We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful on all counts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Save Saved
You added Melia Madrid Princesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 458 hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful on all counts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and I was amazed at the lobby, very helpful doormen too! We were ushered over to the check in desk where we were created warmly as they began the process. I was then introduced to the Experience Manager, who again welcomed us with open arms and a smile.

Our room was the standard room but on the tenth floor, it had an amazing view over the city. As we entered the room, there in front of us was a bottle of house Cava, chilling in an ice bucket, with a lovely note wishing us all the best in our stay and discount for use in the restaurant (unfortunately we did not get round to eating there). The room was excellent, rain shower even better and Cava was great. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have used in a hotel! We didn't want to get out of it!

We had booked our stay with breakfast and oh my word, the largest breakfast buffet I have had the pleasure to eat at. They even had a chef to cook your own omelettes! They had everything you could want for breakfast, even waffles! And for the people wishing to party early, or top up from the night before or enjoy an early morning cure, there was rioja or cava to drink as well!

Our stay was amazing and would recommend this hotel to everyone! Stay here, as gran via is minutes away and there is an excellent super market close by too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Philip H,

On behalf of all Meliá Madrid Princesa team and myself personally, I sincerely thank you for these absolutely positive comments about your whole experience during your stay with us: from check in to room facilities, welcome amenities, breakfast buffet, location etc..

It is an enormous pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations,reaching a complete satisfactory stay. Customer satisfaction is our only aim, getting unforgettable customer experiences.

Meliá Madrid Princesa was recently refurbished so it is very good to know that our guests appreciate this large investment.

We will be delighted of receiving you again in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    296
    100
    32
    20
See reviews for
158
366
46
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co Antrim
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the outside, approaching the hotel, it doesn't fill you with joy....but as soon as you step out of your car/taxi etc. and enter reception WOW ! Very decadent chandeliers and ornaments with comfy seating area. Reception check in was quite long (but thorough) but the wait to get into the rooms was worth it. We had a double room with an extra bed, which made the floor space quite cramped, but for a normal double room the space was more than enough. All mod cons in the rooms, and the sliding screens which enable different areas of the room (hallways, bathroom, even the toilet area) to be closed off for privacy is something a lot of hotels could learn from - slippers and bathrobes also showed attention to detail. The minibar / fridge was well stocked and the mood lighting on the bedside tables was a nice touch...The bar area was really nice, and the staff here were extremely polite and friendly...In fact everyone one in the hotel was more than pleasant and able to answer any question asked of them from buying metro tickets to providing directions to McDonalds! Can't comment on restaurant as didn't use it (breakfast is a staggering €20 pp) although the menu del dia looked quite reasonable. Also didn't use spa area but if it is of the same quality as the rest of the hotel then it's probably something to enjoy. Only gripe was the pillows - I hate the square pillows that modern hotels seem to prefer, although I could have requested others if I could have been bothered...All in all, a special hotel, only 2 mins walk to a metro station (ventura rodriguez) and 5 mins walk to Plaza De espana and the bottom of the Gran Via. Next time I am staying in Madrid, this will definitely be top of my list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear DaveH19,

We are delighted of receiving these fantastic comments about your experience, so we thank you very much for taking the time to share them.

Regarding your comments, it is a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations because our daily work is to get our customers the best experiences, so the best product and the best service. We are very glad you enjoyed our refurbished hotel, privilege location, service and breakfast. We are extremely focused on the detail and we think detail make the difference.

About the pillow, we have available a pillow menu to all our guest for a better resting comfort.

We are looking forward to stay in your top list in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuffley
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel has 5 star rating but I fail to see how. The rooms are fine but we booked a package through BA and discovered that we only had a basic deal. After travelling etc it was too late and we couldn't be bothered to change the package. But the failing points are. Unless you book The Level you cannot have tea or coffee in your room , The restaurant only opens at 7am and therefore you have to be caffeine free until then. If you wish just to have a tea or coffee the café only opens around 11am so you have to join the restaurant upstairs and pay after.
The room facilities were poor no flannels ! , no tea /coffee facilities. Very clean though and maid attentive. Suggest you take your own toiletries though as despite it being of 5* it lacks the special products that you expect for example the Melia in Palma only uses Clarins products. Know Im being picky but its worth noting.
Location is fine but despite being on 11th floor it was noisy from outsiders revelling until all hours.
reception staff helpful. Printing off boarding passes costs 3 euro's unless you send it to reception and they print it for you.
If you are The Level clients then you get free tapas, coffee,te,drinks alcoholic and non all day but it is costing you around 40 euros more 1 Even the cabin crew from Lufthansa found it hard to get a coffee before they left !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Have the breakfast either book when chosing the hotel or pre pay before eating its a little cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear avisanddavid,

