We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptively modern luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Save Saved
You added Melia Madrid Princesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Deceptively modern luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is nothing to look at from the outside, in fact it's a bit of an eyesore. Go in through the revolving doors however and you're transported to another world altogether! The hotel is decorated in a very modern and decadent style. The lobby is beautiful and the bar is lovely (although we didn't actually drink there as there were too many other places outside the hotel!). We had a standard double room which had a great sized and really comfy bed. The bathroom was clean and modern - although the sliding doors compromise a little on privacy. The room was of average size for a city centre hotel with a desk and comfy chair in the room as well. The location of the hotel is great, easy walking distance to Sol, Plaza Mayor, Gran Via, Latina where there are a wealth of tapas bars and restaurants to choose from to soak up the atmosphere of this wonderful city. We got a great last minute deal on this hotel and it was excellent value for money - I would highly recommend this hotel if staying in Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear MrsMc,

In one hand, we would like to sincerely thank you for your time taken on letting us know your feedback and experience in your stay with us.

All the hotel was completely refurbished, finishing the constructions in 2008 so we regrett you could not experience the large investement on making all our customers to have the best
infrastructure and facilites. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

In another hand, we are very pleased you enjoyed our location as well as the bathroom or our room size. We are situated in one of the main street of Madrid.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    442
    296
    97
    34
    20
See reviews for
152
358
45
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If your in need of a big hotel with 100's of rooms this is the only place in Madrid that will meet your needs. Its central and convenient.
I was attending for a work event with 300+ attendees, they did a superb job catering to our needs & ensuring consistancy in service. The rooms are looking a little tired and the lay out is weird with multiple rooms with doors to toilet, shower and basin area and bedroom it feels like a very small house - its a bit of a waste of space. But at the end of long day the bed was heaven and the windows open for fresh air - heaven!
A good hearty breakfast (but when its busy be warned get in early before feeding time) and rooms service is average. the attentiveness of the staff is good but not great. I think this might be unique across Madrid hosptiality as everyone seems a bit gruff & bossy when serving - probally a cutlural thing but made me giggle a few times at how rude people can be throwing a plate of food at you or telling you to "sit here!" when asking for a seat.

Room Tip: All rooms are double glazed windows and can be opened so no issues on noise. try to get one close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear travemate,

Thank you for your review made on this important community about your experience
in Meliá Madrid Princesa.
Regarding your comments, it is a pleasure to know that the event you which you attended in our hotel was a succes as we have a complete team specialized on this kind of events.

We do really apologize in all those areas we did not reach your expectations, hoping to have a new opportunity to exceed them.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well … getting closer to the hotel was not inspiring me at all, by the look of the exterior. I thought I will be disappointed and I will have to deal with another old style hotel not very friendly or clean.

But, surprise-surprise! I had the perfect stay in Melia Princesa. The room was wonderful, the bathroom very clean and the quality of sleep great. It is that kind of pleasant thing that is not happening too often in our lives: do not consider the quality just by the exterior but please go inside and you will be taken into a completely different world.

The breakfast was so good and a lot of options (yes, I should consider one “minus” thing: they did not had any fresh vegetables, just some cooked tomatoes). And the personnel very friendly and helpful. And they were so smiling if you would have use their Spanish.

If I will go back to Madrid I think I will consider the same location even if is far away from my office … but in the end everything is far from my office.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Veve_33,

We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at Meliá Madrid Princesa and that, maybe not at the beguinning for our exterior, but we met your expectations.
In fact, we can understand from the exterior it does not look so attractive but it is completely refurbished in 2008 so we are glad your opinion changed when you came inside.

We will be delighted of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We often stay in the Melia Princesa when on work trips to Madrid. In this instance our whole meeting was hosted in a meeting room at the hotel and my whole team stayed there. On the whole it was a very positive experience, and the whole is very well set up for business travellers. Meeting rooms were well air conditioned and clean, refreshments between meetings were good too. My room was nice and clean and well cleaned by house-keeping for the 3 nights I was there. Breakfast was OK - lots of choice and importantly for me great fresh fruit and cereal, as well as good coffee. My only disappointment were the fitness facilities - the gym is OK and fairly well-equipped and open 24hrs, which is good. The pool however is not included in the standard rate and was 18 euros A DAY for use. I had hurt my back and needed to swim rather than do my standard morning jog and only paid one day's worth - it's just too much to justify for such a small pool. They advertise having a pool so should offer it as part of the standard rate. Overall though a good option in a good and central location in Madrid - excellent for transport links and sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Emma C,

On one hand, we really appreciate your comments about your stay, overall positive as well as all your meeting.
Business travellers is one of our most important market segment, as the meetings taking place in our hotel. For this reason we have a complete team in charge of these kind of events,
looking after carefully of every detail. We are really glad your meeting was a succes.

In another hand, we are sorry for the inconveniences with the Spa. It is an outsourcing company which actually it is not just a swimming pool, because the pool is part of the SPA so customers pay for the use of the whole SPA.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for five nights with our 20mth old son. We were impressed with the general look of the hotel and our room was an adequate size and of good cleanliness. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful - particularly the breakfast staff who were always very friendly and made a special fuss of our son. Breakfast was excellent, a very large and diverse selection of food.

We were however disappointed with some of the management aspects of the hotel. For a five star hotel in which we paid good money, we were disappointed to learn that the pool facilities were not available to children under three years and that we had to pay an extra 17 euros per head per day for use of the pool. We were told this only once we were in the pool area with our son, in our bathers, ready to swim!! We later looked on the website regarding this policy and could not find information about this anywhere. We were also incorrectly charged for minibar items that we did not use and upon checkout, we were charged a higher rate than initially quoted for breakfast. We did not find management particularly helpful or apologetic when resolving these issues, although they were sorted in the end. These frustrating issues tended to taint what could have been a very lovely hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear paganonifamily,

Firstly, we thank you for making this review and comments about your stay which helps us in our daily improvement for getting the best service and product for our customers.

We appreciate your nice comments about our breakfast staff so breakfast too, and your room size. We are glad you enjoyed this part of your stay.
Referring your comments about our Spa, it is an outsourcing company which provide a full Hydrothermal circuit. In fact, customers can not actually pay for just using the pool as the pool is part of this circuit.

We are really sorry for all this inconveniences found as well as with the other issue that could not let you have a completely satisfactory stay.Please, accept our most sincere apologies for not reaching your expectations.

Because of all of that, we would love to receive you again in the future in Meliá Madrid Princesa .

Sincerely,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Hotel is very nice and calm, clean.
Location is good, breakfast very good.
Lovely staff, and many facilities in the hotel.
5 mins walking to main street in Madrid.
The rooms are big and so comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Nashed A,

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Madrid Princesa during your stay in Madrid and the time taking making these positive comments.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a really enjoyable experience with us referring our staff, breakfast, rooms etc..

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

At your disposal,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was my second stay at the Melia Princesa, and the hotel was as good, if not better than the last time I stayed there during a business trip. I was booked into a "Level" room, which was spectacular!! The room was nothing short of perfect: the room was extremely spacious, with a fantastic and comfortable king size bed, absolutely huge and luxurious bathroom. The views of downtown Madrid were spectacular from this 11th floor room. There was a flatscreen TV, with a good selection of channels, a sitting area with desk, and a fully stocked minibar. The Level guests are offered dedicated check in and out services, a business center and a private lounge / bar area where they can help themselves to snacks, hot and cold drinks, throughout the day. You can also have breakfast in the private Level lounge, which is a nice alternative to the regular breakfast room. The hotel is also centrally located, in close proximity to the Gran Via, and other turistic attractions. An excellent place to stay while in Madrid for either business or pleasure!

Room Tip: The Level rooms are especially luxurious and the dedicated services to Level guests make your stay e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Magenta33,

We really appreciate your valuable time taken on made this comment on Tripadvisor about your stay in Meliá Madrid Princesa. We thank you for choosing us again.

Receive positive feedback as yours motivate all our Human Team in our daily improvement to get the highest standard in all the matters. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in The Level, the most exclusive service in our hotel so in The Level Lounge or in your The Level room.

Looking forward to receive you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

Regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Address: C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#32 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#33 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#37 Business Hotel in Madrid
#58 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Melia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Escapio, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madrid Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.