We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Save Saved
You added Melia Madrid Princesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melia Madrid Princesa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #37 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Ardsley, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our vacation to Madrid in September 2013. I am handicapped and needed an accessible hotel. I can walk short distances but I use an electric scooter (similar to an electric wheelchair) so I needed a hotel that could accommodate me. Our accessible room was on the 2nd floor and was huge - king-size bed, a sofa, stereo system, large TV and a fully accessible bathroom. The hotel itself is very large, no real "atmosphere" - it could have been in any country. Mostly business people checking in as opposed to couples on vacation. An excellent breakfast buffet was included. The hotel was a 5 minute walk to the Metro station - Ventura Rodriguez - and a bus stop both of which we used to get to the Prado and the Reina Sofia museums on the other side of the city. The Royal Palace is approximately a 15 minute walk as is the Plaza Mayor so the location of the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Susan A,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time taken on post this review about your experience in our hotel.

As you indicate, our hotel has rooms well adapted to handicapped people spacious and with all the requirements you may need. It is a pleasure to know that we did satisfy your needs in your experience with us, above all, in the room area.

Our hotel has a privilege situation in one of the main streets in Madrid with let our customers an easy acces to the main sights.

We are looking forward to receive you again in the near future.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    259
    83
    32
    18
See reviews for
137
326
42
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel feels right from the moment you swing through the revolving doors. The lobby looks like a lavish art installation full of modernist splendour, lavish lighting and plush furnishings. The receptionists are friendly and helpful - check in took a matter of minutes and there was no head scratching or niggling doubts about what we had to do. They are also on hand with maps and tips to get the most out of your trip.

The rest of the hotel is equally a palace of understated, chic style. It feels like a boutique hotel rather than an international chain.

The room we had was like a little apartment with a little hall way, big room with good lighting, a thick carpet, a comfortable reclining chair - as well as the usual TV, safe and glass top desk. For those with regimented standards you'll be pleased to know it is clinically clean, looks newly decorated and there isn't a lick of paint out of place. The bathroom has a powerful shower, a deep bath, good lighting, a sink, beday is nice and spacious. The bed had the most comfortable, fluffy pillows I've ever laid my head on.

There was also an expansive view of the bustling city too. Alright it wasn’t directly insight of a top attraction but it was better than a brick wall or loading bay.

So what's the catch? Erm, there isn't one. It is a minute away from the Metro which can get you to Sol and the heart of the city attractions in 5 minutes and an easy walk (10- 15 minutes) down the Grand Via.

We didn't try the food in the hotel as we were feasting of the delights of Madrid tapas. Saying that, we did order a late night/early morning cheese toastie on room service. For the record, that was good too.

10/10.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Matt D,

Firstly, we would like to thank you very much for choosing Meliá Madrid Princesa during your stay in Madrid and we also would like to thank you for the time taken making these wonderful comments about your experience.

Our hotel was completely refurbished in 2008 so we are glad you enjoyed it and you could feel the large investment done in room, design, style and furniture. It is a pleasure to read too that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, with more than one hundred products, and location, in one of the main streets in the city.

We will be delighted of welcome you back anytime.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived just before 8 in the evening to be told our room was not ready. Our cases were taken from us and we were offered a free drink while we waited. In 10 minutes we were told we could go to the room, expecting our cases to be there, but they were not. We waited a while but no sign so went back to reception to collect them. But no sign of them, we were told a porter would bring them up. Another wait. In all we did not get settled in until nearly 9pm.
The room itself was a disappointment. We had upgraded to get a larger room but there was a huge square pillar in the middle of the room ( see photo) which used up all the extra space. There was no bath despite the picture of the room type we chose on the website showing a bath. The tea/coffee making facilities are very poor - just ONE sachet of coffee between 2 of us, and 2 tea bags each day, also no milk or creamer sachets. We asked in reception for milk and they said they would send some up to us. It never came all weekend. However there was a letter pushed under the door later which said, strangely, that if we wanted milk we would have to ask for it at reception.
When we tried to use the pool the next day we were told it was only for "the level" guests ( a further upgrade) and that if we wanted to use it we would have to pay 19 euros each. You do expect to pay extra for spa treatments such as massages and we thought this is what the website referred to when it said extra charges apply, but just to use the rather small pool? What a rip off. We ate in the restaurant the first night which was very nice and good value at 18 euros each. Although when we came to pay the bill at the end of our stay they tried to over charge us for this.
We will not be coming back.

Room Tip: Photos and room descriptions are misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear 498VivM,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time on made these valuable comments about your stay with us. These comments help us to improve every day.

We regret you did not have a completely satisfactory stay. In fact, we do not have an additional charge for using the pool, because the pool is part of our Spa, so the extra charge is for the whole used of the hydrotermical circuit which include in the price a Sauna, a Turkish bath, a Scottish shower, two jacuzzis in hot and cold water and a heated pool.
We are really sorry if you did not find this information as we update daily our web pages.

Please, accept our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused and your comments have been reported to all the departments involved to take whatever corrective measures are necessary because as a procedure we take the luggage at the same time the customer is checking- in.

We would be delighted of having a new opportunity to demonstrate our best customer service in a future stay and once again, we are very sorry for not reaching your expectations.

At your entire disposal,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and I was amazed at the lobby, very helpful doormen too! We were ushered over to the check in desk where we were created warmly as they began the process. I was then introduced to the Experience Manager, who again welcomed us with open arms and a smile.

