We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Madrid Princesa to your Saves list
Melia Madrid Princesa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location only a 10 minute walk to the centre of town. Bathroom was very impressive but sleeping area very small for a 5 star. Staff on reception not the most helpful and lacked knowledge of transport etc. would expect coffee machine in the room as very expensive to buy in hotel. Overall it's a 4 star at the most. Would stay here again just for the great location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear julia b,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your valuable time taken on making these comments, as we do with all the travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed our location (in one of the main streets in the city) or our bathroom sizes. Customers can upgrade their rooms which sizes goes from 25m2 to 105m2.
We apologize for the inconveniences caused of the other elements you report about your stay,
as coffee and tea facilites, which are only available in superior rooms and subject to availability for the rest of the rooms.

We would be delighted of welcoming you again and get a completely fully satisfactory stay.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    335
    118
    35
    20
See reviews for
182
402
51
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My parents and my wife and I stayed here for a four night city break. Having stayed in a Melia before, I was expecting a similar high standard – The Berlin Melia is fantastic. This Melia is not as good, however.

I felt that the cleanliness was fine and that the breakfast was good. The location also really worked for us, as it was 10-15mins walk from the main centre of the city and easy to get to anywhere via the metro (Ventura Rodriguez) right outside. The problem was the outdated and tired rooms and hallways, which looked to have not been decorated in a decade. The bathrooms in the rooms were well fitted out with dual sinks, shower and bath, but the shower leaked and was over the bath – I hate standing in a bath to take a shower it's so out of date and out of touch with what most people want from a 5 star hotel.

The other issue was the business conference that was taking place at the hotel while we were there. There were dozens of suited corporate stiffs milling around the lobby and smoking outside the entrance at all times of the day and evening. Not very nice for the other guests who had to find their way through the melee and cigarette smoke.

On a more positive note, the best things we saw and did were: walking the length of the Gran Via, Prado museum (don't try and see everything), Reina Sofia (great if you love modern art), Retiro park, royal botanic gardens, San Miguel market near Plaza Mayor.

We also found a decent Italian restaurant on the Gran Via called Di Bocca that I'd recommend – nothing out of this world, but a good price and generous portions of good food. The tapas and other dishes in the San Miguel market were great too, if a little pricey. Grazie Mille on the Calle Mayor is also great for pizza.

Getting from the airport is simple. You can use the metro all the way to Arguelles and walk 5mins down the road, or you can get the 200 bus from outside the airport to Avenida de America then pop on the metro to Arguelles or Ventura Rodriguez. Once inside the metro system, you can go as far as you like in the city with one ticket. The tickets are €1.50 each or €12 for 10. The 200 bus from the airport is €1.50.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear AndyDrewPalmer,

As we do with all Tripadvisor members we thank you for your comments about your experience in Meliá Madrid Princesa. Customers comments are the best assistance to reach our main aim wich is get the highest product and service standards so the highest customer satisfaction.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location, our breakfast buffet and the cleanliness of the room. Regarding other aspects, we regret we did not exceed your expectations but our hotel was completely refurbished in 2008, included rooms, with the latest and newest design. It is dissapointting customers could not perceive the large investment done. All your comments have been reported to the departments involved.

We would be delighted of having a new opportunity of improving your satisfaction experience in the near future, so we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Liked the hotel a lot but was dissapointed with the location along calle princessa, nothing to see here. Nice clean lobby with house music. Rooms were clean and edgy, nice facilities with the exception of the gym.

Other than that i was satisfied.

Room Tip: Get one facing calle princessa and on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Carlo12377ph,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for posting this review about your experience with us. All our customers reviews are very important but they are even more important when they come from an experienced traveller like your case.

In fact, Princesa street, which goes from Plaza de España to Moncloa is one of the most importat streets in the city and one of the main shopping streets in the area. Nearby the hotel you can find the "Palacio de Liria", Cerralbo museum, Debod temple (a Egyptian monument) and much more options to do, apart from restaurants, bars, coffe-shops, cinemas etc..And we are just 5 min away walking to Gran Vía wich is the main street of Madrid.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel is very close to metro (Ventura Rodriguez) and near the hop-on-hop-off bus stop too. It is about 20 minutes walk from Sol area and it is a nice walk at night since it feels safe and we get to see the night life in Madrid on our way back to the hotel.

