We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artistic B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Artistic B&B to your Saves list
Artistic B&B
Lope de Vega 11 Piso 3, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 240 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arezzo, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely stay here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The best bed and breakfast I've stayed in in Europe! Very cozy with very friendly hosts, who provide an awesome breakfast and great tips on where to go and what to do while in Madrid. The location is very good- a few blocks from the Plaza Mayor and the Prado Museum and the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum.
Free wifi, a TV, and everything to make you feel at home!

Room Tip: They're all great- no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    49
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
212
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We rang the bell and as we started up the steps Rudolfo ran down the steps to help us. As we entered the B&B it was obvious that this was the work of an artist. Rudolfo and Paola were excellent hosts. They were available to answer questions, give advice and provide an excellent breakfast. A delightful place to stay in the midst of old Madrid close to the museums and other sights. The Atocha RR station is only a short walk. We definitely would recommend the Artistic to anyone who asked. Thank you Paola and Rudolfo fo a delightful 4 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Artistic B&B. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Our hosts were wonderful, and breakfasts were mucho delicious. The location is very central - we were within walking distance to Prado, Reine Sofia and many other sites. We would recommend this accommodation, and will definitely stay again should we be lucky enough to visit Madrid again. Such a beautiful city!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervo, Italia
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everything in Artistic B&B puts you in a good mood: from the welcome to the very last moment - when you really regret having to leave. The warm-hearted reception with lots of useful tips, a different colour scheme in each room, the creativity displayed by every single object (most of them designed and manufactured by the owners themselves), the coffee corner at your disposal with home made biscuits (yum), the breakfast served at the communal table by the smiling host or hostess... there is no unpleasant note, not even the tall steps to the third floor you have to climb (no lift).
A very highly recommendable hostal, at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The "tapestry room" has a queen-sized bed and is normally given to single travellers. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fla
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat this location. It is 5 blocks from the Prado and an easy walk from the Plaza Mayor, the Puerta del Sol, the Reina Sofia and the Atocha train station. There are few other lodgings in this area and they tend to be much more expensive. There are good restaurants and bars all around. The streets are bustling in the evening and it is just a fun place to be. Paola and Rudolfo are wonderful hosts, always willing to talk and eager to help with any problems you may have. The rooms and breakfasts are sufficient. And the guests tend to be fun people to speak with. We loved our week here. The only drawback is the lack of an elevator. The only way to get to the B & B is to climb 58 steps. That does tend to encourage a hardier, younger guest, a fact I enjoyed.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked 2 rooms as were meeting friends in Madrid to go to a concert. Both rooms were very clean, and well presented with some lovely little decorative touches.
Rodolfo and Paola were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a great assortment of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice ,coffee, toasties and home made fruit loafs/bread.
There are 3 flights of stairs which were not a problem for us as we only had light bags, but for those who a partial to few drinks or have heavy bags they might be a bit of hard work…..there are little rest spots on the way though :)
We would definitely stay here again it is located in an area of great little bars, small restaurants and boutique shops and galleries, and not far from the main sights and taxis are easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have been for three nights in the artistic B&B run by Rodolfo and Paola. It was totally satisfactory. We had a great decorated room, and even it was on the front side, there was hardly any noise from outside. The three flight of stairs was not any problem. Meeting all new people at the breakfast table from all around was an experience you won't find in any hotel I think. The location is fantastic. On walkable distance from all the great museums, nice restaurants around the corner (especially Gonzalez!!! THe best) and the entrance is on a pedestrian street, so hardly any cars. I fully recommend this place and will definetley come back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artistic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artistic B&B

Address: Lope de Vega 11 Piso 3, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Barrio de las Letras, B&B Artistic is at walking distance from Madrid's main attractions, such as the Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, El Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Museum, El Parque del Retiro, Atocha train station, El Rastro fleamarket, and many others!.Our Bed & Breakfast is on the third floor of a 19th century building. Renovated and refurbished in August 2011 with a rural-mediterranean style, our Bed & Breakfast is tastefully adapted to suit the modern needs and provide the comfort of our times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Artistic B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artistic B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.