We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel that met expectations - but nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Madrid to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Madrid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Carlos Trias Bertran 4, 28020 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #235 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average hotel that met expectations - but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel is very close to the Santiago Bernabeu stop on the 10 line. We found the hotel very acceptable and it was exactly what we expected, but just that. The rooms were clean and suited its purpose.

Some small annoyances: we were not given robes and slippers as promised, they did not clean and/or replace the cups the second night, the water boiler (for the coffee) was very rusty and the staff at the reservation could not help us with reservations that was outside of Madrid (as we were going to Barcelona afterwards).

Overall, I got what I paid for. The location, as mentioned below, is somewhat far from city center, but then again, you get what you paid for. However, it wasn't too inconvenient as it is very close to the metro and there are connections all over the 10 line.

There is a starbucks and TGIF across the street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Madrid, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with your room. I am glad to hear you did enjoy a clean well appointed room. I will follow up with the executive housekeeper regarding your other issues to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you in the future.

Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    170
    93
    20
    10
See reviews for
128
57
35
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

If you are a traveler who when visiting Manhattan, likes to stay in Queens, then this hotel is for you. It is NOT central to anything, except TGIF's and honestly, do you really want to eat there when in Spain? Also NO free wifi and they have only one computer and so on and so on. The desk help does try very hard, unlike the bar staff ! There are better hotels in Madrid--- which are central, lovely and not too expensive

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here to go to the nearby Real Madrid soccer stadium. You are a 10 minute walk away---well, 60 minutes away when there is a crowd of people.

Pretty nice hotel room. Comfortable for 2 adults and 2 kids. Pool is small and unheated though. Breakfast (20Euros/pp) was too rich for our blood.

Location is not ideal for the more touristy spots but has good access to the airport metro and, like I said, the stadium. If you are going to the stadium, this is really the ONLY SMART choice. (Metros and taxis would be a poor option because of the crowds.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Hotel has an excellent location. Maybe 3-4 minutes from metro and buses. Starbucks and TGIF right in front. And of course the Real Madrid stadium is about 7-10 minutes across the road!!!

A number of breakfast and eating places within a stone's throw (breakfast at the hotel was Euro 20+!!, we chose to go for stone's throw), plus window shopping opportunities all around. It is quiet in the evenings, lots of families were staying while we were there. The hotel staff were very very nice, patient and knowledgeable. The rooms are comfortable though the hotel furnishing isn't great shakes but if you are more focused on sightseeing or business, you don't mind the furnishing. In any case they do have tea/coffee making facilities - which we found to be nonexistent elsewhere in Spain.

All in all a great place to stay for 3-4 nights.

Room Tip: There's NO view all around, so no point in losing breath looking for a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

For the price I paid for this hotel, I was very satisfied. I flew into Madrid from Newark and was happy to be able to relax here for 2 nights. The hotel is not in a busy area, but it's easily accessible to the metro and all the hot spots/touristy areas are a few stops away. As a Priority Club Platinum member, I was given free wifi access, 2 bottles of water per day, and a welcome basket of fruit from the manager. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and fairly comfortable. The lobby area looks amazingly clean and newly renovated. The staff was friendly throughout my stay. The only negative is that I had emailed the front desk asking to print out several pages for me and some of them were missing. When I inquired about them, the front desk didn't seem to know about it although I had called the night before to let them know I needed some travel confirmations to be printed. Otherwise, this was a great stay in a peaceful area of Madrid. It may be hectic on days when Real Madrid is playing since the soccer stadium is a few minutes walk away. There is a mall nearby and right across the way from the hotel, you'll find a Starbucks, TGI Fridays (overpriced in my opinion), and an Italian restaurant (didn't eat there).

Room Tip: Show your Priority Club Member card and email the hotel in advance of your arrival to ensure you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We booked the HI Madrid for 4 nights before we left on a Best of Spain tour with Trafalgar. I had read some horror reviews which we found to be totally unfounded. We found the reception staff extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and although alittle dated very comfortable. The room staff were lovely with nothing being too much trouble. The hotel is about a 10 minute taxi ride from the Puerto del sol which we walked one day which was a fairly leisurely down hill took about 45 minutes. There are numerous eateries within easy walking distance of the hotel with a vast array of tapas and very good ale cart menus. We were very happy here and would definitely recommend to others to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

A basic, clean and functional hotel, great if you are here for the football. I wouldn't stay here for leisure purposes as it's a little far from the main things you would want to see in Madrid. There are some good bars and restaurants nearby, but fairly limited in variety. Close to the Metro though, so if you need to get around, it's not a problem.
It serves it's purpose if cost is the main issue.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid

Address: Plaza Carlos Trias Bertran 4, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in Madrid
#129 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Access by Orense Street, 22 /24 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madrid Hotel Madrid
Madrid Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.