Firstly, we would like to thank you having taken some of your valuable time sending us these comments about your stay with us These comments are the best assistance in our daily work improvement to get the best experience for every customer.

Regarding The Level service, it is our most exclusive service in the hotel, which includes different services as the access to The Level lounge, free entrance to our SPA, coffee and tea facilities, private reception etc...
Besides this, we also have kettles to all our guests subject to availability.

Our amenities are specially designed for Meliá brand and they are different in every brand of Meliá Hotels International.

We do apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us and we would love to have a new opportunity to exceed your expectations.


Kind Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good experience, nice hotel, great view over the city, clean room. Good location in Madrid at Plaza de Espana. Perfect view over the city. Delicious breakfast, big rooms, clean rooms, dont forget the Madrid city tour

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Baharbie,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Madrid Princesa during your stay in Madrid and the time taking on making these absolutely positive comment about us.

We are delighted to know that you had a perfect experience with us because this is our only aim.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Room was fairly spacious and very clean. Location is more residential - good walking distance to a major department store. Only drawback was that when we woke up at 6:30 a.m., and my husband went downstairs in search of a cup of coffee, he was told the coffee pot in the lobby was for employees only, and he would have to wait until 8:00, when the dining room opened. C'mon - can't a person who is standing in front of the pot of coffee grab a cup??

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear betdonoh,

Firstly, we would like to thank you having taken some of your valuable time send us these comments about your stay with us. Customers feedback is the best assistance in our daily improvement work to get our aim which is to get excellent experiences in every customer staying with us.

Regarding your comments, we have available some cofee and tea in the lobby at the time you indicate only for crew members whom flights are early in the morning. For guests, we have 24 hours room service available or buffet breakfast from 07:00h am. We are sorry for this misunderstanding.

it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. Very professional service, staff were very helpful, gave us directions, organised a booking for a show and cab. We didn't use the bar much but seemed nice. We liked the room layout (not huge but fine) and the bedside table coloured lights added a nice atmosphere.

Hotel is right next to a metro stop (couple minutes walk tops) and also within walking distance of many of the things we wanted to do, along a main road with shops and cafes.

Only complaint would be that the double bed was actually two singles put together, but as they were ample sized singles this wasn't a problem.

We didn't get the breakfast, so can't comment on that, and didn't use the spa.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor, very near lift but noise didn't bother us. Haven't tried any other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Rebecca J,

Firstly, Iwe would like to thank you for your valuable time taken on making these comments, as we do with all the travellers on TripAdvisor.

In one hand, we really appreciate your comments made about our service,location (couple of minutes from Ventura Rodriguez metro stop) and room layout. It is a pleasure to know that we reach your expectations.

In the other hand, we have double beds available for our customers but it is subjetc to availability. We are sorry about it.

We would be delighted of welcoming you again.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of our Insight Vacations coach tour, and what an excellent start it turned out to be. Room was an ample size with a good layout, clean and well maintained. breakfast had an extensive choice and staff were courteous and efficient. Reception staff were also very helpful. Metro station right outside the door gave good access to transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear mikefisheroz,

Firstly, we sincerely thank you for these fantastic comments about your stay with your Insight Tour in our hotel. We thank you for your staff comments, location, room comfort etc...everything in general.

It is an enormous pleasure to know the satisfaction of our customer because it is our goal.We are sure your words and comments will help other travellers to choose our hotel.

We would be delighted of receiving you again.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Address: C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#34 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#35 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#39 Business Hotel in Madrid
#55 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Melia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madrid Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.