We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and stylish small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adler Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adler Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adler Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Velazquez, 33 | Goya 31, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€193 (EUR)
Ranked #52 of 457 hotels in Madrid
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable and stylish small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for several nights when we were visiting friends in the neighborhood. They recommended the Adler highly and I can see why. It is a wonderful small hotel in a smart - but not touristy - section of Madrid. It's clear that the owners take great pride in the property. The staff are first rate, very helpful and welcoming. The rooms (we stayed in two) are well appointed and maintained to a very high standard. Great linens and towels. Great service. Breakfast, which is the only meal we had in the hotel, is outstanding. (There are some wonderful small tapas restaurants on the local side streets that make for great places for dinner.) The Adler is within walking (long-ish) or easy Metro connection to all the places a visitor will want to go in Madrid. If you are going to Madrid, check out the Adler. If you like smaller hotels, I'm sure you will be very pleased with it as your base of operations.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the street side have good views without sacrificing quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    40
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
76
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in early October. The hotel is an old building at the junction of Goya and Velazquez in the Salamanca part of Madrid. Some find Salamanca a little far away from the main sights but that is precisely why I chose it. It is much less touristy and the main sights are just a very short metro/taxi ride away. You can walk to the Prado etc in about 10/15 mins.

This is a small elegant boutique hotel. The building is quite old, so the rooms have high ceilings, and those overlooking the road have tiny balconies. You can't really stand out on the balcony but can open the french doors and soak up the atmosphere. I had a room with a balcony, and once the windows are closed there was no discernible noise from the street. The decor is traditional, but in a classy sort of way, rather than feeling dated and old fashioned. The bathroom was very spacious, with double sinks, and a full range of toiletries. Some have commented on the showers - they are indeed very powerful and you need to ensure the shower curtain is in place before turning on the water. Rooms were very clean. A generous complimentary fruit basket was provided on arrival. Minibar is expensive as others have noted.

The staff were, without exception, excellent. I arrived at 11am bedraggled from the lashing rain, and there was no problem - the room was ready so I could check in. They even explained that there were two rooms available (with differing bed configurations) and let me choose my preference. They dealt with any queries in a very helpful manner, and all spoke English. We tried a number of their restaurant suggestions and they were all very good.

There are numerous restaurants close by, but they are not as densely located as in the very centre. Calle Jorge Juan is one block away and has a number of very good restaurants. Calle Lagasca, also one block away, also has a number of restaurants and bars. We did not feel the need to go into the city centre any night to eat and had very good food everywhere we tried in Salamanca.

I didn't try breakfast in the hotel, although it looked very good we were always too late - Pan Quotidien on Calle Hermosilla is a very good option close by, albeit not necessarily the cheapest option.

The metro station is literally just across the road, and pretty much everywhere in Madrid is accessible from the metro (the Metro now has a free app which is very useful - if you are lost it will tell you what metro station is nearest to you and will tell you the route to take to whatever metro station you select). You can easily reach the hotel from the airport on the metro in about 30 mins with only one line change.

Retiro Park is just three blocks away and is lovely for a peaceful stroll.