The room is a bit small than what I expected but it was comfortable. Free wifi with good speed. The bathroom was clean and fairly big too with standard Melia amenities. Bed is comfortable and we had a good sleep after a long trans Atlantic flight. Air conditioning was excellent on a 100F weather in Madrid!

Reception was not too friendly compared to the other Melia I've been to in Spain. I wanted to upgrade to The Level but unfortunately, they close the level in the summer months. We were always out touring the city so we did not have the time to see the pool area. We also did not have breakfast there so I cannot comment on their restaurants.

All in all, it's a good and comfortable place to stay in Madrid if you want to be in a quiet and not too busy part of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Kiko9411,

Firstly, we would like to thank you having taken some of your valuable time sending us these comments. We regret our The Level was closed at that time, as it is closed during Summer time and some special dates customers can check on our web page.

Concerning to our rooms, we have different room sizes, from 25 m2 up to 105m2 available to all our customers.

Besides this, we are very glad you enjoyed our city location and the room comfort so it would be a pleasure to receive you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa, hopefully, enjoying the most exclusive service in our hotel:The Level.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is not a five star hotel, but it is a comfortable 4 star hotel. On the plus side: the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, the air conditioning is first rate and there is no better breakfast buffet in the city, of that I am sure. The rooms are on the smallish side. There is no CNN on the TV, but there is Fox News. The one big drawback is its restaurant, it is not too good. We went for lunch and did not want to go back, the menu is limited and what is there is not excellent. But all in all it is well worth its money and if they improve the restaurant it is a hotel we would recommend wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear BB1938,

We thank you very much for your time on posting this review about your experience in Meliá Madrid Princesa. Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Madrid.

In one hand, it is a pleasure to know that you had a satisfactory stay above all, because of our breakfast buffet or our location.
In the other hand, we apologize if our restaurant did not exceed your expectations. We will transmitt your comments abour our menu to Food and Beverage department .

We will be delighted of receiving you again in the near future.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent business trip to Madrid and was really impressed.

The hotel is in a great location, in the heart of the city so you can go exploring, but also with quick access to the motorways for the airport etc.

Rooms and lobby are ultra modern but all very usable rather than just for show.

Breakfast buffet was superb with stacks of choice and all food to a high standard.

Definitely my preferred hotel for business trips to Madrid!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Max_D-Fect,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid, as well as for your kind comments about the hotel.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your whole business experience with us. Our hotel is well prepared for business customers with wifi connections in all the hotel and excellent equipped meeting rooms.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

There was many advantages of this hotel, but the service let it down, and therefore in my view it is not a five star hotel or good value for money.

Pros:

- we were in room 1222 which was a grand premium room. The room was a very good size with a lovely view. The furnishings were modern but not of the quality of other five star hotels such as the Sofitel. Some of it was MDF.

- the breakfast was wide ranging

- the service in the bar was very good, as was the housekeeping service

Cons:

- we were on " the level" but not advised at the time of booking, in late June, that the level was closed for 6 weeks between the end of July and middle of Sept. I emailed the hotel to ask and did not get a response. This information was not put on the hotel website until much later. It meant that we did not get a turndown service, or complementary drinks and tapas, which are included in the price of the room. I appreciate that August is when many people working in Madrid go on holiday, but you expect a five star hotel to employ cover for this period of time. In addition, we were not offered a discount or complementary drinks as a substitute.

- the service at check in was poor. We were not advised of where the lift was or where breakfast was held or the time. We had to ask for a map. At breakfast one morning we were advised to "get our own tea" despite one of the tasks of the waiters to service tea and coffee - and we had received it on previous occasions. You got the overall impression that they could not be bothered.

- there were no English papers, again you would expect more of a five star hotel

- the gym is inadequate for a five star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Martin L,

Firstly, we thank you for taking the time to write this review about your experience at Meliá Madrid Princesa.

In one hand, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your Grand Premium room, our breakfast buffet or service provide by Bar and Housekeeping staff.

On the other hand, we apologize for the inconveniences caused from other elements you describe about your stay that made it not completely satisfactory. All information required about our hotel services are written on our web page.
Our staff have very strict customers services procedures in all the different steps during customer experience in correspondance to our category. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations.All your comments have been reported to the departments involved to take whatever corrective measure is necessary.

We will be delighted of having a new opportunity to get a completely satisfactory stay in the near future.

At your disposal,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Address: C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#26 Business Hotel in Madrid
#31 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#84 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, Melia, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madrid Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.