We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a Madrid stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Madrono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added El Madrono to your Saves list
El Madrono
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   General Diaz Porlier 101, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€79 (EUR)
Ranked #14 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
Somerset
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great spot for a Madrid stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

A great hotel and astonishingly good value. Large comfortable room with easy access to the Metro (5 minutes away). I was surprised at how quiet it was bearing in mind it lies near a busy intersection. Room was well equipped and spotless and very modern. Staff were very helpful and there were a reasonable number of restaurants and cafes within walking distance.

All in all highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for writing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to read that we could surprise you with our spacious and well equipped rooms and as well as our great location in the quiet Salamanca neighborhood where you can find very good restaurants and cafés.
We hope to welcome you again at our VP El Madroño during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    97
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
96
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed for one month at El Madrono and I coudnt recommend it more. The room is large and very confortable, the staff is great, speak perfect english, and the location is perfect, next to great restaurants and the Diego de Leon metro station.

The hotel has a lovely garden, which is nice to wind down for a while. Breakfast is awesome, very fresh and delicious.

On the negative side, sometimes I felt the room could have better acoustic isolation. It was fine when I had quiet neighbors but when I had a little bit noisier ones, I was irritated from the noise. Another drawback is the lack of a gym in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our VP El Madroño with the Tripadvisor community. It is a great honor for us to read that you had a wonderful stay in our spacious and comfortable rooms and that you have mentioned our professional staff. Thanks for highlighting our lovely garden, an oasis in the heart of Madrid, and the great situation of our establishment in the quiet Salamanca neighborhood with a big variety of restaurants and cafés.
We like to inform you that we took note of your comments about the isolation for future improvements and we regret the possible inconveniences we may have caused.
Hopefully we can welcome you again at VP El Madroño.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This isn't a 5 star luxury hotel but it's definitely a great hotel for the price. Very spacious, clean rooms, helpful and pleasant staff, location is great because it's a comfortable distance to travel to major cites using the metro but still far enough away from all the chaos and the tourists and it gives you the opportunity to experience a local neighborhood. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for you positive opinion about our VP El Madroño. We are glad to read that you recommend our hotel for our main standards: professional staff, cleanliness and excellent location.
Thanks also for pointing our convenient communication with the metro and the advantages of staying at a local neighborhood
We would love to welcome you very soon again at our hotel,

Best Regards.
Sandra Serrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

There's much to like about this hotel, as it offers very spacious, comfortable rooms in a fantastic location for a very affordable price. It's a hard to resist combination.

El Madroño is in Salamanca, easily one of the most charming areas of Madrid and a perfect neighborhood to walk around. I'd recommend walking west, south or southwest from the hotel, but no matter in which direction you go, you'll run into nice, little restaurants. And the subway's right around the corner, which makes transportation incredibly convenient. (If you come directly from the airport, you'd only have to switch subway lines once.)

Like I said, the size of the rooms is one of the hotel’s main attractions. My wife and I were surprised to find that our facilities included not only a fridge and a microwave oven, but also a small kitchen stove. The decoration wasn't fancy, but it was modern, minimalist and sober. A few slight changes would be welcome, though. I would consider replacing the colder, nearly violet lights (which look a little bit depressing) for more white/yellow, cozier ones, not only in the room, but also in the hallway. I realize the hotel is using LED lights, which save a lot of energy, but they're also available in slightly warmer colors. (Tip: for a wide variety of LED lights, check out Ovalamp, on Calle Barquillo.) The art work – a bland, generic, stock picture of daisies – could be replaced too with something slightly more imaginative or even discarded all together. (Sometimes less = more.) These two changes would add points to a hotel that already offers great value. Speaking of value, free wifi with a decent speed was also included – always a big plus. Our bathroom was clean, and had an inviting, modern design. The air conditioning was quiet and worked perfectly, which was very much appreciated, considering that it was 38°F outside. In general, the hotel was silent at night and we got an excellent rest.

The staff at the reception and room service were very friendly and polite.

So the bottom line is that you can find in Salamanca more luxurious hotels with fluffier pillows and a more attractive lounge, but for the price (54-62 euros/night), El Madroño offers a deal that is hard to beat. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for comfort while not looking to spend a fortune.

Room Tip: At the time of our stay, a classic room went for 54 euros, while I newly renovated one went for only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the large opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor which gives to our reads a very detailed opinion of what a gust finds when arrives at EL Madroño.
El Madroño has in fact, all the facilities you have mentioned and we are very happy that you explained all of them carefully.
We are vey happy to read an opinion as motivating as yours which will help us with no doubt, to keep up with the good work.
We hope to see you very soon and to welcome al the trip advisor guests how might be reading these words.
Thank you again.
Sandra Serrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBelam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in July 2014. It was easy to access from the airport via the tube with only one change needed. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by an extremely helpful receptionist who could not do enough to advise us on where we should visit and eat in the short time that we stayed in the city. The hotel was clean, rooms large and modern and had everything that you needed including a toothbrush. The nearest tube station was a few minutes walk. We did not eat in the hotel as there was an amazing bakery just around the corner on the way to the tube station in which we preferred to pick up some breakfast on the go. The hotel is reasonably priced and the fresh flavoured water which is placed in reception each day was a nice touch. In short I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the excellent opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you found convenient our location and that our staff was nice and helpful to you.
Thanks for pointing out details such as the size of our rooms, the toilet amenities we set in our bathrooms and flavored water we offer for free at our reception.
It will be a pleasure to meeting you again at our VP El Madroño.
Best Regards,

Sandra Serrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We checked into the hotel, & WOW, the room far exceeded our expectations for the price we paid, the staff were friendly and helpful and despite it being a little way from the centre, its easily reached by the excellent metro system. The nearest station being about a minute away at Diego de Leon. Its also easily reached from the airport, about 30 minutes away with one change. Breakfast is optional at an extra cost, there's various choice and they will even cook a traditional English Breakfast on request, rather than it standing on a hot plate like some hotels. If i had to mention one negative and it is very minor, the Bathroom doors which are glass, are quite heavy and may prove difficult for an elderly person or child to open. I would have no hesitation in staying here again if i visit madrid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for writing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are celebrating that our spacious rooms could exceed your expectations and that you have highlighted the friendliness of our staff. Moreover we are happy to read that you have pointed out the great situation of our establishment in Salamanca neighborhood, very close to metro station “Diego de León” from where you reach the city center with a direct line and the airport within 30 minutes. Thanks for mentioning the excellent quality of our breakfast buffet with a big variety of fresh and homemade products and the possibility to order hot plates to your liking. Regarding your comment about the bathroom door, we regret the inconveniences we may have caused. The proprietary has been informed about it and will consider it for future improvements.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at VP El Madroño during your next visit to Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks in May while working in Madrid. I had a very nice big room, good wifi, small stove and a fridge. The room was very new, and spotless.The hotel is in a very nice area of Madrid. Safe at night, good restaurants, bars, shopping etc. A 4 minute walk (tops) to the Metro. A large (private) garden behind the hotel. The staff was very helpful. I really enjoyed my stay there and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great honor for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious rooms with free wifi and a small kitchen, very useful for families or longer stays. Moreover we thank you for pointing out the great situation of our establishment in the Salamanca quarter, a quiet neighborhood with good restaurants and shopping facilities. As you have mentioned the metro stop “Diego de León” with direct line to the historical center of Madrid is just a few steps away.
We are looking forward to see you again at VP El Madroño next year.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Madrono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Madrono

Address: General Diaz Porlier 101, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Salamanca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#48 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Madrono 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your El Madrono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Madrono Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Madrono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.