We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel for airport and Madrid Feria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Barajas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Barajas to your Saves list
Melia Barajas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida De Logrono 305, 28042 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
clevedon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for airport and Madrid Feria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here for a trade show and yes you have to accept that it is effectively a airport hotel. Convenient transfers from the airport and in my case the fair ground.

Limited options outside of the hotel for eating and hotel choice limited but acceptable - depends on how much you use a hotel for business.

Large rooms but a little dated like the rest of the hotel - could do with a makeover! Breakfast very good and overall expeirnce good, but only if you have things planned for the evenings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria eugenia g, E-Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barajas, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to comment on your experience. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best regards,

Eugenia Garcia
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    214
    65
    29
    15
See reviews for
65
128
55
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

At the end of November we were coming back from other European countries and chose this hotel for an overnight in Madrid and for its convenience to the airport including a very efficient shuttle service. The train stop is about 10 minutes walking and it takes you to Madrid center in some 30 minutes very good for a quick visit to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor and surrounding bars, museums and other attractions. We found it very convenient and excellent money wise to drop off the suitcases in the room, buy a train ticket to the city (we bought the 10 journey metrobus ticket for 9.30 euros) which we both used. Then, you do not have to worry about getting up earlier or allowing for longer travel time to the airport from the city plus cost of shuttle from the city.

The room was great, we chose a superior room for a few more euros. We had two showers, good size bathroom and room in general with a pillow menu and many more amenities.

Honestly, it works well for an overnight but I would not stay in this town for more than one night. The city has too much to offer and not to be missed.

We only had one visit to the restaurant which was terrible. The waiter was not happy to see us coming, disappear on us to the other buffet restaurant and we had to ask someone to go find him. He came back to give us a speech and to let us know that he was going to serve us "with conditions" and believe me, it was terrible but like I said earlier, there was no much around the area to choose from so we stayed for a quick bite and move on. I was so insulted that I did not eat anything, my husband had a sandwich. The wine was so bad and it seemed to be from a bottle opened a few days before. We asked for a better wine but the waiter refused saying that it was it by the glass. Strange, we were in Spain, a wine producer. We then drank water. This man was nasty and sarcastic to the end. The supervisor was not much help either.

We called the general manager next day and ended up talking to the Quality Control Manager who was a very nice and understanding person who profusely apologized, deducted the bill for the sandwich and offered 20,000 points to be used at any other Melia (not credited to my account yet). We made it very clear to the QA Manager that we were not looking to benefit from this situation, just to ensure that they knew of this situation and how badly a customer feels more when it is the first time at the hotel.

In fairness, we will say that the front desk personnel were very pleasant and efficient checking us in and giving us information needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria eugenia g, E-Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barajas, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to comment on your experience. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

Now already these same comments are helping us improve our day-to-day service. We are also provided with valuable information on your needs and expectations so we can serve you better in the future.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best regards,

Eugenia García
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

it is in good location, near the barajas airport and also the metro station, it was a good experience in this hotel as the service is good, and very clean and spacious room,i can recommend this hotel as i had a great time staying there, the next time i go madrid again i will definitely stay again in this hotel, :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria eugenia g, E-Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barajas, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Cleodyfrancisco,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to comment on your experience. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best regards,

Eugenia García
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I liked it for one night stay. They even gave me a smoking room. Really hard to find such hotels these days.

The room was bigger than I expected and the food was ok. They also have a bus to pick up from the airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maria eugenia g, E-Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barajas, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to comment on your experience. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Meliá Barajas in the future.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best regards,

Eugenia García Pastor
E-Guest Experience Manager
Meliá Barajas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stopped just for a night between long-haul flights. I phoned them once I reached the terminal exit and a hotel minibus picked me up within 10 minutes.

Room was nicely furnished and comfortable, although I had a bit of trouble keeping it warm, even after setting the thermostat to maximum. Room service dinner was delivered promptly and was enjoyable. The buffet breakfast was ok – not a huge selection.

The rate I found through Myhotelguru was very reasonable. Would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria eugenia g, E-Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barajas, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear walkabout59,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Meliá Barajas, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid.

Now already these same comments are helping us improve our day-to-day service. We are also provided with valuable information on your needs and expectations so we can serve you better in the future.

Best regards,

Euegenia García
E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On our way, we had a Stopover in Madris and we have made this choice, due its near Location to Airport. A classic Melia Hotel wit a good 4 Star Standard and we can recommend it to other Travellers. Typical Melia - in Morning was a very nice Breakfast served. There was a shuttle Bus between Hotel and Airprt Terminal available. Large Choice on TV.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights on company business at the nearby hotel, Shuttle to/from the airport was frequent, rooms large and well equipped with mini bar (not too expensive) and safe, plenty of hangers and a good choice of TV channels (mostly Spanish but lots of sport/football).
Enjoyed walking into Barajas of an evening and there was a good selection of restaurants/bars, out too early in the mornings to enjoy breakfast however there was always coffee/croissants (& Orange sometimes) by the lobby bar for those with early early departures. Really enjoyed my stay here and was disappointed when the hotel was fully booked the following week and we were placed in an inferior tryp hotel instead. Hotel deserved its 4 stars and entertained the Spanish U21 team for a night whilst were were there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria eugenia g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barajas, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to comment on your experience. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

Now already these same comments are helping us improve our day-to-day service. We are also provided with valuable information on your needs and expectations so we can serve you better in the future.

Thank you very much for your time.

Best regards,

Eugenia García Pastor
Guest Experience Manager
Meliá Barajas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Barajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barajas

Address: Avenida De Logrono 305, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Madrid
#90 Family Hotel in Madrid
#101 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#117 Business Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Barajas 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Barajas is located next to Madrid airport, the Congress Centre and the IFEMA exhibition centre and offers a magnificent outdoor pool surrounded by gardens, a private car park for the exclusive use of our guests, 229 rooms, and 14 meeting rooms fully equipped with the latest technologies and with natural light and capacity for up to 600 people.The personalised service and the excellent facilities at the Meliá Barajas make it the perfect option for your visit to Madrid for both business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Barajas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barajas Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Barajas
Sol Melia Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Barajas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.