Our room was the standard room but on the tenth floor, it had an amazing view over the city. As we entered the room, there in front of us was a bottle of house Cava, chilling in an ice bucket, with a lovely note wishing us all the best in our stay and discount for use in the restaurant (unfortunately we did not get round to eating there). The room was excellent, rain shower even better and Cava was great. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have used in a hotel! We didn't want to get out of it!

We had booked our stay with breakfast and oh my word, the largest breakfast buffet I have had the pleasure to eat at. They even had a chef to cook your own omelettes! They had everything you could want for breakfast, even waffles! And for the people wishing to party early, or top up from the night before or enjoy an early morning cure, there was rioja or cava to drink as well!

Our stay was amazing and would recommend this hotel to everyone! Stay here, as gran via is minutes away and there is an excellent super market close by too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Philip H,

On behalf of all Meliá Madrid Princesa team and myself personally, I sincerely thank you for these absolutely positive comments about your whole experience during your stay with us: from check in to room facilities, welcome amenities, breakfast buffet, location etc..

It is an enormous pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations,reaching a complete satisfactory stay. Customer satisfaction is our only aim, getting unforgettable customer experiences.

Meliá Madrid Princesa was recently refurbished so it is very good to know that our guests appreciate this large investment.

We will be delighted of receiving you again in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the outside, approaching the hotel, it doesn't fill you with joy....but as soon as you step out of your car/taxi etc. and enter reception WOW ! Very decadent chandeliers and ornaments with comfy seating area. Reception check in was quite long (but thorough) but the wait to get into the rooms was worth it. We had a double room with an extra bed, which made the floor space quite cramped, but for a normal double room the space was more than enough. All mod cons in the rooms, and the sliding screens which enable different areas of the room (hallways, bathroom, even the toilet area) to be closed off for privacy is something a lot of hotels could learn from - slippers and bathrobes also showed attention to detail. The minibar / fridge was well stocked and the mood lighting on the bedside tables was a nice touch...The bar area was really nice, and the staff here were extremely polite and friendly...In fact everyone one in the hotel was more than pleasant and able to answer any question asked of them from buying metro tickets to providing directions to McDonalds! Can't comment on restaurant as didn't use it (breakfast is a staggering €20 pp) although the menu del dia looked quite reasonable. Also didn't use spa area but if it is of the same quality as the rest of the hotel then it's probably something to enjoy. Only gripe was the pillows - I hate the square pillows that modern hotels seem to prefer, although I could have requested others if I could have been bothered...All in all, a special hotel, only 2 mins walk to a metro station (ventura rodriguez) and 5 mins walk to Plaza De espana and the bottom of the Gran Via. Next time I am staying in Madrid, this will definitely be top of my list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear DaveH19,

We are delighted of receiving these fantastic comments about your experience, so we thank you very much for taking the time to share them.

Regarding your comments, it is a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations because our daily work is to get our customers the best experiences, so the best product and the best service. We are very glad you enjoyed our refurbished hotel, privilege location, service and breakfast. We are extremely focused on the detail and we think detail make the difference.

About the pillow, we have available a pillow menu to all our guest for a better resting comfort.

We are looking forward to stay in your top list in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuffley
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel has 5 star rating but I fail to see how. The rooms are fine but we booked a package through BA and discovered that we only had a basic deal. After travelling etc it was too late and we couldn't be bothered to change the package. But the failing points are. Unless you book The Level you cannot have tea or coffee in your room , The restaurant only opens at 7am and therefore you have to be caffeine free until then. If you wish just to have a tea or coffee the café only opens around 11am so you have to join the restaurant upstairs and pay after.
The room facilities were poor no flannels ! , no tea /coffee facilities. Very clean though and maid attentive. Suggest you take your own toiletries though as despite it being of 5* it lacks the special products that you expect for example the Melia in Palma only uses Clarins products. Know Im being picky but its worth noting.
Location is fine but despite being on 11th floor it was noisy from outsiders revelling until all hours.
reception staff helpful. Printing off boarding passes costs 3 euro's unless you send it to reception and they print it for you.
If you are The Level clients then you get free tapas, coffee,te,drinks alcoholic and non all day but it is costing you around 40 euros more 1 Even the cabin crew from Lufthansa found it hard to get a coffee before they left !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Have the breakfast either book when chosing the hotel or pre pay before eating its a little cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear avisanddavid,

Firstly, we would like to thank you having taken some of your valuable time sending us these comments about your stay with us These comments are the best assistance in our daily work improvement to get the best experience for every customer.

Regarding The Level service, it is our most exclusive service in the hotel, which includes different services as the access to The Level lounge, free entrance to our SPA, coffee and tea facilities, private reception etc...
Besides this, we also have kettles to all our guests subject to availability.

Our amenities are specially designed for Meliá brand and they are different in every brand of Meliá Hotels International.

We do apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us and we would love to have a new opportunity to exceed your expectations.


Kind Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good experience, nice hotel, great view over the city, clean room. Good location in Madrid at Plaza de Espana. Perfect view over the city. Delicious breakfast, big rooms, clean rooms, dont forget the Madrid city tour

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Baharbie,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Madrid Princesa during your stay in Madrid and the time taking on making these absolutely positive comment about us.

We are delighted to know that you had a perfect experience with us because this is our only aim.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel
Sol Melia Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa
Address: C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#23 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#25 Family Hotel in Madrid
#31 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Melia, Escapio, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madrid Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.