a huge terrace that gave me the opportunity to enjoy a bit of the autumn sun. The room in itself was very comfortable, the room service at a very good level.
The breakfast around the patio is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and autumn in Madrid.

For us is a satisfaction to know that the expectations that you had have been met for such a valuable guest like you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

On the meantime we wish you a MERRY CHRISMAST!

A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was with my wife in Madrit for 3 days on our anniversary .The hotel is nice and staff very friendly and helpfull .
It is a bit disappointing that waiters in the restaurant doesn't speak english at all what is inappropriate for 5* hotel. However we had a great time. Will be back as soon as we improove our Spanish ;-) .

Room Tip: Inside room is very dark . Hard to see day light .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Your overall comments are extremely precious to us as it allows us to discuss concrete guest experiences with our teams.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
Kind regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were in Madrid for a 3-4 city break. The hotel is quite typical of an intercontinental. The reception is rather small but there is a concierge which were always helpful. The lobby bar is large with a pleasant atmosphere.

In general all staff were very friendly throughout the stay. The sunday brunch was excellent, I have to say the best I've ever had but in fact the hotel is famous for this in Madrid.

It isn't centrally located (centre about 4 km away) but located on a pleasant main boulevard leading out from the centre.

The hotel has a great gym but unfortunately no sauna or jacuzzi. A garage is also available.

I would recommend the hotel to prospective travellers.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are small. Try a different category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We are thrilled that your experience at the InterContinental Madrid has been so good. We take pride in knowing that we have become one of your favourite hotels in Madrid. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,

Kind regards,

A. Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have just stayed on business in this hotel for one night and found it to be perfect in all aspects.
I only booked a standard double for single occupancy owing to the high cost which with breakfast cost just over £200. However, the room was spacious and spotless with a walk in shower, bath and double sink, separate toilet with bidet and lounge area with sofa and coffee tabe one side and a writing desk the other.
The staff were very courteous and helpful and couldn't do enough for you.
The breakfast was amazing! There was just about everything you could imagine and was was of the highest quality that I have ever experienced in a city hotel before.

Room Tip: Expensive, but worth it of you wany luxury and a great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. Guest comments like yours really make us feel that all the hard work that we put into every guest visit, pays off.

We are thrilled that your experience with us has been so good resulting in an amazing overall experience in Madrid.

We sure will pass along your comment about our concierge staff. They are always at the guest disposal for any assistance that they can provide, whether it’s for dinner reservations, directions or tickets of any kind.

We hope to welcome you back very soon to our hotel,

Kind regards,

A. Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed a few times in this hotel recently. The rooms are very fine although it can be a bit noisy when you keep the windows open. Check-in and concierge were all friendly and willing to help, which is not always the case in Spanish hotels. The club lounge is a bit small but serves the purpose for a drink and for breakfast. The bar area is old fashioned but has some character. Especially the gym would benefit from an upgrade whilst also some of the other parts (eg restaurant) needs some new ideas.

Room Tip: if you are sensitive to noise ask for a room away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review of the InterContinental Madrid. It is always rewarding when guests takes time out of their day to let us know about their experience at the hotel.

We appreciate all your input about the areas that you think should be refurbished and we'll send your comments to the department in charge to look into it. We will also make sure that all your comments about the friendliness of our staff will be shared with them to ensure that they keep motivated and continue with the good work.

Hoping to welcoming you back very soon,

Kind regards,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

From my bedroom (number 422) I could hear outside traffic noise until 11:00 pm and the next morning from 06:00 am (I did not need to use my alarm clock to wake up). My bed was noisy when I moved (it reminded me a youth hostel bed in my student years). The gym is open 24 hours a day. There are 2 treadmills in English for a speed indicator in miles and only one in Spanish for kilometres. I have seen better and more modern equipment in other hotels. Quite honestly, given the luxury brand, I think the management could improve the rooms (noise insulating windows) and the gym (more modern equipment) wihout much of an effort. As for the rest nothing to complain about. The staff is very friendly and efficient, front desk provides fast check-in and check-out, room service is very good, concierge also good. The restaurant offers an excellent breakfast buffet that can be complemented with side orders à la carte without extra-cost. The gym is free for hotels guests. Despite the noise my bedroom was very clean and comfortable. I do not think that you can find a better hotel in Madrid for a similar cost. Because of the service, if I visit Madrid again, I will likely return to this hotel. I will insist in a different room to the back side of the building, preferably on a higher floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMadrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Madrid and for dedicating some of your valuable time to share with us your experiences during your recent visit to Madrid.

We appreciate your comments, assuring you that I have passed them to the corresponding Heads of Department involved, in order to take your suggestions under serious consideration to improve the issues that you experienced during your stay.
Also thank you for your kind words related to our staff that I will share with all of them and encourages us to keep up a high level of service.

Thank you again, and Obviously on your next stay, we will make sure to find you a more suitable location, where we hope you can enjoy a good night sleep.


Yours sincerely,
Juan Carlos Caballero
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Madrid
#15 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#16 Business Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#20 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century palace was the inspiration for this emblematic hotel in Madrid, situated on one of the city's most famed thoroughfares. Culinary delights include El Jardin with an exquisite menu overseen by renowned head chef José Luque. Bar 49 serves fine local wines and the city’s signature tapas. Ideally located in the cultural and business district, the hotel is minutes from the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, Real Madrid Museum and elegant Serrano shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.