We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Versalles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Versalles Hotel to your Saves list
Gran Versalles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here a couple of times, both times the service has been great. The rooms are ok and the amenities comprehensive they include a hair brush too, very handy as I had forgotten mine. The only negative point is the lack of coffee making facilities but there is a bar and room service at resonable prices. The metro is just around the corner. I would definitely come back.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    260
    83
    14
    8
See reviews for
71
223
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very nice hotel on the whole. Just a couple of things to point out:
We stayed on the 7th floor and the wifi struggled to reach us there.
Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the rear courtyard, not a problem in itself self, but the position of the window in the 'L' shaped room meant that the room was really quite dark.
The room was missing coffee and tea making facilities.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, from the reception staff, to the breakfast room staff, to the bar staff.
Very nice hotel, which I would stay at again should I get to visit Madrid again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second stay and we love it. Beautiful room, kingsize bed, excellent bathroom and double sinks. Breakfast buffet plentiful and restocked diligently. The location is fine when you master the metro which is straightforward. The restaurant is helpful for pizzas and main courses if you are too tired to venture out at night. Staff are positive, umbrellas are there to borrow, and they have a fixed rate airport transfer. All this for a very modest room rate..

Room Tip: sound proofing could be better, upper floor preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015 via mobile

Good quality 4* hotel located just off Calle Sagasta, a 5 min walk from Alsonso Martínez tube station. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Room was large with twin beds & air con, good storage space, all the usul modern facilities & lovely bathroom with twin sinks and fab shower. Breakfast was included & choices available from tortilla, cereals, toast, cheese, meats and fruit really set you up for sightseeing. Coffee is really strong!
It would be great to have a kettle with tea/coffee facilities in the room.
Would recommend & may use again if price remains competitive.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This hotel is ok, I stayed for 5 nights here on a business trip and it was functionally fine. Comfy bed, edible food. Car parking is awful, super tight, very expensive and only five spaces (one of which is huge and permanently reserved for someone from the hotel)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

It seems to me that this hotel is rated as 4 star purely on the decor as it is unlike any other 4 star I've stayed in. All the place offers is very good decor as you would expect but very little else. Room service is available but only when the on site cafe is open. We returned to the hotel one Saturday at 1700 to be told we couldn't get a cup of tea until 1830. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room and I would have happily forgone the phone in the bathroom to have one instead. The staff on reception were helpful and have very good local knowledge. One high point has to be the housekeeping staff who keep the place spotless and the lady we saw on several occasions was a star with a huge smile and friendly nature. The cafe leaves a lot to be desired ,, after walking in and being ignored we walked out again on our first night. One girl simply couldn't grasp the concept of using cold milk in tea and after being asked several times she kept on heating it up. If you only want somewhere as a base then this hotel is adequate for purpose. The soundproofing between rooms needs to be addressed as each morning we could easily hear other peoples alarms going off.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

After spending one week working, my spouse and I decided to relax for one week in Madrid.

Upon entering the hotel, the front staff made a comment that our reservation was made via Expedia, grinned at each other and took us to the back of the hotel past the lobby section to what seemed to be an older section of the hotel. The room was very tiny, with old, dilapidated decor and a large pillar by a small window. The air was warm and stagnant in the room and the air conditioning was not functional, so we asked the front desk to see another room and they mentioned that the hotel was full. They suggested we open the small window to freshen-up the air in the room. Needless to say, the air circulation in the room only improved slightly. We were travelling from North America with substantial luggage and asked the front desk for a luggage rack which was also was denied.

There was construction across the street which was loud and disturbing from 0600 and throughout each week day, with the window open or closed. It wasn't long before we discovered that the hotel wing we were in was being refurbished, including the removal of fixtures and replastering of walls and ceilings, causing even more disturbing sounds. It seemed as we were the only guests in that section under construction.

Every morning, the lobby area smelled like strong bleach. On the day we left for the airport at around 0400 in the morning, we walked throught the lobby to the main door and the lobby smelled like raw sewage so we ran to the taxi with all of our luggage, checked-out and never looked back.

Regretfully, overall, this was the worst hotel experience my spouse and I have had in recent memory and we've been staying at hotels for over three decades.

Room Tip: The rooms accessible from the check-in area in the lobby may be reasonable rooms since we saw other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Address: Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#102 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Versalles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.