We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a soulless bunker in the bar/restaurant area and overall disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Madrid Princesa to your Saves list
Melia Madrid Princesa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Arguelles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for MeliáRewards
Ranked #61 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
berkshire, england
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A bit of a soulless bunker in the bar/restaurant area and overall disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Here for one night on business trip. Thought the location would mean I could find somewhere convenient in the area to eat but as nothing around decided to eat at the hotel. The food choice was very poor and I ordered the menu of the day which frankly was awful. Room was ok but as other guests have mentioned poor choice of tv channels. Breakfast following morning was much better experience than the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    359
    131
    37
    21
See reviews for
193
432
54
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for business and felt it delivered but was nothing special.

The location is apparently central but there wasn't much to do in the very immediate proximity although spend a little more time walking and you are in the very centre of Madrid.

The hotel is located on a busy road but my room faced the other way and had a great view of the city and was very quiet.

Room was an adequate size with a comfy bed and good A/C. The room only had a bath shower although this was good and a powerful flow of water.

TV in the room was a good size but the choose of TV channels was fairly poor.

The hotel bar was nice with a steady flow of nibbles but the food in the restaurant wasn't up to my standards.

I like to go to the gym while travelling for work and they charged an additional amount for the pool which I thought was cheeky. The gym was ok but only had one working running machine which I couldn't use because someone decided to use it for a morning walk for over an hour but that's not the hotels fault. They need to modernise the gym and make the pool free for paying guests.

Wifi was very fast and free.

In summary, the hotel is adequate for business and holidays but felt it was over priced for what it delivered. They need to improve the gym and come up with a more ambitious menu in the restaurant aswell as improve the TV channel service then it would get better ratings.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great business hotel. Stayed there multiple times, and service is impeccable.I definatively recommend this place in Madrid. Close to the Placa d'Espagna and central to go and visit good restaurants, etc...

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear mirjam1204,

Thank you for recommending our hotel and for the time taken to write this review and share it with tripadvisor and us.

We will be delighted to welcome you at Meliá Madrid Princesa once again.

Best regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As you enter the lobby you immediately recognize that you are in a first class hotel. Staff are also accommodating and friendly.
Even the basic rooms are first class.
Breakfast is exceptional, an excellent way to begin the day
Normally I am ready to go home after a long business trip, but in this case I didn't want to go home

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear RiccardoElPaso,

Thank you ver much for sharing with us your experience at Meliá Madrid Princesa. This type of reviews encourage our team on the daily work, and help us become better.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to make you feel at home.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent four very nice days at the hotel – so here is what you should know.

1. If you book online, and you are not a member of their Rewards program – join it! You get a 5% room discount.

2. Although it’s not located in the middle of town – it is in a good location. You are right next to the Ventura Rodriguez metro stop, a 5 minute walk from Plaza de Espana park and 3 stops or 15 minute walk from Sol – the nominal center of Madrid. Plus the hop-on/hop-off tourist bus stop is about 2 minutes down the road.

3. The main hotel entrance is actually on a tiny side street, but once inside there is plenty of room in the lobby to sit in chairs and generally hang out. A taxi stand is just around the corner and the doorman can hail you one.

4. The Concierge Level (“The Level” is a nice upgrade and provides great personal service, good snacks/tapas throughout the day and is a quiet place to hang out if you arrive early. They even had two different types of decaf coffee in the expresso machine – a rarity for Europe.

5. Breakfast is a good, solid buffet on the first floor of the hotel. It offers a mix of Spanish dishes and standard fare. Although some other reviewers made snarky comments about serving hot sausage for breakfast I appreciated the choice.

6. Our room (1022 – very nice) was quite spacious by Euro standards. We had a large bed, big screen TV, glass work desk, table and a 2-person couch.

7. The bathroom was well stocked – complete with a heating rack for towels, a nice shower and a big tub right by the window overlooking the main street. A nice view at night.

8. You are on a main street – so there is some road noise, sirens etc. Nothing better or worse than any other large city. I’d still opt for the view instead of being at the back of the hotel.

9. The wifi service was surprisingly fast.

10. There is an Asian style temple (Temple of Debod) about (a safe) 2 minutes walk distance. Very romantic at night.

+1: And as usual in Madrid – guard your possessions. Two teenage girls tried to steal our cellphone from the table of a coffee shop in the Sol area. My wife caught them and yelled – but only because she had been warned. Stay alert!

So definitely a hotel I’d stay at again – and a difference from the standard Marriott/Westins my clients usually suggest I stay in.

If you found this helpful please hit the little “helpful” button down below. Thanks!

Room Tip: High room w/view of main street if you are Ok with a little noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear John C,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time taken to write this very detailed review and for recommeding the Meliá Madrid Princesa.

We are very glad to see that you enjoyed all of our facilities and that you had a great time in the hotel. It is a pleasure to see that our clients have such a great experience in the hotel.

We would love to see you in your next visit to Madrid.

Best Regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are amazing. The only way to stay is the Level - it nearly gets it to the 5 star - the food and complimentary drink just about make it worthwhile. We stayed in Feb and booked two levels rooms. We had an issue with our Grand Premium which for some reason was taking in smoke from the room below, but to be fair the staff upgraded us to a suite on our final night due to this. The one thing that lets this place down is the spa - it is very grubby and whilst not owned by the hotel is branded as part of the hotel - it needs an overhaul. Would I go back - yes? But only because of the staff and service - which was 5 star - unfortunately the facilities aren't Special mention to the guest relations manager who went above and beyond with our room issue. Hope Melia upgrade the spa for you!!

Room Tip: Level room is must - it includes spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear N11alo,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience at Meliá Madrid Princesa.

We regret to hear that you had some inconveniencies with your room but we are happy to see that the way our staff solve the problem really pleased you. Regarding the spa we would like to let you know that it is not owned by us, but we will definitely let them know all your comments.

Besides from that, we are glad to see that the staff was helpful and nice, and that you really enjoyed our facilities.

Best regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The plus: A lot of nice restaurants and shops right outside the doorstep. The hotel amenities are also very good - room was modern, clean and equipped, as well as an ok+ breakfast menu. Strong signal free wifi connection in room and around hotel. Great staff service. Very comfortable bed. Excellent bathroom with tub, hot shower and free toiletries.
The minus: The hotel bar was a little disappointing with no views on ground floor and early close (1 pm or so). The room had poor sound isolation, so that I could hear chatting, walking and so from the hallway and the neighboring rooms.

In all a recommendable place to stay

Room Tip: Try to get the end of a hallway to reduce traffic and noise outside the hotel room door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Norway5050,

In first place, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Meliá Madrid Princesa with us.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had. If we had known the noise was disturbing you we would have changed you to a room in a more quite area of the building. We regret to hear the bar did not meet your expectations.

However, we are glad to see you really liked the room and the breakfast, as well as the surroundings. We are also very happy to see the staff was approachable and helpful.

We hope to see you very soon in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,

Clara Mahillo Ávila
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Address: C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#42 Business Hotel in Madrid
#42 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#73 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Melia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madrid Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.