Overall, this is a lovely comfortable hotel, well situated in a posh area of Madrid, with lots of good restaurants and bars very close by. Much calmer at night than the city centre, but close enough to the centre that you can access it very easily. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Despite careful vetting for location and quiet, we found on our first night (of six) that the hotel we chose for our stay in Madrid was a dud. We were asleep when the couple in the room above arrived at 1:30 a.m. and proceeded to entertain us thereafter with their heavy footsteps and furniture moving. Though groggy the next morning, we repacked and got ready to move. We knew from prior experience that more nights of sleep deprivation would have ruined the rest of our stay.
Fortunately, we had the name of the nearby Adler from our earlier search and they had a room for us. While the Adler cost significantly more, it also provided significantly more comfort, service, and ...best of all...quiet and sleep. And its location at the corner of Goya and Velasquez, both major streets, is good. Half a block from a metro station and in the midst of Salamanca's chi-chi shops and their astronomic prices.
Our room was fully carpeted(not tiled), faced a concrete wall rather than a garden (as in the other hotel), and was totally quiet. We learned from the front desk that the Adler had been converted in 2000 from an office building, evidently by real professionals. It was well decorated, thoroughly soundproofed, and thoughtfully designed. The bathroom, for instance, had a central sink area, toilet and bidet behind a glass door on the right, a tub and separate shower stall (with a wood floor) on the left.
Housekeeping and front desk were both good. The cleaners were unobtrusive, the place was spotless. Front-desk people directed us to good nearby tapas places, restaurants, and the bus that goes to the Prado. They were all pleasant, efficient, and not at all harried.
Readers of these reviews will have seen some that criticize a five-star hotel for being unworthy of its five-star desisgnation. Our recent stay at the Adler convinced us, in contrast, that it is a real five-star hotel that fully deserves its rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you don’t like brash or tend to shrink from the latest in cool, but need a calm, comfortable base for a stay in Madrid, then the Hotel Adler is ideal. Unintimidating elegance, excellent service and quite comfort are the hallmarks of this superb medium-sized hotel located not too far from the city centre, close to some fine shopping streets and restaurants. A 20 minute walk will take you to the Prado. The building is 19th century so ceilings are high and rooms are large. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRAN
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

ADLER is a lovely boutique hotel,ideally located at the vibrant part of the city. Nearby you can find different shops, restaurants and bars and a big department store. 2 metro stations are at equal distance from the hotel to the left & right making everywhere accessible easily. The hotel itself is cozy and charming. Rooms are pretty large but the furniture and wallpapers are a bit tired. Bathroom was large and fully equipped and the water pressure of the shower was excellent. The quality of sleep was very good and despite the fact that my room was observing a crossroad in a rather busy part of the city , I never noticed any noise disturbing me inside due to a probably sound proof walls and windows. The restaurant was nice with a classic design. The breakfast was A la Cart and there was plenty of choices available and the service was the best out there. The staff were very polite & helpful. The room service was quite good. The minibar items were on the rather expensive side. Overall a nice and peaceful experience at ADLER and I will definitely recommend it for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Madrid. The staff were excellent, very helpful and courteous. They were always willing to give us recommendations when asked. The room was also very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Adler Hotel and overall the hotel was better than average. The service from the staff was great. They are very welcoming. The hotel is clean and it is located in a quiet corner.

Rooms:

The ceilings are high and the room is clean. The furniture is a bit outdated and the beds are comfortable enough.

The bathroom is very nice, well equipped and spacious.

The rooms have a mini fridge stocked with sodas, juices and beer among other items. It is EXPENSIVE. One can of Coca-Cola is 7 euros. I can walk across the street and buy 4 cans for the same price. I do not know why they charge so much. There are too many options around to pay such a premium.

Restaurants and Cafe's:

There are quite a few restaurants around. Our favorite was Cafe y Te right across the street. The price was right and the food was good.

Attractions:

The Plaza Mayor and other local spots are between 7 to 10 euros in a taxi. The area around the hotel is not that busy and not much to do around.

Overall:

The hotel is nice. The rooms are a bit on the outdated side but they are clean. The service is excellent.

We may try a different hotel on our next trip to Madrid. Not that there was anything really bad with this hotel.

Tip: The taxi ride to the hotel from the airport is between $27-$32 euros.

Safe Travels!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteladlermadrid, Director General at Adler Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Google Translation
Agradecerle sus comentarios positivos sobre nuestro hotel en general y en especial del trato del personal que a todos nos satisface.
Respecto al precio del minibar, informarle que es el precio medio de los hoteles de 5 estrellas. Existen como bien dice posibilidades más económicas comprando las bebidas fuera. Excelente cálculo de los precios en taxi hacia el centro de Madrid y del Adler al aeropuerto.
Le esperamos en una próxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Hotel

Address: Calle Velazquez, 33 | Goya 31, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Adler Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Adler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.