We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madrid Princesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Madrid Princesa to your Saves list
Melia Madrid Princesa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Arguelles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #60 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We enjoyed staying in the hotel. Staff is very friendly and speaks good English. WiFi is available. Rooms were clean and well decorated. There is some repair going on outside but as we were not in the hotel during the day it did not disturb us. Prices are very reasonable. Breakfast was perfect with very good choice of food, especially pastry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear customer,
I would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Madrid Princesa during your stay in Madrid and the time taking making these positive comments.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a really enjoyable experience with us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    371
    132
    39
    21
See reviews for
203
440
55
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel Easter weekend for a one night stay following a trip to Salamanaca. We arrived around 7pm and went out to eat not returning until about 11pm. We were staying in room 210 which overlooked Calle de Princesa and could clearly hear the traffic on our return but assumed it would die down. This was not the case and in fact the exceptionally loud traffic noise continued right through the night until the very early hours 5/6am which is round about the time we actually managed to get an hours sleep!! As we were travelling back to the UK the following day and had travelled extensively all week, we needed to get a good nights sleep, but that was not the case at this Melia hotel. I mentioned this at the reception when checking out but the member of staff seemed either disinterested or it was maybe a common complaint.
Earlier in the week we had stayed at ME Melia overlooking Plaza Santa Ana and although the rooms were smaller it was a more peaceful and quiet hotel. I would suggest if you want a good nights sleep, surely a necessary requirement, stay here or even better stay at Hotel Urban where we stayed at the beginning of our trip to Madrid - perfect!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floor possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear customer,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time send us these comments.
Our customers opinion is the greatest assistance for us in order to identify a possible lack of information and take whatever corrective measures
may be necessary to continue improving in all areas in the hotel. Our aim is to achieve the best experience for every customer who is staying at Meliá Madrid Princesa.

We would like to express our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused not exceeding your expectations so we would love to have
a new opportunity and welcome you again in our hotel.

We remain at your entire disposition,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We got the room for €110/night including breakfast on Easter weekend. The breakfast was so glorious. The room is tiny but adequate with free wifi. We were put on 12th fl with a good view of the city. The gym is small but complete. The staffs were friendly. The location is in a main but quite street, only a few minutes from Gran Via. There's a public parking spot right outside the hotel. The only "complaint" I have - if I'm being overcritical - is that on 2nd day the housekeeping put 2 bottles of shampoo and no bath gel, and cleaned up our room even though we left the do not disturb sign on the door. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear customer,
we do really appreciate your confidence choosing us for your stay in Madrid.
Your comments help us and motivate us to work every day to get the excelence in service and quality.

We will be delighted of receiving you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Clean, stylish, great food, friendly and professional staff, really great! One negative was the size of the room (709) - I am 1m93 tall and found the room a little claustrophobic.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear customer,
we do really appreciate your time taken making these comments. It is a pleasure to receive these comments about your stay with us.

From the other side, we are very sorry for any incovenience you had in your stay hoping in the
future to welcome you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

Kind regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel is stylish, the lobby is both attractive and beautiful with interesting art pieces in display. The rooms are comfortable with a peculiar design the same for the corridors.

Service is good, location is very good, breakfast is fine.

Lifts are small and slow, you can wait a lot to get into a crowded lift, or wait for the next.
The gym is too small, without air condition, crowded with machines the should require three times the space. The swimming pool is small and opens from 08:00 to 22:00, who can go swim with that kind of limitations?

I wanted to check the sauna but I was denied access because I was dressed, well I just wanted to check...

The price is good also, so if you don't care about doing some sport before going to work, is a fine hotel.

Room Tip: as high as possible to have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your time taken making these comments about your experience in Meliá Madrid Princesa. Our customers are our
reason of working and help us to know if we are on the right way and take whatever measures are necessary to correct possible mistakes.

I would like to inform you that our indoor swimming pool is part of our all Spa. Our Spa include two jacuzzis, a Turkish bath and a Finnish sauna. This is the reason for our swimming pool to be opened at the Spa timetable.
We would really like to offer our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience during your stay.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

At your disposal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights specifically because they had suites with a private whirlpool in the room, and we wanted to do something fun and romantic for my birthday. It was a little bit pricey for our budget but it fit the description of what we wanted so we went for it. It really was great! The service and accommodations were excellent. With out suite we also had access to The Level, where we had a open bar and gourmet snack area from 11am to 11pm. How great! That really helped even out the cost for us. Plus it's literally 20 feet from a metro stop, so that was extra convenient!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear customer,
we do really appreciate your time taken doing this review. These wonderful comments motivate our human team continuing making effort to get our customer experience a completely satisfactory stay.

We are looking foward to welcome you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

Best regards,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is a 4 star hotel in a great location. worth paying extra for rooms with a view as you can see the Royal Palace.
Smart lobby with nice seating. Rooms are comfortable with great beds and pillows. Didnt eat here as there are lots of great restaurants in Madrid.
The plus point for this hotel is it is opposite the Ventura Rodriguz metro station making it easy to get into central Madrid (Puerto del sol is 3 stops)

Room Tip: go for a high flooe with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaMadridPrincesa, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madrid Princesa, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear customer,
we would like to thank you for taking some of your time making these valuable comments.
We do really appreciatte your comments which help us to improve our service making our customers have an unforgettable stay with us.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Meliá Madrid Princesa.

At your disposal,

Fátima Pelegrina López
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Address: C/ Princesa, 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#41 Business Hotel in Madrid
#41 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#42 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Melia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madrid Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.