We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Five-Star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adler Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adler Hotel to your Saves list
Adler Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Velazquez, 33 | Goya 31, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Barrio de Salamanca)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Real Five-Star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Despite careful vetting for location and quiet, we found on our first night (of six) that the hotel we chose for our stay in Madrid was a dud. We were asleep when the couple in the room above arrived at 1:30 a.m. and proceeded to entertain us thereafter with their heavy footsteps and furniture moving. Though groggy the next morning, we repacked and got ready to move. We knew from prior experience that more nights of sleep deprivation would have ruined the rest of our stay.
Fortunately, we had the name of the nearby Adler from our earlier search and they had a room for us. While the Adler cost significantly more, it also provided significantly more comfort, service, and ...best of all...quiet and sleep. And its location at the corner of Goya and Velasquez, both major streets, is good. Half a block from a metro station and in the midst of Salamanca's chi-chi shops and their astronomic prices.
Our room was fully carpeted(not tiled), faced a concrete wall rather than a garden (as in the other hotel), and was totally quiet. We learned from the front desk that the Adler had been converted in 2000 from an office building, evidently by real professionals. It was well decorated, thoroughly soundproofed, and thoughtfully designed. The bathroom, for instance, had a central sink area, toilet and bidet behind a glass door on the right, a tub and separate shower stall (with a wood floor) on the left.
Housekeeping and front desk were both good. The cleaners were unobtrusive, the place was spotless. Front-desk people directed us to good nearby tapas places, restaurants, and the bus that goes to the Prado. They were all pleasant, efficient, and not at all harried.
Readers of these reviews will have seen some that criticize a five-star hotel for being unworthy of its five-star desisgnation. Our recent stay at the Adler convinced us, in contrast, that it is a real five-star hotel that fully deserves its rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelenthusiast070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you don’t like brash or tend to shrink from the latest in cool, but need a calm, comfortable base for a stay in Madrid, then the Hotel Adler is ideal. Unintimidating elegance, excellent service and quite comfort are the hallmarks of this superb medium-sized hotel located not too far from the city centre, close to some fine shopping streets and restaurants. A 20 minute walk will take you to the Prado. The building is 19th century so ceilings are high and rooms are large. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRAN
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

ADLER is a lovely boutique hotel,ideally located at the vibrant part of the city. Nearby you can find different shops, restaurants and bars and a big department store. 2 metro stations are at equal distance from the hotel to the left & right making everywhere accessible easily. The hotel itself is cozy and charming. Rooms are pretty large but the furniture and wallpapers are a bit tired. Bathroom was large and fully equipped and the water pressure of the shower was excellent. The quality of sleep was very good and despite the fact that my room was observing a crossroad in a rather busy part of the city , I never noticed any noise disturbing me inside due to a probably sound proof walls and windows. The restaurant was nice with a classic design. The breakfast was A la Cart and there was plenty of choices available and the service was the best out there. The staff were very polite & helpful. The room service was quite good. The minibar items were on the rather expensive side. Overall a nice and peaceful experience at ADLER and I will definitely recommend it for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehrdadnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Madrid. The staff were excellent, very helpful and courteous. They were always willing to give us recommendations when asked. The room was also very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndeanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Adler Hotel and overall the hotel was better than average. The service from the staff was great. They are very welcoming. The hotel is clean and it is located in a quiet corner.

Rooms:

The ceilings are high and the room is clean. The furniture is a bit outdated and the beds are comfortable enough.

The bathroom is very nice, well equipped and spacious.

The rooms have a mini fridge stocked with sodas, juices and beer among other items. It is EXPENSIVE. One can of Coca-Cola is 7 euros. I can walk across the street and buy 4 cans for the same price. I do not know why they charge so much. There are too many options around to pay such a premium.

Restaurants and Cafe's:

There are quite a few restaurants around. Our favorite was Cafe y Te right across the street. The price was right and the food was good.

Attractions:

The Plaza Mayor and other local spots are between 7 to 10 euros in a taxi. The area around the hotel is not that busy and not much to do around.

Overall:

The hotel is nice. The rooms are a bit on the outdated side but they are clean. The service is excellent.

We may try a different hotel on our next trip to Madrid. Not that there was anything really bad with this hotel.

Tip: The taxi ride to the hotel from the airport is between $27-$32 euros.

Safe Travels!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJRTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteladlermadrid, Director General at Adler Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Google Translation
Agradecerle sus comentarios positivos sobre nuestro hotel en general y en especial del trato del personal que a todos nos satisface.
Respecto al precio del minibar, informarle que es el precio medio de los hoteles de 5 estrellas. Existen como bien dice posibilidades más económicas comprando las bebidas fuera. Excelente cálculo de los precios en taxi hacia el centro de Madrid y del Adler al aeropuerto.
Le esperamos en una próxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is small and very well located. Rooms are very nice, service is excellent. It is located walking distance from shops, bars, cafes and the Retiro park. The hotel delivers good value for money and all in all is just a great hotel.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the facilities are somewhat lacking, which is not unreasonable given the size of the hotel, but still...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Adler is a hotel for adults who appreciate old world sophistication and formality without stuffiness. The decor is well thought out, rooms are extremely comfortable (thick walls, well soundproofed from traffic noise, good lighting, logical layout). The location is on a busy corner in a high end Salamanca neighborhood; but as soon as you enter the hotel, a restful calm takes over. Don't get put off by the fancy costumes of the doorman & staff. It's a lowkey and accessible staff. They even have an excellent restaurant, in one of the most beautiful dining rooms I've ever seen - cozy, conversation friendly, makes you want to dress up for dinner. Pricy, but quality. Madrid has become one of my husband's and my favorite cities because of this hotel!
The museums, Retiro Park & Salamanca shopping district are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that would be an issue given the attention to detail they put for customer comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lymepond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteladlermadrid, Director General at Adler Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Google Translation
Nuestro hotel tiene entre sus cualidades la de estar perfectamente insonorizado. Nos encontramos en un cruce, Goya con Velázquez, muy transitado y con mucho tráfico y apenas se siente ruido alguno desde el interior. Sus comentarios además nos halagan. Los calificativos lo dicen todo. Así también nuestra ubicación cerca de los museos, el Retiro, las tiendas y restaurantes de moda nos hacen ser particularmente atractivos. Nos vemos pronto en su próxima visita a Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#36 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#16 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#14 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#20 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
Chueca
Only You Hotel & Lounge
Only You Hotel & Lounge
#2 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Hotel

Address: Calle Velazquez, 33 | Goya 31, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#90 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Adler Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing