We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, superb service and genuinely kind hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artistic B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Artistic B&B to your Saves list
Artistic B&B
Lope de Vega 11, Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 238 Madrid B&B and Inns
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location, superb service and genuinely kind hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a fabtastic B&B and thoroughly deserves its reviews on trip advisor. Yes there are 3 flights of steps to reach it but after all the tapas and wine it wil help offset some of the calories consumed. The hosts Paola and Rudolpho could not do more for you as guests: providing a mp and thier own recommendations of where to go and where to eat, from the warm and friendly smile to greet you every morning at breakfast. Breakfast is excellent and has a different home cooked treat of the day (banana cheesecake, banana bread, museli bread, condensed milk cake.... all divine!). Conversation between guests and hosts flows easily and everyone comments, rightly so, on how it feels like home from home. The location is excellent for all the main sights and we found no need to metro or bus anywhere during our stay. Rooms are spacious and cleaned every day. The little library offers a supply of books to swap and travel guides to borrow. Little touches like lending umbrellas aloso give this superb B&B the edge. Having stayed 6 nights with Paola and Rudolpho we were sad to leave and felt we were leaving friends.

Room Tip: Room 6 has no view but is situated away from the breakfast area so is quieter; room 4 is also away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    45
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
194
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here at the start of our trip to Spain. Paola & Rudolfo were extremely helpful and guided us on what to see in Madrid. The rooms are quiet big and tastefully done. Location is perfect in central Madrid and there are lot of restaurants and bars around there.

As already covered in earlier reviews the only down side is that it is 3 flights of stairs up, which in reality is not that big of an issue.

We loved our stay here and would absolutely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The negatives about Artistic B&B have been covered in many reviews - i.e. the 3 flights of stairs and the conversation from the breakfast area being heard certainly in the nearest bedrooms after 8.30. However there are so many positives - friendly and helpful hosts, comfortable and quirkily decorated rooms, varied and filling breakfasts and an excellent quiet location from which to explore the City. Also excellent value. Thororoughly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for some time. My friend and I stayed at here almost a year ago and it was an amazing experience. We were warmly greeted by Rodolfo upon arrival, and he also helped us with our luggage up the stairs to the B and B. Our room was both clean, and decorated with beautiful charm. You could tell it was a labour of love for the owners. The location is perfect - we walked everywhere we needed to go. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time with Paola and Rodolpho at Artistic B&B. We visited over Christmas 2012 - my wife and 3 kids (16, 19, and 21). Paola (and Rodolpho) were very helpful and attentive. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable. They positioned one room for my wife and me and another with 3 beds for my 3 older kids. It worked out perfectly as we had enough room to be nearby, but not right on top of each other. There is a common area outside of the rooms to sit, read, browse the Internet.

Paola gave us wonderful advice on places to go. They were very helpful in finding us a place to eat on Christmas Eve since most restaurants were closed. The restaurant we ate out turned out to be the best meal of our trip.

The location is wonderful. We could walk to everything - Plaza Mayor, Retiro to walk/run, Prado, the Palace. The breakfast was simple but very good with home made breads.

I would definitely recommend this and would definitely stay here again. Something much more interesting and intimate than a boring hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruseilles, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a nice surprise ! Paola and Rodolfo are taking care of you like if you were part of their family. Rodolfo is cooking bread and cakes himself for an enjoyable breakfast ! The reason why you will get cheese toast for breakfast is that Paola likes it, so why the others won't ? ;-)
Artistic is more than the name of their guesthouse, the room was delightfully decorated and full commodities.
Last but not the least, you cannot find better location in the Madrid downtown, we did everything by foot, museum, parks, shopping, restaurant,.... and fiesta !!
We had a very lovely stay and will warmly recommend it to our friends.
Celine & Bruno

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were welcomed and treated like one of the family by Paola and Rodolfo - they were really helpful and recommended some great places to go and things to see during our short stay in Madrid. The location was perfect - within walking distance for everything including trains and buses, museums, shops, restaurants and bars - yet situated in a quiet picturesque street. The breakfasts were a real bonus and provided a great opportunity to get to know Paola and Rodolfo as well as the other guests. The rooms were clean, very tastefully decorated and just lovely. For a taste of real Madrid, we'd recommend Artistic to everyone - it was a real treat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artistic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artistic B&B

Address: Lope de Vega 11, Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Barrio de las Letras, B&B Artistic is at walking distance from Madrid's main attractions, such as the Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, El Prado Museum, Reina Sofia Museum, El Parque del Retiro, Atocha train station, El Rastro fleamarket, and many others!.Our Bed & Breakfast is on the third floor of a 19th century building. Renovated and refurbished in August 2011 with a rural-mediterranean style, our Bed & Breakfast is tastefully adapted to suit the modern needs and provide the comfort of our times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Artistic B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artistic B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.